We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad to have found this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Dreams Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Dreams Hotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So glad to have found this hotel”
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We will be visiting this location many more times. We couldn't have ask for a better location, although some might feel to far removed from "downtown". We are sun seekers and this location gave us immediate access to either the leeward side and a private dock or the windward side and all the fun things happening near "The Cut". Included with the room are, a very nice continental breakfast buffet, use of bicycles,use of canoe, private dock,and free wi-fi. We stayed in one of the more expensive apartment units but will probably scale down next time mostly because we didn't find time to take advantage of the kitchen amenities. If we were staying for more than 5-6 days probably the apartment would be back on our radar.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BZEBND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    45
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
192
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
saugatuck, michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I procrastinated booking my lodging on Caye Caulker. Sea Dreams was the only place available a month in advance of my trip. Boy, did I luck out! After looking at many trip advisor reviews and travel books I must admit Sea Dreams was not my first pick, but now that I've been there, it will be first on my list if I ever go back.

I was concerned about the location. Originally I thought I wanted to stay on the south side of the island. I'm really glad I did not. The south side is a long bike ride or walk to restaraunts, etc...

Sea Dreams is nicely tucked back off the main drag. It's no big deal that they aren't facing the oceanside either. The best thing about staying there is the private dock off the back side. It is a great place to spend the day, catch a sunset, or go for a swim. They also have canoes and bikes that can be great fun as well.

The rooms were nice enough. The beds were very comfortable. You don't spend much time in your room anyway. I would have liked to pay a little less, but the included breakfast, private dock, canoe, bikes, etc justify the cost.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeshorekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We had the greatest stay at the Sea Dreams. This hotel and Caye Caulker exceeded my expectations. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with high quality beds, sheets and towels. Our parents had the two bedroom apartment, which was so awesome to use as a family gathering space. We enjoyed several meals of our catch of the day and card games at the kitchen table. The dock was another favorite hang out for fishing, sun bathing, and beautiful sunsets. It was also nice to have yummy breakfast, bikes and kayaks included. The location was the perfect distance to action (including lots of fishing), yet quite and peaceful too. We found the staff and owners to be very friendly and accomodating.

The island of Caye Caulker was friendly, safe and easy to navigate. This was our parents first real trip abroad and they loved it and felt totally comfortable. We enjoyed our time at Pizza Caulker (good slice+beer deal), Rainbow, Wish Willy's, Rosie's, Bambooze and Oceanside.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2011

close to town (everything is in caye caulker) but far enough away to be quiet and cozy. the friendly staff are there for anything you might need. if you are planning on fly fishing there is a fly shop on location and access to the best guide service around. also breakfast is provided--included---and it is fantastic as well. this was my third trip to belize and because of this place and staff, by far my favorite. stay there you wont regret it!!! we will return next year!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leewardone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We arrived at Caye Caulker with no reservations, and only a general sense of what the island was like. A taxi driver took us to about 4 different places -- 3 were less expensive, but we decided that we'd rather pay a little more for a nicer hotel and location.

The hotel is located very close to the split, which is a fun beach for sunbathing, ok for swimming, better than expected for snorkeling, and with the Lazy Lizard bar, it's also just a fun place to sit back with a cool drink and watch the world go by.

The room was nice, clean and comfortable. Although it was air conditioned, we liked just leaving the windows open and enjoying the fresh air.

A couple of nice points: the large banyan tree in the courtyard adds a nice informal touch. The roof is a nice place to sit and relax, allowing water views all around. The dock at the end of the street is also a nice touch.

There were a couple of drawbacks: first is that, unlike what seems to be the practice of every other hotel on the island, Sea Dreams absolutely would not negotiate on price. So you'll end up paying close to $100 American a night.

The only problem we had was that when we checked in, the woman who checked us in (who we believe was the owner) told us that we could stay in our room on our last day until it was time for us to leave for our 1:30 water taxi back to Belize City. On our last day, she wasn't working, and the woman at the desk chased us down at about 10:45 and told us that we needed to be out of our room, because there was going to be a new person coming in. We had a standoff for a while over this -- we told her that we had been told we could stay till 1, and we intended to do that. She said that the woman who promised us that was not the owner (not sure that's true), and that she was the manager, and we had to leave. Eventually she assigned the new guest to another room, and we were able to stay till 1 as originally promised, but it left us feeling very bad on the last day of what had been up till then a pretty relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claresholm, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We loved the Sea Dreams.... fantastic, helpful staff, bikes and canoes for guests, clean and comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast every day, and beautiful views from the rooftop. The location near the split is perfect, if its windy on the reef side, its gauranteed to be calm on the west side where the dock is. The sunsets from the dock were breath taking and the snorkling was great, both at the sea dreams dock and out at the reef. The Sea Dreams staff and owners were amazing..... both friendly and beyond helpful.... we would like to thank Anna again for all her help! The Sea Dreams is one of the best places we stayed during our 6 week Belize trip!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandmalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We were very pleased with Sea Dreams Hotel. The staff arranged our fight from Belize City to Caye Caulker and had a taxi (a golf cart!) waiting for us at the airport. They also arranged a fishing guide for us. The owner likes to fish and gave my husband some helpful tips.

Our room was clean and had a small fridge and coffee and coffee-maker. It also had a ceiling fan and the a/c worked great. Breakfast was provided every morning--fresh fruit, juice and coffee and usually a "portable" egg/cheese/bacon/ham thing (wrapped in tortilla, or similar wrapper). I think they always had a meatless version and often had yummy cinnamon rolls. They have tables on the roof where we could eat and see the ocean.

Sea Dreams is very close to the only real beach and a bar, which played music most of the day and into the evening. We go to bed early and never heard any noise from the bar in our room. There are no beach chairs on the beach--we brought our own and were very glad. Sea Dreams does have chairs by their dock.

The staff recommended less-expensive places to eat that were off the main drag. Syd's had great fried chicken for about $4.50 US and the take-out Chinese place was also good and cheap.

We had a wonderful vacation and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eggewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dreams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dreams Hotel

Property: Sea Dreams Hotel
Address: Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dreams Hotel is a family-run boutique hotel on the quaint island of Caye Caulker. We are located at the north end of the village which affords a three-sided view of the Caribbean Sea. Guests quickly become part of the Sea Dreams family: eating breakfasts with Iris on our thatch-covered rooftop, picking up fishing tips from Haywood on our dock, planning excursions with Anna, Stephanie or Kelly learning about island education with Heidi, enjoying impeccable housekeeping services from Maria Elena & Melanie, or enjoying a tropical drink with Celia at our Banyan Tree Bar. Our dock, located on the leeward edge of the split, is the entry into a unique slice of paradise: perfectly clear and calm, chest-deep, turquoise water with a white sandy bottom. Every evening, guests watch the sun melt into these waters and cast pastel shades across the skies. When guests are not diving, snorkeling, fishing, kite boarding, or touring Mayan ruins, they relax at the hotel with a drink at the bar, a massage at the spa, a book in a hammock, or a canoe ride to feed the local Tarpon. Accommodations range from intimate courtyard rooms to one-, two-, and three-bedroom apartments, cabana, and home. Amenities include free bicycles, canoe, hot breakfast, WIFI, AC, cable TV, bottled water and snorkeling gear. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing