We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Final farewell meal in Caye Caulker - did not disappoint!”

Wish Willy - Bar & Grill
Ranked #19 of 93 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
162 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Final farewell meal in Caye Caulker - did not disappoint!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had our final dinner in Caye Caulker at Wish Willy's. We've been here for 8 days, kee seeing his sign, keep hearing others talk about it and couldn't leave w/o trying his place. We were not disappointed.

Everything on the menu was $7.50 US dollars. Meat, veggies and rice were included w/ all meals. Large portions and we stayed long enough that free drinks appeared on multiple occasions compliments of Willy himself.

Fun atmosphere in his front yard w/ tables, lights, candles and even his 3 dogs after dinner was served. Perhaps our favorite meal all week!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    130
    67
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must-do experience on caye caulker”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The caye caulker slogan of "go slow" is epitomised at wish willy's. Can't get anymore chilled out in the backyard with food on barbecue, maurice wandering around with a beer in his hand talking to everyone. Even got free cervasa somehow. Great food! Great atmosphere!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
434 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Simple, like a backyard BBQ”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

As a matter of fact, is it a backyard BBQ. Portions small, drinks homemade and from a plastic pitcher, and sporadic mismatched ambiance, but worth the $10USD for a standard meal with free well drinks. Fun, young and reminds me of a backpackers version of a restaurant. Willy and his help are unique, funky and Avante Guard! Walk by after 6:30, you might like what you see. Plan on sharing a table with strangers and making new friends. Kind of like a Youth Hostel out for dinner. Enjoy! And get the Jerk Chicken!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelpapi153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Maurice and hs crew are fantastic, they make u feel like home. The food is fresh, service is great. Is all unbelievable. Well done guys.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank zemalopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We did not eat here, because it began raining the evening we were to join friends at this tucked away restaurant under the palm trees. However we heard that they have the BEST ribs on the island!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank N W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wish Willy - Bar & Grill also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Wish Willy - Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing