We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved staying at Mara's Place!”
Review of Mara's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mara's Place
Ranked #13 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Mara's Place is located near the Split, in the perfect location! My boyfriend and I stayed in room #2, which I highly recommend. It has amazing views of the ocean. The room was larger than we expected, and was cleaned every day by the staff. The WI-Fi didn't work in the room, but did on our private porch with a hammock. We would definitely stay at Mara's Place when visiting Caye Caulker.

Room Tip: Room #2 has the best ocean views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Mara's Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 121 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Mara's Place was very affordable, and couldn't have been located in a better spot. It is right by the cut in the island, the popular swimming spot. It is also surprisingly calm and quiet. The facilities worked great (shower/bathroom and fan). It had it a private dock area with lounge chairs and hammocks. All in all a steal for the price.

Room Tip: This place isn't a luxury 5 star hotel, it is however a great place to stay for cheap and it has...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonneff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

During peak season between Christmas and New Years, I visited a friend who was staying here and I was impressed. Generally, I find Caye Calker relatively expensive for Central America, but affordable for the Caribbean and the prices at Mara's reflect this. The private dock was comfortable and the staff very friendly. The tv in the room was a surprise too. The rooms are small, but the price was good. Free wifi and kitchen facilities were good. Two minutes from the split and very close to restaurants. Definitely an affordable option, but books up quickly in high season for all of these reasons.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed at Mara's for three days. I stayed at anchorage resort for the first night in Caye caulker but there are no good restaurants on that side of the island. I shopped around a little bit, this was the most affordable place in caye caulker at a perfect location .Its close to the bars, restaurants and other shops. Marcella is a sweetheart. She is very kind, considerate and hard working person. She keeps the place clean. Everything was flawless. The private dock was a bonus.
Caye Caulker is a must see . The island is just about 5 miles . You don't get sandy beaches, but the island itself is worth checking. The culture, people and the pace of life is refreshing!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank rubie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We arrived in the off season with no accommodations booked, I know Mara's Place is the best for the price because my partner and I went "hotel shopping." We asked to view nearly 15 separate rooms and checked rates on even a dozen more local hotels before coming across Mara's just at the end of the beach. We almost dident go in because it looked so nice compaired to everything else, we thought it would be too expencive. So thankful we checked price! Off season was $25US/night and I'm sure she raises it in the busy season, she should! The hostels around run $20 and are one tenth as safe and secluded as Maras. It is budget hotel, but I think any type of backpacker/tourist would feel comfortable because of the cleanliness and smiles as you enter the front courtyard/gate. Literally on the tip of the island, best view In town, a private dock with a bar and hammocks to boot! Each room has nice CLEAN beds, a good size bath, hot and cold water, and fans keep you cool. If that's not enough, the best swimming hole on the island, The split... Along with Lazy Lizard bar and the best view of the Caribbean sunset are yards from the front steps and a market is a short walk the other direction. If you booked online you would not be disappointed!!! Once you arrive, check for yourself, highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegPruett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The place as a kitchen clean room changing towels and sheet on time
it has a great location right in front of the beach ( the only one you can swim)
the price relativly to other places is not too expensive

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsn1981iel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for about 5 nights whilst travelling on my own in Belize and Mexico - I found it absolutely fine and enjoyed my stay here. My room was up the top so I had a view of the sea from the door way and it felt more private than those lower down. It's in a good location near the Spit so that was very handy. The room was basic and the fan was very rusty and looked a bit dodgy, but it worked fine and to be honest you are not there to hang out in the room. The beds are perfectly comfortable and they clean and change the towels frequently which is great. I found the staff to be friendly, approachable and efficient and the other people there were families and couples who were all very pleasant - it was a friendly atmosphere with kids playing. The little veranda on the water is also handy for some private sunbathing away from the spit. If you're on a budget and need a decent room in a good location this is a good spot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RozzleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara's Place

Address: 27 Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $53 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mara's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara`s Place Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing