We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Keep Coming Back !!!!!”
Review of PAUSE Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
PAUSE Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I Keep Coming Back !!!!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed at PAW with Madi for 3 weeks in Jan 2012. This was the third year that I have stayed with her. It is very clean and comfortable, and Madi always makes everyone feel welcome. She was born on the island, so she's also a great source of information. Every year I meet new interesting people also staying there, that I can keep in touch with, ... some are also repeat visitors. I enjoy helping her around the Cat Sanctuary; but that is not mandatory. You can simply enjoy Caye Caulker and her place right which is right on the water, with your own dock. She is on the back side of the island, so it is away from any noise or distractions; but just a few minutes walk to the 'action', if that is what you are looking for. It makes me feel good to know that the money that she makes from her rentals all goes to the feeding and carrying for all the animals that she has rescued from a miserable life on the streets, or worse. I highly recommend experiencing this unique 'vacation destination'. If you are not able to visit, you can still help out with donations; check out her web page to learn more: www.pawanimalsanctuarybelize.com

Room Tip: She has 2 apartment-style rooms, one on the water. Also available is a cabana and camping for thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnap27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    39
    12
    12
    12
See reviews for
12
64
77
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Madi over the easter weekend, and we had a fantastic time. The room itself was lovely - spacious, clean and had all the amenities you need for a very reasonable price. And the best thing is that Madi uses the room rental fees to support the many beautiful cats she has rescued. You really can't find a better deal on the island! Madi is a wonderful woman who does such important work on the island.

If you stay with Madi (or even if you plan to stay elsewhere), any donations you can bring with you for the shelter would be much appreciated. Whether it's cat or dog treats, flea treatments, or dishes for the animals, every bit helps. Check out Madi's website to see which items the shelter is currently in need of. http://www.pawanimalsanctuarybelize.com/index.php

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I came here for a week to stay in the panther bungalow and it was amazing! I volunteered with the kitties. The woman, Madi, who owns the sanctuary is amazing. SHe dedicates her whole life to saving animals and to making sure whoever stays with her feels like a part of the family and has a good time! I was surprised at how cheap it was considering how amazing all of the amenities were. I really lucked out. And the backyard is the beach! Really a paradise :) I am really hoping to go back soon. Time of my life.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I did not stay at this accomodation, but visited because of the owner's mission to provide a sanctuary for the "without a home" cats of Caye Caulker. Madi is a lovely woman with a heart filled with compassion. The day I visited, her mom was meticulously sweeping the grounds and Madi was busy feeding her 80 cats...yes, 80! The accomodation is right on the water of the western side of the island and must afford great sunsets.

If you have a place in your heart that cares for kitties, consider staying here or at least visiting. Madi and the "boys and girls" will always appreciate a donation of wet cat food which you can buy on the island at the Payless store on Front Street, under $1 US per can.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank REB4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We booked to stay at PAUSE for only 3nights, but fell in love with the room, the location, and the work Madi does, so ended up staying for 10days! PAUSE is located ocean front on near Back Street, with its own dock, deck chairs, and shady coconut trees.
The rooms are BIG- we stayed in the Garden Suite, but got to see the Ocean front room and cabana, both of which were lovely. All rooms were clean and well equipped (ours had a fridge, private bathroom, fan, small kitchen for cooking with use of plates and cutlery, a small dining table, a lounge chair and a coffee table, and a large comfortable bed).
There is also the option to spend time getting to know the owner, and learn about the amazing and inspiring work she does for animal welfare in Belize and Mexico.
Overall an amazing place and we really hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JemBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2012

As veterinary students in the UK, my friend and I were looking for an exotic location to finally see the sun, get out of the damp and cold, and do some volunteer work with animals at the same time. We happened upon the P.A.W. Cat Sanctuary on the web and were delighted to find the location and accommodations exactly what we wanted. Madi, the owner, spent time with us on the phone, prior to our visit, helping us select the most appropriate and reasonably priced room arrangements. We selected the cabana for a few nights and the garden suite for the remainder of our two week stay; both clean, spacious, and excellent quality for the money. We absolutely fell in love with the Sanctuary, enjoying the well cared for cats and dogs on the site with a few exotics thrown in for good measure. The island was enchanting and our experience rewarding and memorable. So much so that I returned to the island on several more occasions to assist Matie with her amazing and self-less mission. Madi is truly a delight as is this island treasure. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vetgirlColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at PAW for one week, starting the end of Dec, 2011 and it was well worth it. We stayed in the Cat Mahal which soon became a home away from home. For us, the kitchen was perfect and the wonderful porch facing the water was a dream come true. We'd spend leisurely mornings drinking coffee and watching the pelicans and egrets and other birds who visit this tranquil paradise. And, of course, the dogs and cats were a joy when they came out to greet the dawn. One dog, Peaches, a very sweet light brown mix, was soon our favorite - keeping us company as much as we desired. Madi, the owner, is wonderful and an excellent source of all sorts of help and local knowledge. We certainly miss our long chats on everything from coconuts to living in New York City. If you love dogs and cats and want to help an amazing person with a seemingly impossible mission of caring for the less fortunate cats and dogs in Belize, then PAW is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frej89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Wave Guest House
Blue Wave Guest House
#10 of 32 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PAUSE Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PAUSE Hostel

Property: PAUSE Hostel
Address: 1 Pasero Street, Caye Caulker, Belize (Formerly Pause Accommodation)
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pause Accommodation offers guests a unique Caye Caulker vacation experience removed from the bustle of the main tourist areas. This charming, waterfront property offers a variety of different accommodations with something to suit an array of travel preferences. Our Garden Suite has a double bed, kitchenette with fridge and microwave, fan and private shower overlooking the garden. We also have A private Cabana which sits right on the water's edge, sleeps 2, with shared outside bathroom, a 10 bed & 4 bed dorm with shared bath & kitchen & a 6 bed dorm with private bath. We offer bike rentals & free kayaks, wifi & loads of coconuts for all our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing