We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is off the main drag, but it was a great place to stay. It was clean and friendly. The A/C worked great. The room we had was with a balcony and i must say watching the sunset was awesome would definitely go back...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UConnRescue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    107
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
28
104
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The picture of this hotel that I saw on the Internet made it look pleasant but in person it is a drab, boxy, concrete bunker-like building, different from the many brightly colored light houses that dot this wonderful tropical island. It is located on a corner that is neither pretty or charming, several blocks from the water with no water views that I could see. Though the hotel is larger than most here the only staff I laid eyes on was a clerk who wordlessly checked us in and calmly watched us drag our bags up the stairs. The hallway to the room was dark and the room had an institutional feel. We met another couple who were as disappointed as we were. The guy told me that in retrospect he realizes that he chose the hotel for a silly reason - because it popped up so often on hotel search engines. I realized I had made the same mistake. Somehow I thought that indicated it was a good hotel. I would recommendation to other travelers that they search off the beat and track on the Internet or spend some time looking at guide books before you book a hotel because it keeps popping up on searches. Most of the accommodations in Caye Caulker are small places that won't appear on the major hotel search engines. When we decided to switch hotels, we found there was lots of room. We found a great place at about the same price but with charm, local character and lots of friendly local staff and we plan to come back in July.

Room Tip: We did not like our room and the clerk told us there were none that were better in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronaldfairbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed in March, 2013 for 5 nights. Corner room on 3rd floor; great A/C, quiet, and very clean room. Friendly front desk staff and nice bathroom with great shower. No amenities in hotel but everything's a short walk. Tip: rent a bike to get around the island!

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are great, otherwise get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a perfectly clean hotel with the basics - even terrace, safe, wife. But it is quite a dismal place. Like the kind of rooming house/hotel that the hero of a detective story checks into when he is down and out. A staff of one, not the slightest help with anything. And a concrete industrial size little building slap in the middle of paradise. All of Caye Caulker is very unglamorous but this place manages it with zero charm. The people who rated it higher must have just left the Barrier Reef bar (a wonderful water side bar with life music) and been quite mellow because there is no way this place merits more than two stars. But the Caye itself is so magical perhaps they gave it credit for simply being there. Also as far as you can get from this water in a town about 5 blocks wide.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leoszilard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for a week in March 2013 just before Easter. I wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly suprised! The rooms were spacious and clean, nice bathrooms with good water pressure and hot water. Air conditioners were quiet and each room has a ceiling fan as well for extra comfort. The beds were comfotable, rooms neat and clean. Room safes are a plus! Rooftop terrace was a nice touch for an overview of the Island. The staff was the best part. Friendly and helpful always looking to make you comfortable. As for as better hotels on the Island, I did not see many others that had much more to offer for the value of this hotel and as for rpoximity to the beach dont be fooled. There is only 1 main beach on the Island and since it is such a small Island it really doesn;t matter how close you are. So dont pay more thinking you are getting a better location. Wonderful stay and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor are best... the first floor can get a little nosiy until the traffic s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancineI70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nice size room, clean, very good shower with plenty hot water. Staff very friendly. Quiet AC and ceiling fan worked fine, big safe in the room. Nice rooftop terrace. Complenentary coffee in the lobby was a nice touch. Excellent wifi, we were on the third floor with a balcony which was nice. Great location in the center. Nothing bad to say about this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on Exodus's La Ruta Maya tour. The hotel was good with reasonably sized rooms and good bathroom and shower but our room was on the ground floor which meant it was a bit noisy as people walked past outside.

Would have liked to have stayed somewhere with a pool and we didn't realise there was no real beach on the island - seemed a shame to be in the middle of the ocean and not able to swim!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErkiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
12.0 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel

Property: Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Address: Avenida Langosta & Calle al Sol | P.O. Box 3, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Caye Caulker. All our rooms are fully air-conditioned, equipped with cable TV, mini fridge and hot and cold shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing