We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just like coming home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Dreams Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Dreams Hotel
Ranked #1 of 33 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just like coming home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

December 2012 was our second time in Belize as well as to the Sea dreams Hotel. Our first experience was so nice that it just seemed natural to return. We were welcomed again like old friends or family by the owners and staff. The improvements made to the hotel made the experience even better this year. For starter, the continental breakfast table has been upgraded to a full breakfast served up on the roof top. It turned the experience into the feel of a bed and breakfast with the guests, owners and staff all mingling together. The local cook Aida prepared wonderful, tasty, local and varied dishes and even adjusted the menu with guests request like vegetarian meals. The place turns into a bar for guests for happy hour every night as well. They also stock up the room fridge with beer and soft drinks at a decent price as well, and bottled water for free. A new covered area on the roof with 2 hamacs provides a wonderful secluded place to read and enjoy the sea breeze. Another covered area on the dock is also a great addition. The stairs to walk into the water at the end of the dock collapsed during our stay but were replaced promptly so we could continue enjoying our swim and snorkel with fishes and rays. The courtesy bicycles are showing signs of fatigue but were still a treat to explore the small island and fetch our refreshments and snacks at local stores. When we mentioned neighbours dogs kept us up one night, we were upgraded to a different room without having asked at all. We truly feel everyone tried their very best to make each and every guests experience the best possible, and they succeeded. We highly recommend Sea Dreams hotel, and we will be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchenette. We are excellent cooks and usually love cooking for ourselves even on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suepet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    45
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
190
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

My GF and i went to stay with SD upon a recommendation of a friend. If you like a warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere in a hotel, then this is the place for you in Caye Caulker. I am an avid fly fisherman and my GF is an underwater photographer. Heywood and Heidi Currie the owners of SD are a lovely couple. Anna at the front desk is simply lovely and so helpful.
For the folks on the fly, Heywood is the guy to hook you up with a guide. This is important as I think there maybe many ppl in CC who say they know how to guide but they're only a select few who are professional. I went in April hooked a permit but didn't land it as my reel jammed. I returned in the summer as my guide Eloy promised to get me my first permit. He delivered, I caught 2 permit in one day!! i would say as a word of caution the guides will put you on fish however they can't catch the fish for you. So be realistic with your casting skills and take a lesson or two before you head there fishing. Permit fishing will require you to put out 60 ft of line quickly. I have fly fished many places and CC has become my favorite. Also the nice thing about CC is there a variety of restaurants to dine at a night. Just ask Anna and she will let you know where to go. I will be definitely heading back.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our souls are refreshed after a week at Sea Dreams. The attention to detail (e.g., handmade wooden shelves in the rooms, wooden railing around the top level) give this place a unique charm. The breakfast included with the room was substantial and delicious, and local cook Aida was a joy to chat with each morning. She makes a mean cocktail too! Seeing the ocean to our left and our right from the bar was a treat. (A bonus for being near the end of the island, and most restaurants are still within easy walking distance.) Also, the owner founded and supports the nonprofit high school on the island, and it felt great to support such a cause. Bottom line: our rooms were clean and comfortable, the private dock was a treasure, and the owners/staff are good people. Highly, highly recommend Sea Dreams to all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Sea Dreams has its own private docks, shaded and sunny, that are perfect for swimming and viewing sunsets. The rooms are recently updated and clean. The staff is incredibly friendly and helps you with anything you need. Breakfast is included and served on the second floor, which is also a great place to have drinks and share stories with other guests and the very friendly cook/bartender, Aida, at the end of each day.

The owners and staff really make you feel welcome and at home here. No need to look any further!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scsmethod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in April 2012 and had an awesome time. Great people running the place and very accommodating. The breakfasts were good, the room was good-very clean and they had bikes you could borrow to visit the places on the strip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roscoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Sea Dreams has the best location on the island: they're about 30 seconds from The Split, they have their own private dock area, and all the bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance (although the latter is probably true for the majority of hotels/hostels on this tiny island!). The tastefully decorated rooms are extremely clean, with quiet air conditioning, fans, and strong, hot showers- and the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we've ever had, by a long shot! We stayed in the low season so we paid low season rates- overall it was fantastic value and I highly recommend it :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roshani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oegon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at Sea Dreams at the end of a lovely trip to Belize. We wanted to end the trip with something really special, so we splurged on the Orchid Cabana. While not inexpensive, totally worth the cost for the ambience and the experience. The cabana is perfectly sized, with a full kitchen with a basic dishes/pots set up, and a fridge stocked with beer. The bed was crazy comfortable as well. We spent several afternoons on the hammocks on the front porch/deck.

The private dock is really special. One of the only good swimming spots we saw on the island. We swam across the split one day and saw the most amazing sunset complete with a ray jumping across the horizon another day.

We loved everyone that works at Sea Dreams. Aida cooked us the best breakfasts and made awesome cocktails for happy hour! Anna was really friendly and helpful too

Added bonus is it's only a quick hop to the Split for sunset cocktails. The free bikes make it super easy to get anywhere on the island.

Can't recommend this place highly enough and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dreams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dreams Hotel

Property: Sea Dreams Hotel
Address: Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dreams Hotel is a family-run boutique hotel on the quaint island of Caye Caulker. We are located at the north end of the village which affords a three-sided view of the Caribbean Sea. Guests quickly become part of the Sea Dreams family: eating breakfasts with Iris on our thatch-covered rooftop, picking up fishing tips from Haywood on our dock, planning excursions with Anna, Stephanie or Kelly learning about island education with Heidi, enjoying impeccable housekeeping services from Maria Elena & Melanie, or enjoying a tropical drink with Celia at our Banyan Tree Bar. Our dock, located on the leeward edge of the split, is the entry into a unique slice of paradise: perfectly clear and calm, chest-deep, turquoise water with a white sandy bottom. Every evening, guests watch the sun melt into these waters and cast pastel shades across the skies. When guests are not diving, snorkeling, fishing, kite boarding, or touring Mayan ruins, they relax at the hotel with a drink at the bar, a massage at the spa, a book in a hammock, or a canoe ride to feed the local Tarpon. Accommodations range from intimate courtyard rooms to one-, two-, and three-bedroom apartments, cabana, and home. Amenities include free bicycles, canoe, hot breakfast, WIFI, AC, cable TV, bottled water and snorkeling gear. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing