We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbecued Chicken”
Review of Fran's Grill

Fran's Grill
Ranked #47 of 94 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Greenville, WI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Barbecued Chicken”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had Fran's barbecued chicken for lunch. It came with rice and coleslaw. Everything was very good, but I think it would have been better "to go." It was so windy the day ate there, and her place is out in the open.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    64
    31
    24
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Fran is a super friendly person who makes nice food right on front street in Caye Caulker. Her food is delicious, I've eaten here twice, once in 2007, and recently in 2012. The food is always good. I'm not sure if she has recently raised her prices or they are raised for the high season, but it is $25bz for a seafood or chicken entree, a rum drink, and a piece of cake. The food is good, but you can certainly have more for less at other places. That being said, the location is great. It was nice to sit at a pic nic table right next to the water and also right next to the street so you can see the comings and going on Caye Caulker.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Ever”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Fran's is amazing!! We got pulled in off the street by Fran's main guy who promised us a delicious dinner and he wasn't lying! It's just a little yellow shack on the beach but don't let that deter you! We ordered the 2 lobster tail special which came with sides and free rum punch, and then sat down on the picnic table to wait. The wait for the food was pretty long but it's understandable as there's one guy in the shack making everyone's food.

When the food finally came it was well worth the wait!! Seriously one of the best lobster we've ever had. It was so garlic-y and delicious. The two lobster tails were pretty small but it was enough food. We got lobster at a fancier, sit down restaurant on our last night and we wished we had just gone back to Frans. It's cheaper and 10x's more delicious!

We were worried they wouldn't have change for a larger bill but the guy ran across to the supermarket to make change for us so you don't need exact $. You can also run over yourself and get a beer to go with dinner since the rum punch seems to be lacking much rum.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“There's are better options.”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The dig downside here was the wait time. I think my friends and I waited about an hour and a half for our food. The food itself was good, we all enjoyed it. The service was nice, perhaps too nice if you think such things are possible. Long story short, there are similar to better food at the same price with less of a wait time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Otago, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“mmmm”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Fresh Lobster off the bbq, with garlic bread and Rum punch, on the beach...amazing. Fran is super lovely and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fran's Grill also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Fran's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing