We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as restaurants in Paris and Las Vegas”

Habanero's Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 92 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Central American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Liberty Hill, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As good as restaurants in Paris and Las Vegas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Seriously. Presentation, service, quality and variety of food. We have eaten in the 4-5 star restaurants of Vegas (Pamplemousse, for example), Kansas City (Pierponts) and Paris ( too many to count), and Habeneros is in the same league.

Joe remembered us after eating there only one night. We were in a quiet mood and Joe noticed and made sure it wasn't because of his restaurant. Who else does that?

Also, he wouldn't serve us the crème brulee one night- it wasn't up to his standards. How refreshing to find someone with that kind of integrity and honesty.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    248
    99
    53
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
“Great restaurant for people with or without food allergies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

After reading the positive reviews, my husband and I headed for Habaneros for our first night dinner on the island and were very pleased. I have many, many food allergies and was nervous about traveling but the reception I experienced from the wait staff and the owner put me at ease. While other places react with annoyance about my food allergies, the owner and chef took the task of making me a meal as a challenge. It was obvious that the owner is very knowledgable and passionate about food. We ate there two out of the four nights we were on the island. We would have eaten there every night but we forgot to make a reservation for Christmas Eve and the restaurant was closed on Christmas Day. I had the local fresh snapper both nights while my husband had the coconut encrusted snapper and we both really enjoyed the meals. All the dinners had high quality ingredients and amazing presentation. Because of my food allergies I didn't have any desserts but my husband really really loved the banana foster. The outside patio is very charming and there are flaps that can fold down when it rains so you can stay dry. We tried five other restaurants during our stay and Habaneros was by far the best whether you have food allergies or not.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoDiana36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food for a splurge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Ate here on New Years Eve - the food was excellent and creative. It was a pricier meal than most, but the service was good and the food options were tremendous. Thanks!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank EJDub57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We really enjoyed Habanero's. The only place we went twice during our stay on Caye Caulker. The one thing is the ceviche wasn't what we were necessarily expecting. Still good, just not the norm so pay attention to that. We LOVED the lobster stuffed snapper!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holy SMOKES! Habanero's is delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Hand's down, the best food on the island. Darren and his awesome crew prepare food that's clearly informed by the Pacific Rim and the Caribbean traditions, and they do it with wonderful ingredients and a whole lot of love.

MAKE RESERVATIONS! As laid back as the island is, Habanero's is always busy and if you want to experience it, you have to book ahead. It's the only place on the island we had to make reservations and it was worth it.

Our large party found the entrees to be huge and we all agreed we could have shared one entree between two people. Order appetizers and dessert, too, you won't regret it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank justsaygeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habanero's Restaurant also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Habanero's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing