We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One sweet spot...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Dreams Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Dreams Hotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alaska
2 reviews
“One sweet spot...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

A great spot to begin our vacation. Ditto many of the other good comments: clean, friendly staff, free water refills, and a fridge for the many Belikins we consumed. Hanging out on the rooftop in the breeze was a bonus, as was the private dock. I really liked being off the main drag in a little quieter locale, too. Caye Caulker really wasn't my scene, but the Sea Dreams was a great find.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTW40days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    45
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
192
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

My husband and I opted for a room, as we didnt anticipate fixing our meals. The mini fridge and bottled water at front desk were helpful additions. Our room was clean, with a good bed, and up to date features. Stacy is very friendly, and we appreciated her input.
The location is quiet at night, even though the lazy lizard is nearby. The dock of the hotel is terrific for sunset watching, and we enjoyed the shade of the upstairs deck/roof when we needed a break from the sun.

We suggest you take bug spray, as there are mosquitos at night. Items like bug spray are imported from the US, and pricey on the caye.

If we are able to return to caye caulker, we would like to get an apartment so we can cook some meals...and stay more than a week. This was our first trip to Belize.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MsHealthNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

Stacy, the manager of Sea Dreams was very helpful with local information and help to make our stay very easy and comfortable.

Rooms were clean, very nicely decorated with local art and the wooden bathroom sinks are charming.
Roof top deck and water front dock in the back of the property were nice additons to enjoy the rising and setting sun.

Perfect location, close to the split on Caye Caulker, 10 min. walk from water taxi.

Quite and beautiful paradise. I would highly recommend to anyone to stay at Sea Dream while visiting Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventure-KayakGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

My stay at the Sea Dreams hotel in Caye Caulker was in a word-- fantastic. I can not say enough good things about the hotel, staff and owners. Whether you are just looking for a wonderful place to relax or you are and avid angler, I think you will find the Sea Dreams hotel exceeds your highest expectations. I know it did for me.

The location of the hotel is ideal. The hotel is situated in the north of the southern portion of Caye Caulker near the Split on a quiet side road. While you are literally just a short walk from the main road, you will find the hotel location very quiet and private.

The rooms are tremendous. Everything you will need has been thought of. You will immediately notice that a great effort and attention to detail went into the furnishings, from choice linen on your bed to a fly rod holder over your door. You will want for nothing .There is a TV, a book case, a refrigerator, coffee machine and a fan over your bed. The rooms are spotless, classy and secure.

The staff are all very professional and naturally friendly. The housekeeping service was prompt and un-intrusive. Stacy, the manager, was attentive to all my questions and requests for help and always friendly. You quickly feel at home here and not as if you’re staying a hotel.

The owner of the Sea Dreams hotel is Haywood Curry. Haywood impressed me greatly with his natural good humour and attention to both me and my interest in fly fishing. Haywood is the local authority for fly fishing on the Caye and he is generous with his time and advice. He has a fly shop, Anglers Abroad, and a renowned guide service. His guides are the best in the area.

Haywood and his wife Heidi are giving back to their community. Heidi took the initiative to start a local non-profit high school the Ocean Academy. They both are highly respected on the Caye and you will notice their respectful treatment to staff and clients alike. Great people.

My ten day stay was beyond words and I can’t wait to get back. I found Caye Caulker to be a great location both for fishing and a place to relax. The town is great, very safe and folks are friendly. The fishing on the Caye is tremendous and offers even the DIY fly fisherman more variety and larger fish than on Ambergris. I caught my largest Bonefish (28 inch) of my life behind the Sea Dreams hotel, just off Haywood’s dock. Each evening at sundown the Jacks would blitz the Split (2 minuets from your door) for baitfish and I would catch 10-20 of them each evening. Tarpon are available and large permit as well. For the fisherman with a girlfriend or wife this is an ideal place to stay. For that fly fisherman looking for great sport and fish variety this is nirvana.

I chose to stay at the Sea Dreams hotel after reading reviews on this site. I encourage you to do the same. Sea Dreams hotel is a great place run by great people. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltwaterFlyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

Seadreams is well named! Fantastic accommodation, and Stacy was very helpful.

Extremely highly recommended!

PS. Have dinner at Wish Willy's around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelahe
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

The Seadreams is a great family hotel especially for first time visits to caye caulker. Stacy at front desk is very helpful and arranged our flights for us from belize city to caye caulker upon arrival at the caye airport you will be picked up by a golf cart and a very freindly local man who delivers you to seadreams for $5. It is to far to walk with suitcases and it is worth the tour anyway! The owners live next door to the hotel, so they are available to answer questions and arrange anything they can for you. There is a nice private little dock for you to sit on to read. The hotel is right beside the split and the local beach, very small and informal. The island felt very friendly and safe. It is a foreign country so don't be stupid - but it is a nice atmosphere. One gets the feeling that the local population is happy you are there not resenting that you are in their space. Suggestions remember it is a remote island there may not be propane all the time and you will survive fine for a day or so while you wait...
If you are going to have room in a suitcase when you go toss in something a highschool could use - binders - paper - good books a laptop you don't use anymore. Heidi (owner) is co-founder of a highschool they are working to establish. Remember a lot of these kids do not come from families who can efford to purchase school items for them. If you ask what they could use prior to your arrival i am sure there would be some little item that you could bring along for them.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

Sea Dreams was a dream of a hotel, little did we know until we departed and wished we had just stayed there for our entire trip. The rooms were clean, neatly appointed, well designed, but, unfortunately, small. No matter, though, because who wants to spend time in your room when you have a sunny roof deck with amazing views of the ocean? And a most popular local bar steps from the hotel? And a dock granting you swimming access and a sunbathing platform? Although it was a higher priced hotel of all those we checked out, it ended up being worth it spending that money. The hotel attendant, on several occasions, brought us coconuts from which to enjoy the coconut water. There were always bikes in the bike rack which we could take at our leisure and tour around the island. Save your time and book ahead with these guys so you can enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youbetterBelizeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dreams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dreams Hotel

Property: Sea Dreams Hotel
Address: Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dreams Hotel is a family-run boutique hotel on the quaint island of Caye Caulker. We are located at the north end of the village which affords a three-sided view of the Caribbean Sea. Guests quickly become part of the Sea Dreams family: eating breakfasts with Iris on our thatch-covered rooftop, picking up fishing tips from Haywood on our dock, planning excursions with Anna, Stephanie or Kelly learning about island education with Heidi, enjoying impeccable housekeeping services from Maria Elena & Melanie, or enjoying a tropical drink with Celia at our Banyan Tree Bar. Our dock, located on the leeward edge of the split, is the entry into a unique slice of paradise: perfectly clear and calm, chest-deep, turquoise water with a white sandy bottom. Every evening, guests watch the sun melt into these waters and cast pastel shades across the skies. When guests are not diving, snorkeling, fishing, kite boarding, or touring Mayan ruins, they relax at the hotel with a drink at the bar, a massage at the spa, a book in a hammock, or a canoe ride to feed the local Tarpon. Accommodations range from intimate courtyard rooms to one-, two-, and three-bedroom apartments, cabana, and home. Amenities include free bicycles, canoe, hot breakfast, WIFI, AC, cable TV, bottled water and snorkeling gear. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing