We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BELIZE DIVING SERVICES, CAYE CULKER, BELIZE”

Belize Diving Services
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Great Blue Hole, Turneffe Atoll and The Belize Barrier Reef our some of our most popular dive sites. All computer diving and modern equipment help to give our dive masters and instructors the tools they need to do their job with expert care.Whether your goals are to take your first breaths on scuba, to become an instructor, or to dive to the bottom of the Great Blue Hole. We will be happy to work with you.Since 1978 Belize Diving Services has been continuously operating dive tours from the beautiful Island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Whether your first time diving or your 10,000 we will be happy to show you the underwater world of Belize.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BELIZE DIVING SERVICES, CAYE CULKER, BELIZE”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Belize Diving services is, for the most part, owned and operated by Chip and Dani Peterson; apparently there must be a law that says a Belizean citizen must have an ownership interest in any company based on Belizean soil; therefore, Pablo is that person. Pablo also runs the front desk even though Pablo is computer illiterate. One of Pablo's irritating little habits is padding the bill with duplicate services and overages, so check your bill carefully before paying. Notwithstanding Pablo, we have been fully satisfied with Belize Diving Services, and as such, are repeat customers. This is a professionally run company with diver safety first and foremost; all of the dive boats and equipment are top-notch and the boat crews are well-trained in diver safety and equipment maintenance, plus the crews are always friendly and helpful. There is a breakfast at BDS before leaving in the morning on the early departures, and the prepared lunch on board the dive boat is plentiful and tasty. The dive locations are mostly in the vicinity of Caye Caulker with some trips scheduled farther afield depending on the requests of the customers; to their credit, BDS does offer trips as north as the San Pedro area and the Blue Hole; however, BDS does not get as far south as Placentia for whale shark diving, which in any case would be an unbearably long day trip. And, if there is ever a problem of any kind, talk to Chip; he will do his best to sort it out to your satisfaction.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank grand t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argos1980, Public Relations Manager at Belize Diving Services, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We’re happy to hear you had an overall good experience diving with us. Pablo has earned equity in the company by being a fabulous employee and role model to the staff for the past 12 years. The introduction of a new POS system has been a little bit buggy and cumbersome, and it has taken all of us some work to understand the new technology. We apologize for the inconvenience, but hope you continue to dive with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    68
    18
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Learn to scuba SDI online course”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Belize diving services were brilliant from 'pre-start' (emails and e-learning support) to finish! I have had my PADI licence before , but wanted a refresher. The staff at the centre are amazing, super experienced and safety conscious. Gear was serviced and in great condition. I checked out other dive centre's and none came close. Walter and Pablo, thanks for being great and patient teachers. BJ and CJ thanks for all the online support for our course.....great company to dive with. Cheers guys!

Helpful?
Thank AvidTraveller547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argos1980, Public Relations Manager at Belize Diving Services, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
From “pre-start” to finish, Belize Diving Services likes to ensure all of our customers have an overall great experience. We’re happy our staff was able to help you with a refresher course; we encourage divers of any level to take it if they experience any level of discomfort or worries. We’re more than willing to take the extra steps to make sure you’re comfortable, safe, and most of all having fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect place to learn to dive!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Belize diving services were a great place to learn to dive with, all the staff were friendly and helpful and the equipment was all in excellent condition so it all felt really safe. The three instructors we had were brilliant (Hillary, Pablo, Walter) and really made it a great experience along with the rest of the staff. I would definitely recommend learning to dive here. We chose here because of other reviews on trip advisor and they were right it was brilliant and safe!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki_Ellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argos1980, Public Relations Manager at Belize Diving Services, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We’re so happy your experience at Belize Diving Services was so enjoyable! Reviews like yours (and many others) are one of the many reasons we’re able to introduce so many people to the world of scuba diving here in Belize. Thanks again for your great feedback and come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Turtles”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

An altogether great dive. I've done diving all over from Honduras to Australia and many other top knotch place, and this is right up there with them. Belize dive was great, lots of underwater life.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argos1980, Public Relations Manager at Belize Diving Services, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We’re happy to hear we exceeded your expectations, especially since you’ve dived in some pretty cool countries! We like to consider ourselves lucky to show other divers to marine ecosystems and wildlife unique to Belize. Our dive sites generally have an array of wildlife; from turtles, to sharks, to giant coral, to some smaller tropical fish. Thanks for diving with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“My Experience: Well-Run and Professional Dive Shop”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I went on about half dozen trips with BDS. On every trip, they were highly professional and ensured we had an excellent experience. I brought all my own gear and could store it in a spacious locker. Very happy with BDS. I'll use them again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AirSeaLandRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argos1980, Public Relations Manager at Belize Diving Services, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for choosing to dive with us so many times! We have a ton of unique dive spots, and returning customers get to see a large number of them. Although we provide a huge selection of quality dive equipment, we do accommodate divers who bring their own with big, secure lockers. We’re happy you chose to dive with us so many times, and hope you come back for more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belize Diving Services also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Belize Diving Services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing