We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best place to stay on the island”
Review of CayeReef

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CayeReef
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Still the best place to stay on the island”
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Thanks again Sheena and Bobbi for making my stay in Caye Caulker a perfect and relaxing one. Nice pool, nice people, good location, didn't even make it up to the roof this time for the sunset, I was just too lazy. My number one choice on the island. Oh yeah, had fun at the split in the afternoon, and of course Trivia night at Sports bar that night. Good times, can't wait to go back, and will keep recommending Caye Reef.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalibuStace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    23
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
67
77
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed here in March with another couple and were very pleased with the hotel. The rooms were big, the kitchen was fully stocked and the living room area was spacious. It was great to sit on the deck and look out on the ocean in the morning. It is a very popular hotel for families with children so the pool was usually occupied by the little ones while we were there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopeschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2010

great service and alot more for just under $200!

My friend and I arrived to Caye Caulker without a reservation and proceeded to get in a golf cart and scan the area for the "best place in the island". We were looking for a clean, air conditioned place. Trust me, upon driving up and down the only main street and checking out a couple of potential destinations, we decided to give the Caye Reef a personal look since it was almost at the end of the main road and we were out of "good options".

A cart taxi took us a couple of houses down to Bobbi, the manager of the Caye Reef. She proceeded to give us the tour of the place and the price. Immediately we were sold on the place. It was very, very clean and super spacious (see images). We arrived late afternoon and Bobbi instantly welcomed us and handed over the keys. She also provided us with a cell phone to place local calls (very handy since my blackberry had issues with int'l dialing). The place has everything imaginable to prepare your own meal (if you'd choose to prepare your own fish for example). A nice touch was that each bathroom had a ceiling fan! This was very handy after a long day on the beach and trying to cool off.

I would recommend this for 2 couples. At $100 per couple its a steal! It has a jacuzzi on the rooftop overlooking the entire island....a hammock in your own personal balcony and a couple more on the rooftop. Not to mention that this location is prime (closest hotel to the "split", a bar on the beach where everyone in the island hangs out all afternoon). Its also located next to the best restaurant on the island (Don Corleone).

Bobbi even went out of her way to ensure we had free transportation to the airport by sending us in their own personal cart (eventhough she was very sick!). You can't beat that kind of service.

Stop looking for hotels and just book CayeReef to ensure your stay is a pleasant one.

tell bobbi that sean and alex send their best!

alex - miami, fl

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdaddy812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed at Caye Reef for two weeks - just returned home last night to Canada. First of all, a big thanks to Bobbi, Ralph, Joseph and Haiti, who work tirelessly to make Caye Reef a first class operation. We had a couple of minor problems which Bobbi attended to immediately. Caye Reef is well situated and close to the split and well within walking distance to many good restaurants and shopping. We met other people staying in other accomodations and were actually appalled at the conditions of their places even though they seemed to be pleased. Caye Reef was pricey for us, as we were only one couple and for two weeks we just thought "what the heck, you only live once", but if you have two couples it is certainly economical enough. We would go back in a heartbeat.
Only one small issues and that was with dogs barking starting about 2 a.m every morning. The air conditioner would drown out the noise, but it was a bit irritating. Other than that it was perfect.
Thanks Bobbi and staff
John and Susan Alberta Canada

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

My husband, adult daughter, adult son, a family friend, and I spent 3 nights at Caye Reef (should have been 4 but we were delayed at the airport in Dallas by snow--go figure!) The condo was great, very clean and well-supplied, VERY comfortable! Our 3rd floor balcony looked out over the Caribbean and we had an awesome lagoon and sunset view from the rooftop hot tub (which wasn't always hot, but it's a new building, still has some glitches to be worked out.) The beds were very comfortable by Caribbean, and even USA, standards. We were near the Lazy Lizard, the mandatory happy hour bar, and within walking distance of the water taxi and many restaurants. The pool is small but very nice and adequate for a 6 condo building with plenty of chaise lounges and nicely shaded tables. The entire area is fenced and gated but we felt completely safe at all times so that was really not an issue----much less necessary than say--Cancun or Jamaica. Overall, we drove down to Placencia for the remaining 3 days of our stay and really wished we had booked the entire week at Caye Reef. We can't wait to go back and will not even consider any other rental.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We loved our stay at Caye Reef. The apartment was very well laid out and had everything you could ever need. It was finished to a very high standard and very comfortable. We were met at the dock and taken to the apartment very efficiently by a friendly staff member and shown everything we needed to know. There was a full welcome book in the apartment with lots of suggestions of recommended activities and places to eat, which was very useful. The apartments are very well situated, right on the beachfront, and very near all the shops and restaurants. The Island itself is charming and the people very friendly and welcoming, with good service in the restaurants, and plenty of water-based activities and trips. An ideal holiday location for families, couples or groups of friends. We will certainly be returning to Caye Reef in the future as we feel we received brilliant service and the accommodation itself was excellent, most highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FooeyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at CayeReef. We LOVED the island and thought the condos were great.
Overall, cayereef was clean, comfortable and spacious. We loved the view from the balcony. The full kitchen was a nice amenity, but found we didn't use it because food on the island is so cheap and fresh!
The hot tub on the roof offers incredible views of the coast and island. Probably one of the few places that you can see the sun rise and set from the same building.
The only complaint we had was noise from construction on the building. They were adding shutters to all of the windows so heard constant hammering and drilling during the days.
Do not stay here if you are looking for full service. The property manager lets you in and is on call for any issues, but there is no one staffed on the property full time.
We highly recommend the island, a snorkeling trip and if you are looking for a more luxury place to stay on Caulker, Caye Reef will definitely meet your needs.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CayeReef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CayeReef

Property: CayeReef
Address: Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CayeReef is six beautiful & spacious beachfront serviced apartments, looking out over the world’s second largest barrier-reef. Comfortably accommodating between two and six guests, these luxury "homes-from-home" include: * Two large bedrooms with en-suite * Spacious lounge area with sofa/sofa bed * Fully equipped kitchen with mod-cons and breakfast bar * Walk-in showers * Balcony over-looking the reef * AC, or use the sea-breeze and fans * Free WiFi internet access * Cable TV * Telephone * Safe * Swimming pool * Roof terrace with jacuzzi * Spectacular views * Unconditional support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayereef Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing