We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we have done the tour twice.”

Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 34 Tours in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Raggamuffin Tour's sailing adventures provide access the most remote and inaccessible parts of Belize’s reef which showcase some of the most beautiful snorkeling in the world! We offer a legendary three day sailing trip from Caye Caulker to Placencia - an adventure that will give you memories to last a lifetime! We also sail to Hol Chan and Turneffe Atoll for snorkel day trips. Come see the unspoiled jewel of the Carribean, stay on deserted islands and snorkel the pristine barrier reef.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So good we have done the tour twice.”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We first did a Raggamuffin tour in 2009 while on an intrepid tour through Central America and it was one of the highlights of the tour. Now we are back in Central America and travelling independently and as we loved Caye Caulker so much we have returned and done another Raggamuffin full day snorkeling tour. The guys on the boat are really awesome, you can tell they care for the animals and the coral. They specifically tell people not to touch the coral and to watch your fins and things, which I think does not happen enough (even in Australia on the Great Barrier Reef, tourists are not advised when they are doing something that might potentially hurt the reef). These guys do feed the sharks and touch them, not sure if either are great wildlife practices...
The lunch is good and the rum punch and ceviche on the way home pack a punch. Love the sail back with reggae music, don't know if it could get anymore Belize-an then this!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeeLee83_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raggamuffintours, Owner at Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you LeeLee83_10!! There is nothing better than a return customer that is once again happy!! You probably experienced a different set of crew and this lets you know that all of our crew have excellent standards!! Thank you for taking the time to write!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    855
    87
    22
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“UnBelizeable!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We just got home from our trip to Belize and our time with Raggamuffin was definitely a highlight! We did both the day trip snorkeling and the overnight sailing trip to Placencia. I must say, everyone single one of the captain and crew we met were amazing! The food they are able to prepare below deck blows me away and there was never a shortage of rum punch! We met some amazing people on this trip and have recommended it to everyone!

The only downside of sailing I'd say was the mats you get for sleeping. One of the guys on the first night didn't realise he had a mat and actually slept right on the ground. After getting a mat the second night he said that it wasn't much differant ;) A few rough nights were nothing to deter us from taking this trip again in a heart beat!

Thank you so much to Captain Kimani, Ish and Shane for a truly unforgettable experience!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raggamuffintours, Owner at Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thanks Niki S! I totally agree that our staff are absolutely amazing - they are very much the heart and soul of Raggamuffin!! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great trip and crew”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I had a great experience with Raggamuffin. They operate sailboats which are very cool compared to the motor boats run by the other companies. I got to see manatees, sharks, stingrays, turtles and tons of other fish on the one day Hol Chan tour.
On our way out of Caye Caulker we picked up some people that were shipwrecked after having flipped and lost their canoe, without lifevests - so everyone be careful and safe out there!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank claurianta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raggamuffintours, Owner at Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thanks Claurianta!! You indeed were involved with our first (and hopefully last) rescue!! The kayakers were indeed in trouble and your crew Ellis and Chilo acted with utmost professionalism and assisted them!! Thank you for your support!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT PROFESSIONAL, DOWNRIGHT RUDE!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We are currently in Caye Caulker, Belize. We did the one day snorkeling tour with Raggamuffin Tours and would not recommend it to anyone. The boat they take you out on is a wooden boat that is very unsafe when it gets wet...we had three people fall down the little stairs out of our group. The boat is not comfortable at all...very hard to sit on and very dangerous to move on when boat is sailing!

The staff we had Dane and cant remember other guides name...we down right rude...making comments to some of the groups as they were not fast enough to their liking "come on people its going to be Christmas by the time you get in the water". They also cused out my friend as her tubing from her snorkel came off into the water and her husband had to dive in to get it...said "he was scaring away the turtle"...what was she suppose to do drown because she had no tubing attached to her snorkel?

The guides did not have any identifying rings around them we just had to look for the blue flippers...very
unsafe especially since two snorklers drown at Hol Chan Reserve on April 3/12 due to strong currents in the channel.

We would not recommend this tour group...stick to Carlos who is much more professional!

Disappointed Canadians - Stay in Caye Caulker - April 14-28/12

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raggamuffintours, Owner at Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
We are happy to say that we were lucky enough to track down this unhappy visitor and give them a full refund on their trip! It is not the idea of Raggamuffin to leave anybody feeling unsatisfied!!
To comment, unfortunately all surfaces are slippery when wet and, nobody should be moving around any boat when it is moving - I will insist that my Guides mention this far more to avoid anybody slipping in the future!
Each boat is equipped with two orange life rings that Guides drag around in the water when snorkeling and I gather that this day was no exception - again I will oversee that this is definitely being undertaken each and every time passengers get in the water!
What is a concern is that the review genuinely believes that the Guides were being rude - this is unacceptable and the key reason for the reviewer being given back their money!
We appreciate all comments as it is necessary to enforce the high standards expected at Raggamuffin!
We are very sorry disappointed Canadians!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent & fun day tours (snorkelling & sunset sail)”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We chose Raggamuffin from our guidebook on the first day, not having much else to go on at that point. But they didn't disappoint, so much so that we came back for more. Consequently this is a double review, of the Hoi Chan trip and the sunset sail cruise.


Hoi Chain (full day)

We opted for the full day Hoi Chan snorkelling trip, and it was well worth the extra time and expense. Having later dived the nearer reef and marine reserve, Hoi Chan is far and away the better trip. The coral has had a chance to grow for a decade or so longer and it shows - in some places it is scant inches from the surface of the water, so that you a forced to swim around rather than over it to avoid grazing your stomach as you pass.

As for our hosts, Jahlee, the captain, was the consummate professional. Although the weather conditions meant we had to go under power almost the whole time (the wind was initially nonexistent, then against us until the return trip when it was hoisted), he regaled us with facts and stories about the island and reef throughout. When we were put into the water to snorkel about, we were informed of the various rules & regulations (such as not to disturb sea turtles or come within 10ft of them!) and beginners were given a quick drill before being let off the boat. Later, when we arrived at Shark-Ray Alley, he put on a real show for us, including the highlight of petting a nurse shark. Finally, he took us on a guided tour of the main part of the reserve which included an enormous sea-turtle and some stunning coral, all interspersed with detailed information on the reef and its inhabitants.

The return trip was uneventful but fun, perhaps helped along by the generous lashings of rum punch and ceviche we were served. All in all, despite the slightly grey and cold day, it was an excellent trip.


Sunset Sail

On the last night we decided to go back to raggamuffin for the much-touted sunset cruise. Billed as as much rum punch as you could drink and beautiful views of the setting sun, it didn't disappoint. The sunset was spectacular, and the atmosphere onboard was very much a party atmosphere fueled by reggae, rum and salsa, and encouraged by our enigmatic captain, Ellis.

This time, the wind was right, and so as soon as we cleared the dock the mainsail was hoisted and we sailed out past the split to the open sea until it was fully dark. We then cruised by starlight around the bottom of the island, finally berthing back where we had begun after approximately a 3-hour cruise. It was excellent fun, though, and really a better way to watch the sun setting over the ocean is difficult to imagine.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BenSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing