We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond Expectations”

Belize Diving Services
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Great Blue Hole, Turneffe Atoll and The Belize Barrier Reef our some of our most popular dive sites. All computer diving and modern equipment help to give our dive masters and instructors the tools they need to do their job with expert care.Whether your goals are to take your first breaths on scuba, to become an instructor, or to dive to the bottom of the Great Blue Hole. We will be happy to work with you.Since 1978 Belize Diving Services has been continuously operating dive tours from the beautiful Island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Whether your first time diving or your 10,000 we will be happy to show you the underwater world of Belize.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

You know that excited, nervous feeling you get (even after 90 dives), when you haven't dove for a couple years? Well, I had that in spades on our first dive off the reefs in Caye Caulker. Our dive master, Edger, kept a close eye on me that first dive, had extra weight for me when I was struggling to stay down on our safety stop. You might be thinking, well, that's what a dive master is supposed to do, and it is. But it was all the extra things that this dive company did. Their boat was nice and new, the equipment was nice, and everything worked - which, if you have ever had to rent a regulater and bcd, you know this is not always the case. They always left on time, and stayed in communication with us re changes in our dives. The dive master would go over where we were going to be, and what to look for, before each dive. When Pablo is giving the talk before the dive, pay attention, because he is very funny! They made certain that we understood our equipment, and evaluated us on those first dives. (I chilled out after my initial nervousness) They still kept an eye on us, but didn't hover, and let us linger, if possible, over the areas that interested us. Edger was our dive master on most of our dives, and he was excellent about pointing out critters (even an octopus!), and making certain that we were paired up appropriately. When we surfaced, the captain had the boat next to us within minutes. We an early dive, and when we got to the diving center, there was a breakfast spread for us. We also went to Halfmoon Caye, and had a delicious lunch provided by the BDS, complete with Fanta! We got the tour to the Red-Footed Booby bird platform, with Edger guiding us on land this time, and telling us about the birds, pointing out iguanas, and telling us about the trees. Since this is a review about BDS, and not Belize in general, I haven't mentioned what we saw while underwater. I can't sum it up in a few sentences. Belize has the most beautiful coral I have ever seen, and we have visited quite a few places. The sea life is vibrant and abundant. Having sharks, and turtles decide to swim with you can make your spirit sing. BDS is one of the best outfits we have ever dove with. We loved spending time with them, and getting to know them a little. And they have a really cool logo!

Thank PatriciaJ913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argos1980, Public Relations Manager at Belize Diving Services, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review, we always appreciate it! We’re all about ensuring our customers a good time in Belize, diving with BDS, and doing both in the safest of ways! That’s why we only use top of the line equipment and boats, hire the most experienced dive masters (in Pablo’s case, the funniest), feed you some darn good local food, and show you the best reefs and marine life. We’re happy you chose to dive with us, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 374 of 727 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic experience. The staff is very professional and helpful. The boat and captains are top-notch. Edgar, our dive leader, is the man. Super nice guy, showed us all sorts of cool stuff while we were under. He was very safe underwater and made sure we all knew exactly what the profile was before we even got in.

The two-hour boat ride out to the blue hole was beautiful and the diving near Half Moon Caye was the best diving of my life... sharks, eagle rays, stingrays, you name it!

To top it off they made us a delicious lunch between our second and third dives and Edgar took us on a tour to the local bird sanctuary on Half Moon Caye, which was cool. Earlier in the day, they gave us breakfast in the morning when we first got there, which was a pleasant surprise.

There's no doubt about it... the three-dive package to the Blue Hole is a bit pricey, but well worth the cost.

The only two negative things: 1) We booked a spot and paid a deposit three months ahead of time. I personally emailed with the owner confirming our reservation. When we got there, however, they said they didn't have our reservation. No worries, though, as there was still room on the boat for us.

2) On the BDS web site, it says there are two profiles for the Blue Hole dive, one to 130 feet and another to 80 feet. Once we arrived, however, we were told that everyone would be going to 130 feet. That part was a bit sketchy because my girlfriend isnt comfortable going much past 100 feet. It worked out OK but I dont think their web site should say they offer an 80 ft profile if they really don't.

Overall we were both really happy with our experience at BDS and would recommend the place to anyone. They were very processional and very helpful and we made sure to grab a shot with the guys afterward. We'll definitely dive with BDS again.

Thank mora0132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

From the owners to the equipment guys everybody was simply amazing. The boat and gear was dialed and after not diving in years Eugene made me feel right at home going deeper than I had ever been. Great company. Great people.

Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argos1980, Public Relations Manager at Belize Diving Services, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

We’re so happy to hear your enjoyed your dive! We like to make sure our customers have the best possible time diving with us, which is why we have some of the best equipment and accommodations around! We also like to ensure our divers feel as comfortable, safe, and relaxed as possible, and BDS guides like Eugene do an incredible job making sure of that. Thanks so much for diving with us, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Went out for the day to the Blue Hole, Long Caye, and Halfmoon Caye. Everything from start to finish was extremely professional. Eugene, Elmer, and the rest of the crew were highly knowledgable and friendly. A special shout out to our Canadian brother CJ and the lovely Sylvia. Best day of diving I've had in my life!

Thank DurkDurkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argos1980, Public Relations Manager at Belize Diving Services, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thanks so much for the great feedback! We always love hearing our customers have the best diving of their lives with us! Eugene, Elmer, CJ, Sylvia, and everyone else at BDS are the best of the best, and we’re glad they could make your time in Belize unforgettable. Thanks for choosing to dive with us, and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

These guys run a tight ship--very safe and professional. Entertaining and experienced dive guides. Nice dive boat with showers on board. Highly recommended.

Thank dogjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argos1980, Public Relations Manager at Belize Diving Services, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thanks for the great feedback! Our guides and crew always make safety a first priority in and out of the water. We believe the best way to enjoy your dive is to feel beyond safe, relaxed and comfortable, but our boat and showers don’t hurt either! Thanks for diving with BDS, be sure to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belize Diving Services also viewed

 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Belize Diving Services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing