We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay but I expected more”

Wish Willy - Bar & Grill
Ranked #18 of 92 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Barbecue, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Caye Caulker, Belize
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“okay but I expected more”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Maurice is not particularly warm as has been noted by other reviewers. I ordered the blackened fish fillet off the blackboard and he grudgingly agreed to fillet one of the whole fish they had to serve it to me. When the fish arrived it was not blackened at all but was covered in a delicious sauce. The portion was really small unfortunately and I had to stop for a snack on the walk home. Didn't live up to my expectations although the food was good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    127
    66
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Story, Wyoming
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wish Willy”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

They were never there. One time when we were able to stop there was no beer and no rum! I've heard the food is good - just didn't get to expereince it

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank PattyHoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ainsworth, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Wish Willy is a unique character! His food is delicious. Very rustic atmosphere but definitely an experience you should not miss.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank mdschrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food but doesn't meet the hype”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Atmosphere: Wish Willy's is basically just a bunch of outdoor tables in a backyard. It is a very casual setting. When we walked up, there was only one other couple there and they were staying at the guest house. It was only about 7pm, but we basically invited ourselves in and Willy finally came out to ask us what we wanted to eat. He was out of shrimp and a few other things...it was really surprising since we thought this was one of the higher rated places on the island.

Food: The food was very good - grilled steak, lobster tails, and grilled veggies, although it was just as good as other food we had on the island and seemed like something we could make on our own grill. I had the rum punch and it was DELICIOUS!

Price: The price was higher than we expected (we had set our expectations before going that it was the cheapest seafood on the island, several other couples told us before we went that the paid about $$6USD for a meal), we ended up paying $15 USD per meal for the seafood combo (meal came with 2 lobster tails, a piece of steak and some grilled veggies).

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank javakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“$18 BZD for Grilled Lobster! Oh Yes!”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We heard about Wish Willy’s before we arrived and it just happened it was right behind CayeReef where we were staying. We tried it the first night we were on the island and it was very good. We love the feel of the restaurant – very laid back, dirt floors, picnic tables, music playing, and everyone having a great time. I am allergic to coconut so I did appreciate that Maurice made a special dish for us and brought the entire pan out to our table for us to enjoy. It was grilled lobster in a red sauce, tossed with pasta.

Maurice runs his restaurant the way he wants to and I can certainly see how some people may not appreciate his candid personality. He may be “matter-of-fact,” but we found him to be a very nice guy and he definitely knows how to cook!

After dinner we struck up a conversation with Maurice and learned that he is very familiar with our hometown in Wisconsin. It was fun to hear about his stories of Madison and Door County when he was younger and lived just north of Chicago for a period of time.

$18 BZD ($9 USD) for grilled lobster --- you cannot beat it!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BnRadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wish Willy - Bar & Grill also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Wish Willy - Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing