We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Owner and Crappy service not worth the cheap price”

Wish Willy - Bar & Grill
Ranked #19 of 93 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Barbecue, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
USA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude Owner and Crappy service not worth the cheap price”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I got lured in to Wish Willy's cause the price for lobster was unbeatable, around 25 BZ each.

However, I knew that the moment I stepped in I was going to get what I paid for. The owner and master chef has no customer service and really made no point of hiding his displeasure for his workers, frequently yelling across the table and barking out orders, severely distrupting our dinner conversation.

After giving him a solid 10% tip, given the service he gave us, he balked again on how "cheap" we were. I could not believe that the chef, had the GUTS to ask us for more tip. When I refused to pay more, he continued to argue and became enraged. I was literally scared for my safety and left.

Please do yourself the favor and don't support this type of service by tipping. Tipping should only be provided when GOOD service is given. Do not encourage a system in which the workers expect a good tip from the tourists, or else service island wide will drop.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aznboy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    129
    66
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved it here”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We loved the food and atmosphere here! Great food and great prices. We ate there on our last night and wish we would have gone sooner. We went back the next day for breakfast and that was great too!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shannamll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Be Patient, Worth the wait”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Wish Willy's appears to be in the yard of the owner, Maurice's, house. At first glance, we were skeptical but decided to give it a try and were glad we did.Maurice is a very nice and extremely laid back guy. First time we went, he was stretched out in his hammock and taking orders from there. My husband had the whole snapper and said it was the best fish he ever had. I had the jerk chicken and it was amazing. We went back for our last night. We both had the surf and turf, which was supposed to lobster, shrimp and filet mignon. I guess they were out of filet because we got a pork chop instead, but it was excellent. The shrimp and the lobster also great.

The title of this post is in reference to wait to get a table and to get your food. If you get there around 6:30 you can easily secure a table, but any later you'll need to wait. Also, each time we were there they asked us for our orders a couple of times and were also slow at drink refills. However, after spending just a couple hours in Caye Caulker you will realize this is pretty normal and you need to relax and go with the flow.

Definitely check out Wish Willy's. Our favorite dining spot of the trip. We will be back!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank trvlr2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food was good and that was the only good.......”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We arrived there when it had just started raining. There were two of us. Willy came out and we told him we wanted fish. The sign on the main drag said any meal $9 US including all the drinks you wanted. We ordered and he went to the kitchen to prepare our meal. A group of 6 showed up and we became pretty much non-existent. We got our food and it was barracuda sauted in teriyaki and ginger with vegetables. The meal was really good but Willy disappeared and brought the group of six cubre libras and never acknowledged us again. He didn't even bother to come back to our table, either to ask how the food was, did we want something to drink or to collect our money for the meal - INVISIBLE WE WERE! We finished and he was standing out at the street on his cell phone and we walked by and handed him $9 each. He couldn't be bothered to even get off of his phone. RUDE!

Helpful?
Thank moneymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“It's hard to be more laid back”
Reviewed March 2, 2010

This restaurant is like the definition of laid back. The staff will take a quick nap in the hammock, while waiting for the lobster on the grill to get cooked. They market themselves as quite cheap, but with no written menu or prices, the total bill will end up to similar prices as in the other places. This is definitely worth a visit, just for the atmosphere, but the food is not extraordinary and neither is it dirt cheap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jubjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wish Willy - Bar & Grill also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Wish Willy - Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing