We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent getaway on Caye Cauker”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Magic Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent getaway on Caye Cauker”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We decided to go to the caye at the last minute and didn't make reservations. We heard that during the off season we should have no problem as a walk in. That was very true. After surveying the beachfront properties in the area we chose this hotel because it looked updated, had free wifi and, although we weren't looking for it, the pool was great.

Nice things: free water refills in the lobby, friendly staff, AC rooms, pool, bar with reasonably priced drinks, strong wifi signal, referrals for massages, restaurants, snorkeling and other activities, a fair price for the rooms.

Not nice: a little short on the availability of towels (oh well, just reuse!!!), and I saw a roach in the kitchen sink (probably unavoidable)

All in all I would certainly stay here again and recommend to anyone! !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XelP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    64
    32
    6
    9
See reviews for
55
112
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

10 days of Paradise! What a beautiful place. The staff made our stay one to remember. The rooms are large and most over look the Sea and the Reef just off shore. The food focuses on the islands local catch of the day. The fishermen pull up right at the resturant to display and sell their catch.
The pool area is one of a kind. Lots of Families and couples.The owners Wow. Need We say More.
Thank you Alina and Roger for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place was good for the price we paid - clean rooms with coffee and tea facilities plus a nice swimming pool overlooking a beach. They also have a bar but didnt use it so cant say more. Staff quite friendly.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank monicabe929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Simply have to say that Brittany and all of the staff was amazing to work with. We had initially rented a home on the south side of the island only to be eaten alive by mosquitos...so we went hunting another place to stay after the first night there...It happened to be Lobster Fest so there was no options for that next night however..The staff at Island Magic helped us arrange to be moved the next morning and held us a room along with all of our luggage while we were out on a snorkeling trip. Our oldest son happened to also get very sick ( probably due to the first house we stayed at) and the staff was amazing letting him stay at the resort and got our room cleaned very quickly for him. I am so grateful to this great group of very caring people! We are planning a return trip to Caye Caulker and plan to stay again...
The rooms are very clean and well stocked for a family to be able cook so saving money on eating out is an option. Best of all they make it feel like home and family!
I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The penthouse would be amazing with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerJoConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our first visit to Island Magic was 2 years ago on our honeymoon. We loved the pool and rooms so we came back on our latest trip. Right off the bat we had a problem with our ocean-side room, but the owner graciously gave us a free upgrade for our 3 night stay. Since our last visit, they have renovated the bar and added a deck above the bar. They serve appetizers and drinks but we did not order anything so cannot comment. The pool is very nice and there are plenty chairs there and on their beach. Lastly, the private pier has a few chairs as well as a set of stairs to get in the water.

Overall this is a great hotel with a kind owner and friendly staff. We will continue to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We loved out room at IM but you are definitely paying American prices for the rooms and at the bar. And there were lots of families staying at the resort and they were very loud at the pool very early in the morning ( starting at 6AM!!). There was also a miscommunication between our tour company and the hotel so we weren't picked up in Belize City for our tour. It was very unnerving! And the hotel manager booked us on the wrong tour, charged us for the wrong tour, gave us the wrong water taxi tickets and came in our room when I was in the shower. She was very helpful and nice but too many things went wrong! The hotel itself was very nice and had a great location on the quieter edge of town where the locals live. I would try another hotel next time though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsReviewer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have just returned from 6 weeks in Belize . We started off in Caye Caulker and for the first couple of nights stayed at a small hotel near the water taxi jetty .
This hotel was ok but had no beach to speak of & no pool or anywhere to sit outside . It cost us$140 per night .
We looked round the island for a better hotel and after viewing several , we decided on The Island Magic resort . This hotel was actually cheaper than the small place we had been staying in and was much much better . The main difference was the pool and the facilities which were great . We liked it that much that after our travels through Belize north & south we stayed here 5 weeks later for our last week . in Belize .
If I ever return to Caye Caulker this is the place for me .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
12.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
10.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Magic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Magic Beach Resort

Property: Island Magic Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Hicaco, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Magic Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxation, romance and family beach fun in a tranquil and relaxing oceanfront beach paradise. With our playful yet modern setting, Island Magic Beach Resort offers experiences worth bragging about! Swim with sharks. Snorkel the world's second largest Barrier Reef. Enjoy a sunset Caribbean Cruise. Take a day trip to visit mainland Belize and climb a top ancient Maya Ruins or discover the secrets of Maya Underworlds. Or, simply lounge by the pool. Have a cold beer with a local. Taste the island cuisine. Jump off our pier into the aqua hues of the Caribbean Sea and be free! Our go-slow little island offers every opportunity to escape the hassle of every day life. So do it... book a flight, hop on a puddle jumper or boat to Caye Caulker and have us curate a magical experience for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Island Magic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Magic Beach Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing