We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place ... the Only place I'd stay on Caye Caulker”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leeside Rooms, Leeside Del Sol
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place ... the Only place I'd stay on Caye Caulker”
Reviewed January 30, 2010

If you are going to Caye Caulker and you want to be close to everything but just enough out of the way so you have plenty of peace and quiet, this is your place.

Really just exactly what I was hoping for. My fiance and I were celebrating our engagement and we (by default) went there at the "busiest time of the year" (new years) and we had all the tranquility we wanted. It was great.

The hotel has free use of the kayaks and bikes (perfect cause they cost a pretty penny other places and they are a must for exploring the island). There is only one other room, and we only saw our neighbors 1 or 2 times the 5 days we were there.

Tom was a blast too, and Amanda and Kim were helpful as well. To be honest, I went into the situation a little shaky and left with a happy smile on my face.

Note: I gave the "Rooms" a 3 simply because there are only two rooms, which is good thing if you want your privacy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trubodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Leeside Rooms has clean, comfortable rooms, coffee maker, fridge, microwave and decently hot showers. However, for the price on Caye Caulker it is simply not worth it. There are cheaper places available in better locations. It's likely Leeside relied on its "Top Pick" review in Lonely Planet in determining their prices. Shop around a bit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slick82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We have never been so disappointed with a place on our travels. Upon entering the room, our initial thought was that a body had been buried there - the smell was overpowering. The facilities are fine, but certainly not as appealing as the photos would indicate. In addition, it is on the wrong side of the island - completely isolated, fundamentally smelly from sewrage and laden with mosquitos. To add insult to injury, we had already had to pay for the room in full and received no acknowledgement, let alone good customer service from the realtor to recognize the dump she was letting. We were so sad at the sorry state we opted to rent another room, despite having to just eat the cost of awful, awful Leeside Rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ModernMillie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asamara, Owner at Leeside Rooms, Leeside Del Sol, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. Many people enjoy our location because we are on the quieter, more peaceful side of the island. The smell was due to well water, which was the only water available on the island at that time. Water is now provided by Belize Water Services, which started providing water to the village last year. The issues you mentioned regarding customer service have since been resolved as we have been under new management for over a year and a half.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We loved our stay at the Leeside Rooms. The suite was large, clean, and stylish, with lots of storage space and convenient refrigerator, microwave, and free wireless network. The location is great, quieter than the places on Front St, but only a few minutes walk from everything. There are cheaper places to stay on Caye Caulker, but this is one step up and worth the extra cost. The best part is enjoying the sunset on the private dock with a cold bottle of Belikin.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jxd215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We stayed in three locations throughout our trip in Belize. Leeside rooms, hands down, was the best location. We could of spent our entire vacation there! The rooms are spotless, huge, quiet, comfortable, tastefully designed, have excellent air conditioning and a wonderful bathroom! We had free use of bicycles and kayaks to explore the town with. Amanda and Tom were both excellent to work with and we look forward to coming back! The only think we think should change is an addition of a hammock, but other than that, the Leeside Rooms are flawless.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Excellent stay. Secluded, yet a 2 minute walk from everything. Excellent views and perfect privacy.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeside Rooms, Leeside Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeside Rooms, Leeside Del Sol

Property: Leeside Rooms, Leeside Del Sol
Address: Alux Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leeside Rooms in brief: A unique hotel located in a tranquil Caribbean setting...Where guests enjoy cleanliness, comfort, beautiful sunsets and an abundance of exotic marine life just outside their door. Leeside Rooms...More details: A fine guest house located on the laid back island of Caye Caulker, off the coast of Belize and close to the world's second largest living barrier reef. Leeside Rooms include two waterfront efficiency units and a three bedroom two-level house located just north of the water taxi pier on the quiet lee side of the village - right next door to Belize Diving Services. From Caye Caulker it is a 40 minute water taxi ride to the mainland of Belize where guests can enjoy zip-lining, cave tubing, explore Mayan ruins, eco-tour, deep sea fish, snorkel, dive, visit the zoo - or just read a book and relax. :) We are encouraging a small marine sanctuary which is emerging right at the Leeside dock area. Without even getting in the water you can enjoy observing black spiny urchins, sea horses, the odd-looking batfish, sting rays, juvenile barricuda, red snapper, crabs, infant conch, herons, egrets, and a host of other marine life in their natural habitat. Enjoy beautiful sunsets, snorkeling, sunning on the dock, or just relax and read a book on on the shady part of the beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing