We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families, excellent attached food bar, average room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Magic Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for families, excellent attached food bar, average room”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Island magic was perfect for our us and our preteen boys. The pool was great and as the title says the attached bar restaurant on the beach was some of the best lunch and snack food we found. The downside was the room. It was clean and comfortable enough but outfitted like any hotel, losing a bit of that island feel we were looking for. Location is great.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank boonema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    64
    32
    6
    9
See reviews for
55
112
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My friend and I reserved the honeymoon suite because it was a good price for a nice space. It was nice, nothing spectacular, but certainly decent. It was really nice to have a fridge, which makes it easy to have snacks on hand. We didn't cook anything, but could have. The pool seems nice, but if you are looking for a quiet kid-free space, this is not it because the pool draws families with young children. The private pier is nice, the staff is nice/helpful, and the ocean views from the private balconies are really great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneakerwave79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Room reeked of varnish and produced massive headache. Coffee and water never replenished the whole five days. Pool is pretty but too chilly to swim in in Dec. Ovepriced. Only a few people here in high season.

Room Tip: They charge more for pool side, of course - but it is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writerrider1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place was paradise on an island that is paradise. The staff was very courtious and helpfull, the room were clean and up to date, the pool was relaxing. The poolside bar had great drinks and food, especially the Lobster Salad! This was our second time here, and will come again.

Room Tip: The second floor has a tremendous view of the Carabean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2012

First I would like to comment on a previous review. There IS transportation from the water taxi, as well as the airport. They just need your arrival information. The beds were comfortable. The kitchenette was great and you were provided water and coffee for the first night. Stores are convenient so you can buy whatever you want. The facilities and pool are well kept. The staff is not "in your face" with services, but when we needed help, they were there. There is a waterfront bar and an elevated sitting area facing the ocean. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All the ocean view rooms seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris090909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

hard beds and hard pillows so bring your own pillow and maybe an extra throw blanket.

kitchenette worked fine

pool was awesome, best was the resort private deck that goes out over the ocean with the steps into the water so you can swim. bring water shoes if you dont like the feel of the grass on the bottom, its not all sandy, there is alot of grass.

resort is located pretty close to places to eat and the stores to shop. bring your own candybars because all of them sold in stores are melted and they still sell them.

my 13 yr old says the pool was dirty but i made her grab the skimmer and clean it out, it gave her something to do.

cool hammocks on the deck, and we had construction noise going on while we stayed but it was temporary but early am....ac works fantastic, staff are helpful when you need stuff like towels and TP and a cart rental.

tv has some issues some of the channels were very dark and you couldnt be seen we tried adjusting the brightness but it didnt help. free wifi worked in the room get the password from front desk.

hottub/jacuzzi was not hot at all. no sandy beach area to lounge on, but they do have a lounge area with chairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTravelerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My best friend and I spent three weeks exploring Belize top to bottom June 26th –July 16th. We spent the last four days of our trip on Caye Caulker. We chose that time of year to travel because it is considered the wet season and there for much cheaper all around. What a beautiful, peaceful place. Even though it was the wet season..we never saw anything but blue skies and sun. We booked our flight with Tropic air and flew direct out of Belmopan to the Caye. During our trip we flew several times with Tropic air back and forth to different Cayes and they were all so friendly and accommodating! We decided to find accommadations once we had landed on Caye Caulker because we could not decide based on the online information. We had no problem finding a place. We told the taxi (golf cart) driver what we were looking for and he suggested a few places. We ended up at Island Magic Hotel. We could not have been happier; it is a beautiful ocean front hotel. Our room was on the second floor facing the incredibly beautiful blue water and white sand beach. Our room had two points of entry an interior stair case to front door or private stairs from beach to the balcony which was great. Our room was modern and clean with a kitchenette and large bathroom with all the hot water you could use. There is a big hammock on the balcony so you can relax and take in the splendor that is the Caribbean. The hotel has a beautiful pool with plenty of deck loungers and a little beachside café/bar…Jaci makes great drinks and snacks there. The hotel is central to everything, walk in either direction on the main street or on the beach and you will find bars and restaurants.
The little town is quaint and beautiful. No cars there just golf carts and bikes. Caye Caulker is so small with just three white sand streets it makes it so easy to walk everywhere. Banks, restaurants food stores and gift shops line the streets and lots of street vendors with freshly prepared foods. We ate out mostly as we were only there for a few days. Food was always good and had a great experience at each one. I can’t pick one over another because they were all fun and different in their own way. We never felt unsafe there; the people are friendly and helpful.
Snorkeling is about as good as it gets with warm clear blue water teaming with fish and coral. You can charter a boat out to the marine reserve, take a water taxi over to Ambergris Caye for the day or just explore the waters off the dock.
Caye Caulker is such a beautiful laid back place!…GO SLOW is the Caribbean motto and perfectly describes the island way!! It was the perfect place to unwind and recharge before returning to Canada. I would return and stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Ocean front room is a must!....This is a tiny quiet island...if you are looking for a lot of nightli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gildak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
12.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
10.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Magic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Magic Beach Resort

Property: Island Magic Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Hicaco, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Magic Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxation, romance and family beach fun in a tranquil and relaxing oceanfront beach paradise. With our playful yet modern setting, Island Magic Beach Resort offers experiences worth bragging about! Swim with sharks. Snorkel the world's second largest Barrier Reef. Enjoy a sunset Caribbean Cruise. Take a day trip to visit mainland Belize and climb a top ancient Maya Ruins or discover the secrets of Maya Underworlds. Or, simply lounge by the pool. Have a cold beer with a local. Taste the island cuisine. Jump off our pier into the aqua hues of the Caribbean Sea and be free! Our go-slow little island offers every opportunity to escape the hassle of every day life. So do it... book a flight, hop on a puddle jumper or boat to Caye Caulker and have us curate a magical experience for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Island Magic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Magic Beach Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing