We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PAUSE Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Real Macaw(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Popeyes Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Resort Hotel Belize City(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Caye Caulker Condos(Caye Caulker)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
148
43
13
12
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
43
13
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscats and dogscat sanctuaryanimal loverslove catscat loverthe ownerfree kayakssmall donationprivate beachaffordable placebathrooms and showersbed dormcooking facilitieslaid backfelt like homeprivate roomsmall kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 230 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I came here for a week to volunteer and help to build some bunk beds for the hostel.

We were immediately welcomed with big open arms and Madi couldn't be a better host. We were immediately talking about New York, Belize, anything you could think of. She is the sweetest and made us feel so welcome and right at home.

Even though we had a lot of work to do, the island's phrase is "Go Slow." It was great because we could really relax and still work, not like what we were used to in New York. We got all the work completed and still had time to enjoy ourselves. We were there along with many other volunteers at the time and the atmosphere was great. It was like a family, even though we didn't really know anyone.

The deck was so beautiful. We would sit out there to watch the sun set, or watch the patches of rain fall. It was so romantic.

The animals were a whole other story. They were all so sweet, the cats and dogs would come up to us to play and be pet. They loved volunteers!

All in all, the trip was great and we can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I volunteered at Pause/Paws for a couple of weeks in January and loved it so much I returned for my last week in Belize to stay as a guest whilst I did some dives. The private beach and dock make it an incredible place to chill out and sunbathe. No doubt you'll see plenty of pelicans and rays and if you're very lucky you can even spot some sea horses.
If you're an animal lover you'll be in your element with the lovely cats that have a wander around the grounds at parts of the day and the amazing dogs Madi has as pets. If you're not an animal lover then it is very easy to avoid them and they won't bother you.
I stayed in the 4 bed dorm which has plenty of room for everyone's stuff. The shared toilets and showers are in good condition and clean and the grounds are kept immaculate.
Pause's location and grounds make it the best place to stay on Caye Caulker and you'll be helping fund caring for the rescued animals too!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessiewose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

this is the 4th time i've stayed with Madi. each year that i go back, she has made so many improvements and changes, i can hardly believe it. she has a wonderful little place on the back (quiet) side of Caye Caulker, with a new great 2story dock/deck, beautiful sunsets, kayaks (donations are appreciated). and she works all day to keep the place clean and comfortable. she has rescued some dogs and cats that live on the property, but are not running around the place, and people who have allergies are not bothered by them. she is recently doing major renovating and remodeling in the hostel area in order to be able to offer nicer accommodations, in hopes of attracting more vacationers. all the money that she receives from the rentals goes directly to feeding and caring for the animals; and you can feel good about that :)
and, if you have the desire, and love to be around animals, you can help her out too, she works from sunup to sundown; and can always use some help. she is also a wonderful source of information about what you can do and how best to do it.
this is a quiet place, and it is also her home; so if you are interested in partying all night, or playing loud music, there are other places that would suit you better.
i love it there and will continue to return and spread the word.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnap27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed at Pause during 10 days. I had a really great time there!
Madi, The owner is making a lot of efforts to keep this place clean and welcoming. The dorms are new and really comfortable. All the people I met there were really nice, and the money is really going for the cats.
Also the location is perfect, and there is an amazing spot to watch the sunset.
I definitely recommend this hostel if you want to enjoy your stay in Caye Caulker!

And if you have some free time, don't hesitate to help Madi with the animals, there is a lot of work to do there, and some help is always welcome :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugénie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and had the pink cabin to ourselves. The room itself is extremely basic, with holes in the walls from unfinished wiring etc. the mattress on the double bed was in desperate need of replacing- it was so thin it hurt to lie on your side. The smell from the toilets was a little over-powering at times. I know Madi the owner is currently trying to get workers to help her do up the place so maybe these issues I have mentioned will be fixed by now.

Now the pros- the location is fantastic and the owner is so passionate about what she does. You can rent kayaks via an honesty box and relax on the private decking and watch the sunset over the Caribbean. So much fascinating sea life comes by the deck you must spend at least a few hours here to see what you can find! We saw a seahorse, huge tarps, rays and of course the weird resident fish with legs!! It is on the quiet, non windy side of Caye Caulker too so nice for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthP133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews