We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The attitude of the staff is appalling in such a friendly town”
Review of China Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
China Town Hotel
Ranked #31 of 33 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2010

First the good stuff - the hotel is clean, modern and good value with nice grounds and a thoughtful touch was providing not only soap but also shampoo and a disposable razor (however when the soap ran out it wasn't replaced). Someone else commented on dirty marks on the sheet and on the first day ours looked like someone had slept in it covered in oil and it hadn't washed off properly, but I think it was actually clean, just stained.

HOWEVER, the worst thing was the attitude of the staff - they barely looked at you when speaking, the attitude seemed to be that we were out to cheat them. We had to pay in advance and when we extended our stay by one night (because we couldn't be bothered having to repack and move) they hounded us every time they saw us until we paid for the last night. There were signs stating what you had to pay if you broke things - including the aquarium in the foyer (US$5000). One staff member was walking ahead of me and went through a door and let it slam in my face!! The girl who cleaned our room at least smiled and was pleasant. When I went and relaxed in the hammock in the garden the staff kept staring, and they also own the supermarket next door and when we went there they followed us around and stood and watched us but didn't say anything even though it was obvious we were looking for something. The vibe on the island is so friendly that this attitude really stood out and was really unpleasant - we decided to cope with it by laughing about it but it was a shame. I have to say, the owners and staff of this hotel are a different ethnicity to the island people.

The other negatives were the very hard mattresses that another person has commented on, the fact that the water took about five minutes to heat up (and it stopped all together one time, my partner went to ask them to fix it and a young man came and stared at me soapy and wrapped in a towel, didn't say anything and disappeared but must have fixed it because it came on again - it would have been nice if they'd told us). The lighting in the room was also very poor.

There is so much accommodation here that there is no need to settle for lousy service - find somewhere else with more character and lovely people and you'll be much better off.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 221 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2009

Quite adequate hotel. Large rooms with cable TV and shower, but the beds are quite uncomfortable, and the hotel was surrounded by building work while we were there, so it was a bit noisy from 7am onwards. But the staff were helpful and is was safe and clean. Not a bad choice if visiting Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mibo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Stayed here from the 1st of February through the 5th, traveling alone. The hallways and floors of the hotel were spotless, and everything in the rooms was very clean (with the exception of some black marks on the otherwise white linens). The rate was $40USD/night for an air conditioned room with a television. Basically, the place was adequate. However, though I knew they had a decent number of people in the hotel, the place constantly felt empty. They had an amazing roof deck and a charcoal grill that nobody used. If you're traveling with a group or as a couple, the place would be great, but if you're traveling alone, stick with the hostels. Caye Caulker's night life was totally dead while I was there except for the hostel yards.

Also, the mattresses were very thin and very firm, so if you need a soft one, look elsewhere. I heard mixed reviews about the restaurant downstairs, but never ate there.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timssopomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Mar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank 660btiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dottbaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninahoumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
186 reviews
0 mi away
Go Slow Caye Caulker
Go Slow Caye Caulker
#21 of 36 in Caye Caulker
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#18 of 36 in Caye Caulker
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Town Hotel

Address: Estrella Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $73 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — China Town Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to China Town Hotel, located on one of Belize's most peaceful island, Caye Caulker. Our hotel offers a quality of service that will appeal to all sectors of the guests. From the moment you step into our reception area, you will be greeted by our courteous and friendly staff members that will offer you all the service that you will need to make you feel right. China Town Hotel is a very short walking distance from one of the main entry of the island. The water taxi terminal. It's also a block away from the captivating waters of the Caribbean Sea. Many of the main business are only minutes away from our location such as the local bank with ATM, Pharmacy, BTL, Caye Caulker Airport and golf cart rentals. We are also one of the few hotels that have their own restaurant and supermarket and bar. Perhaps, it's the simple pleasures that will delight you the most, if you can take advantage of the roof top that's fully equipped with relaxing lounge chairs. Just lay back and soak up some of that Belizean Sun Shine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your China Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing