We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day of snorkeling, great staff, even better atmosphere.”

Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 34 Tours in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Raggamuffin Tour's sailing adventures provide access the most remote and inaccessible parts of Belize’s reef which showcase some of the most beautiful snorkeling in the world! We offer a legendary three day sailing trip from Caye Caulker to Placencia - an adventure that will give you memories to last a lifetime! We also sail to Hol Chan and Turneffe Atoll for snorkel day trips. Come see the unspoiled jewel of the Carribean, stay on deserted islands and snorkel the pristine barrier reef.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great day of snorkeling, great staff, even better atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I got the day of snorkeling as a birthday present from my girlfriend, and we went with a big group of friends. Fortunately the group was big enough to take the 'brand new' (they just bought it) catamaran. (You need a group of 10 or more). First of all the boat is great. It is very spacious with A LOT of space for relaxing and sunbathing during trips between sites, of just after you got out of the water.

The snorkeling was very pleasurable. Good equipment, very professional staff (it was clear they were experienced diving instructors also). They took us to great sites with a lot of fish and creatures to see. Friends who did the Blue Hole the day before said they saw much more and more exotic fish (sharks, eagle rays, turtles etc) than during their diving trip.

The only downside to the staff was that one of the guides was a bit hard to understand sometimes (not loud enough in combination with its accent)

One of the best things was the atmosphere. The lunch was tasty, the were more than enough refreshing drinks. After the last dive they served chips with salsa they just made on the boat and started filling out cups with strong fruit juice special (rum style). They cranked up the music and it was a great ride home.

The whole day was just about giving everyone one the trip the best day possible, and I love them for that!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper Zoekt Mo... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raggamuffintour, Owner at Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We are very happy to hear you had a great day of snorkeling with us and enjoyed our staff.
Thank you for a great review. We hope you come back again in the future.
James Jones
Owner - Raggamuffn Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    833
    87
    21
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Equipment needs replacement”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We did the 4 day trip sailing to Placencia. I enjoy it very much and we had a good time.

Some remarks: the camping tents need to be fixed, some have broken zippers, missing lines to secure them, they have seen better days! It doesn't seem very good that all food remainings were thrown in the sea, inclusive chicken bones. The boat itself also needs to be taken care of and to be painted

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreiapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect day”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Raggamuffin gives the best experience you can have in Caye Caulker, the information is clear, the food is delicious and the guides extremely professionals. The girls at the office they do the impossible to arrange your time and different taste that a big group has.
Even when some people on the boat are complaining about things that is nothing to do with the tour (i.e. there is no fish , or the waves are too big etc) the crew went far and beyond to try to please them in other ways.

Everybody should have a raggamuffin experience. For sure, I left a family there. Thanks guys.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank zemalopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raggamuffintour, Owner at Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you Zema!
It's always a pleasure to have you guys here with your groups!
Thanks for a great review.
James Jones -Owner Raggamuffin Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect adventure!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Seriously.. The highlight of a month of travel in Central America! I will never forget my overnight sailing trip with these guys!!!!!! :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Emmanuelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raggamuffintour, Owner at Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you Sarah. We are pleased to hear you had such a perfect adventure with Captain Jacob & Dane.
Thank you for a great review.
James Jones - Owner Raggamuffin Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Maybe It Was a Bad Day?”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My fiance and I used Ragamuffin Tours for a fishing trip when we visited Caye Caulker. I don't remember our tour guide's name, but things started out well enough - he picked up a buddy of his from a different spot on the island, and we went with them as they caught live bait for the trip.

Our guide was pretty affable, but the trip was, unfortunately, pretty disappointing. We had told the girl at the office that all we were interested in was drop fishing, yet we spent about an hour trolling, catching nothing. Also, the boat that we were on was incredibly small, was leaking rust from some places, and we were told to sit in the back of the boat - right near the stinky diesel engine. As we ventured farther and farther off the island, it became pretty clear that the boat we were on was maybe a little too small for the size of the waves our guide was taking us into. By the time we finally stopped the boat to begin drop fishing, I was feeling pretty seasick, and the waves were rocking our little boat so violently that we couldn't stand up, and soon, I was getting sick off the side of the boat.

When my fiance told our guide that we needed to head back to the island, he made some remark about a lot of people back on the island wanting fish from him. Um, excuse me? We're the ones paying for this trip. I understand he may not have meant offense by his comment, but I was pretty annoyed. At that point, I told him I wanted to go back right away.

Our guide took us back to the island a few hours early, and we ended up paying for the full trip. He was apologetic for the seasickness, and cleaned the few fish that we had managed to catch during our short trip. While the trip was pretty disappointing, I think maybe the situation would have been much different/better had we been on a larger boat, better equipped to handle the rough waters we were in.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raggamuffintours, Owner at Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
The truth of this report is that on occasion, particularly in high season, our specific Raggamuffin crew do not undertake the fishing trips. We offer fishing tours that in slower times of the year, our professional and skilled fisherman that are our crew members in high season, get the benefit of doing their favorite thing in slow season, fish!!!! We have had a very busy year and towards the end of the year we have assisted passengers with information and setting up fishing tours with Guides that are not the same standard as some of our own - this will be reviewed for the next season to ensure 100% Raggamuffin approved guides and quality control for all tours!
We express sincere apologies to the writer of this report and want to extend to her or him that we will offer some compensation due to their feelings of money not well spent - we never want anyone to be left with a less than satisfactory taste in their mouth with Raggamuffin! If they wish to contact us directly, we can arrange for this!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing