We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caye Reef at Caye Caulker”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CayeReef

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CayeReef
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Caye Reef at Caye Caulker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Caye Reef from 2/25/2012- 3/3/2012. We had a wonderful time. The accomodations were 1st rate and the staff was very helpful. We will stay there again. the only complaint I have is that the week went by too fast.... David F Weir

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHH, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thanks for the kind words David, we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    22
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
65
72
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Overall, these apartments offer great freedom, amenities and luxury to all guests. From the extremely friendly staff to the great location near the "split", it is a great place to stay. With a hot tub on the roof, a pool on the main floor, and hammocks on each patio, it offers plenty of relaxation spots. While I do admit it comes with a slightly larger price tag, it is definitely worth it when comparing it with other accommodations on the island. When booking, Bobbi (the manager) will take great care to arrange pickups from the airport, personal greetings when arriving on the island, and assisting with any personal needs you may have! Happy vacationing in Caye Caulker!

Room Tip: Each floor has a similar layout, but the penthouse suites appear to have a larger balcony if you wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canuck345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Spent a week in Caye Caulker and after spending a lot of time walking around and looking we concluded that this is probably one of the best hotels on the island (we booked here because it was ranked #1 on trip advisor). It is close to everything you need: the beach, shops, restaurants. The suites are spacious with the promised A/C and safes. It was nice to know that the gate was locked every night. The pool is lovely and you just can't beat the 360 degree view from the rooftop patio (with hot tub). There was 13 of us staying at this hotel (in 3 rooms) but there were 8 other people in our group who stayed elsewhere. It was nice to have the flexibility to 'entertain' the whole group on the rooftop.

The only negatives we experienced were minor. The staff only come in to clean every 3rd day (or so) so don't expect daily cleaning like a 'regular' hotel. The beds are very firm and the A/C cutting in and out throughout the night may disrupt your sleep. Also, there are 2 kayaks that are available for use, but we didn't find out about them until it was too late.

If we ever return to Caye Caulker we will definitely book at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeannaGrenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHH, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thanks for the excellent review and helpful comments. We have now updated our hotel policy on-line to make the maid service provision more clear.

We have found, for most guests, that our beds are a good compromise between too firm and too soft. It is a hard one to get right, but I think we are close.

In designing the AC system we made them as quiet as possible by placing the condenser outside the bedrooms in a cupboard and putting the compressor outside the building. Some sound inevitably remains, though we have never had a complaint. An alternative is to turn off the AC at night and use one of the roof fans - they make, in my mind, a more soporific sound.

Finally, the two kayaks are the property of the manager and not CayeReef, though she does frequently make them available to guests.

We look forward to hosting you again at CayeReef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I don't really need to say much all the other reviews sum it up. Has all the amenities and is in a great location. The security wall is nice but not really needed since everyone there is so nice. I've been to a few caribbean locations and Caye Caulker has been my favorite.

Room Tip: The ground floor is nice for convenience but a bit of a hike to the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Wow! From the roof top one can see a full sweep of the caye-beautiful during the day and on a dark stary night unforgetable!
We were two couples traveling together. Caye Reef proved to be ideal for us. We each had a comfortable bedroom and bathroom to call our own. Though we did not cook having the fridge to store snacks and drinks was a plus. We loved sitting on our balcony, sipping our evening wine and watching the colorful world of Caye Caulker go by.
We liked Caye Reef's quiet location yet we were so close to Don Corleone's and Wish Willie's, just two mention two restaurants we enjoyed for excellent seafood.
Being birdwatchers we wondered who the local bird authority is. A few questions asked and we were directed to Ellen McCrea who lives at the other end of the Caye. Ellen conducted a birding tour the following morning that reflected her extensive knowlege of Caulker birds.
The only downside to our stay on Caye Caulker was the trip over and back by water taxi from Belize City. Going over, the late afternoon water taxi was crowded but tolerable. Returning from the mainland was another matter. It was over crowded to the point I felt unsafe. I will fly next time I visit. I look forward to returning to Caye Reef as I found it most enjoyable.

Room Tip: We liked our floor which was one down from the top floor of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdchaserLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I really wanted to love this place and was so excited to stay here, especially given the glowing reviews on this site, but I am sorry to say that I was really disappointed. I was most excited about the rooftop hot tub, so I dropped my bags and ran up to the roof only to find that the hot tub was not so hot. In fact, it was cold and broken. I moped back to the room, where I found my boyfriend reading a note from the owner stating that our room's air conditioning was broken. Luckily it was nighttime, so the room was fine, and she waived the rental costs for that night. I was definitely hoping for more given the price and what was promised. We also stayed at Seaside Cabanas while on Caye Caulker, and I would definitely recommend it over CayeReef, even if it also didn't happen to be less expensive, which it is. I wish it wasn't so, but unfortunately, we didn't have the relaxing experience we hoped for at CayeReef.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHH, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
It is unfortunate that your night's stay coincided with electrical power quality issues on the Caye which caused our relevant electrical breaker to refuse to close (this fault has now been cleared). We apologise for the resulting problems and hope the full refund went some way to mitigate your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Caye Reef sits at the north end of the island, a few hundred yards south of the split and The famous Lazy Lizard. The rooms are spacious and we were on the second floor with windows facing east towards the reef. The main street Playa Ascuncion runs below so we sat on our balcony and enjoyed watching the locals and tourists alike stroll SLOWLY by. High recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CayeReef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CayeReef

Property: CayeReef
Address: Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CayeReef is six beautiful & spacious beachfront serviced apartments, looking out over the world’s second largest barrier-reef. Comfortably accommodating between two and six guests, these luxury "homes-from-home" include: * Two large bedrooms with en-suite * Spacious lounge area with sofa/sofa bed * Fully equipped kitchen with mod-cons and breakfast bar * Walk-in showers * Balcony over-looking the reef * AC, or use the sea-breeze and fans * Free WiFi internet access * Cable TV * Telephone * Safe * Swimming pool * Roof terrace with jacuzzi * Spectacular views * Unconditional support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayereef Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing