We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Fried Chicken” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Syd's

Syd's
Ranked #29 of 92 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Fried Chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This little place has a vert friendly wait staff. We went for the fried cheicken and my wife and I were very pleased with it. Nice outside seating a little of the beaten path.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    122
    41
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The food was awesome. I had fried chicken, fries and coleslaw with a beer. Tasty and cheap $11.50 BZ. A definite must do

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Syd's is a MUST on Caye Caulker!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Syd's has some of the most excellent comfort food on the planet. We went to Syd's every day we were on Caye Caulker. We enjoyed giant portions for only about 5 USD each. The restaurant is unassuming, but clean; the food excellent, and the staff friendly. I would most certainly return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarleeKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food and value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Tired of paying extortionate prices for mediocre food, we asked a local who recommended Syd's.
We got there around 5pm only to find it closed (it was low season), luckily for us by 6pm the doors were open wide.
Super friendly staff, really fast service and the best ever fried chicken!
All the ravings about the chicken are spot on! Both of us ate very well for far less than what we paid for a skinny pizza at Caulker Pizza.
Visit Syd's on your first day and you may never go elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YourEscapeBluePrint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not impressed, not disappointed either”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The food was good, but they did not have several of the menu items. That may have been due to the fact it is slow season and not many people on the island. The chicken was ok but not sure that it lived up to all the hype.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie0459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Syd's also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Syd's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing