We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food on the island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Paradise Restaurant

Tropical Paradise Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 92 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Food was exceptional. We had the Ceviche and it is the best on the island. The chicken burrito was great and big! Drinks were so good we sampled a lot. Try the Blue Margarita, that was our fave.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    73
    24
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Excellent cuisine and service was very good. Offers Belizian as well as other varieties of cuisine. Everything is fresh and prepared well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OK food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went to lunch at Tropical Paradise at the recommendation of our snorkeling guide. It was a bit confusing because we arrived right before a group who had been on a lunch-included tour, so they thought we were with them. I ordered the fish burrito and my husband got the Belizean stew. Both were hot and fresh, but very bland/underseasoned. The "stew" is not really soup-style - I guess that means the meat was stewed, but not juicy. In terms of pricing, the burrito was about $5 USD and the stew about $6 USD.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mamahahn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No flavor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We were just in Caye Caulker for the afternoon and grabbed lunch here. The place has a cool open-air setup. The food was not that great. I had the seafood burrito and my girlfriend had the fish sandwich. Neither seemed seasoned and there were some bones in my burrito. When we asked questions about the menu, the waiter wasn't very helpful. We added hot sauce to the meal and that helped a little.

Helpful?
Thank Winedinepartytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice view, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Tropical Paradise Restaurant is oceanfront. We enjoyed barracuda and a seafood combo, both good. Their food is a little more basic than some other restaurants on the island, so if you like things more plain, this might be just the place for you. Friendly service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank luv2r0am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Paradise Restaurant also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Tropical Paradise Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing