We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary Room, Great Location, Family-Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Magic Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Ordinary Room, Great Location, Family-Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who does not want high-end luxury, and is comfortable with a nice room with a good shower, comfortable beds, great air conditioning, kitchenette with spacious refrigerator and freezer, microwave, private balcony with hammock, flat-screen TV with satellite and free WiFi. This place is great for children and anyone else who enjoys seeing and hearing kids playing in the beautiful pool. The location is excellent, being directly on a sandy beach. Everything you need to have a wonderful holiday is very close by (bike rental, grocery store, restaurants, tour operators, clothing boutiques, hand-crafted souvenir shops). There is an on-site snack bar which serves delicious local appetizers and beverages. The hotel has an elevated deck facing the sea, with large coconut palms providing shade all day, and this was a great place to read a good book and watch the boats coming and going. This hotel also rents rooms for a single night, unlike many other Caye Caulker hotels which require a 2 or 3 night minimum stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. You'll encounter some things here that might bother you, such as a room that is a little musty because they forgot to air it out, (ask for a spray of Febreeze), or a funny smell from the bathroom pipes from time to time (island living has its challenges and it goes away in seconds), and some of the drapes and bed coverings don't really match, but everything is in pretty good shape, rooms could be described as cozy. We had a room with two double beds that would have been fine for a couple and two small children, and there is a good sized kitchen table and benches to eat breakfast or a bedtime snack. Try to get a room with a sea view, it is spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    62
    31
    6
    9
See reviews for
53
109
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Island magic was perfect for our us and our preteen boys. The pool was great and as the title says the attached bar restaurant on the beach was some of the best lunch and snack food we found. The downside was the room. It was clean and comfortable enough but outfitted like any hotel, losing a bit of that island feel we were looking for. Location is great.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank boonema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My friend and I reserved the honeymoon suite because it was a good price for a nice space. It was nice, nothing spectacular, but certainly decent. It was really nice to have a fridge, which makes it easy to have snacks on hand. We didn't cook anything, but could have. The pool seems nice, but if you are looking for a quiet kid-free space, this is not it because the pool draws families with young children. The private pier is nice, the staff is nice/helpful, and the ocean views from the private balconies are really great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneakerwave79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Room reeked of varnish and produced massive headache. Coffee and water never replenished the whole five days. Pool is pretty but too chilly to swim in in Dec. Ovepriced. Only a few people here in high season.

Room Tip: They charge more for pool side, of course - but it is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writerrider1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place was paradise on an island that is paradise. The staff was very courtious and helpfull, the room were clean and up to date, the pool was relaxing. The poolside bar had great drinks and food, especially the Lobster Salad! This was our second time here, and will come again.

Room Tip: The second floor has a tremendous view of the Carabean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

First I would like to comment on a previous review. There IS transportation from the water taxi, as well as the airport. They just need your arrival information. The beds were comfortable. The kitchenette was great and you were provided water and coffee for the first night. Stores are convenient so you can buy whatever you want. The facilities and pool are well kept. The staff is not "in your face" with services, but when we needed help, they were there. There is a waterfront bar and an elevated sitting area facing the ocean. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All the ocean view rooms seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris090909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

hard beds and hard pillows so bring your own pillow and maybe an extra throw blanket.

kitchenette worked fine

pool was awesome, best was the resort private deck that goes out over the ocean with the steps into the water so you can swim. bring water shoes if you dont like the feel of the grass on the bottom, its not all sandy, there is alot of grass.

resort is located pretty close to places to eat and the stores to shop. bring your own candybars because all of them sold in stores are melted and they still sell them.

my 13 yr old says the pool was dirty but i made her grab the skimmer and clean it out, it gave her something to do.

cool hammocks on the deck, and we had construction noise going on while we stayed but it was temporary but early am....ac works fantastic, staff are helpful when you need stuff like towels and TP and a cart rental.

tv has some issues some of the channels were very dark and you couldnt be seen we tried adjusting the brightness but it didnt help. free wifi worked in the room get the password from front desk.

hottub/jacuzzi was not hot at all. no sandy beach area to lounge on, but they do have a lounge area with chairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTravelerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
12.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
10.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Magic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Magic Beach Resort

Property: Island Magic Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Hicaco, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Magic Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxation, romance and family beach fun in a tranquil and relaxing oceanfront beach paradise. With our playful yet modern setting, Island Magic Beach Resort offers experiences worth bragging about! Swim with sharks. Snorkel the world's second largest Barrier Reef. Enjoy a sunset Caribbean Cruise. Take a day trip to visit mainland Belize and climb a top ancient Maya Ruins or discover the secrets of Maya Underworlds. Or, simply lounge by the pool. Have a cold beer with a local. Taste the island cuisine. Jump off our pier into the aqua hues of the Caribbean Sea and be free! Our go-slow little island offers every opportunity to escape the hassle of every day life. So do it... book a flight, hop on a puddle jumper or boat to Caye Caulker and have us curate a magical experience for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Magic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Magic Beach Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing