We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best resort for outdoor activities and fun!”
other travelers have booked this property
Playa Del Sol
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Playa Del Sol
Tropic Setting the world's only ray shaped pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Playa Del Sol
Tropic Setting
the world's only ray shaped pool
Free Private Boat and Guide
Walk in shower
Master Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Double Sink
Bone fish from our shore
Start a day on your very private pier
Have fun at our tiki bar
North, moonrise, sunrise and reef view
Kids love pier fishing
Tropical Setting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nancy H
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best resort for outdoor activities and fun!”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This resort is amazing - everything you want to do for your daily activities is here! A boat with a captain, snorkeling and fishing guides that know the history of the island. The owner will help you plan your activities and will take care of all the arrangements all you do is show up. Our golf cart trip into San Pedro will always be a memory. The restaurant and bar serves the best authentic cuisine and drinks. Also pick up and drop off to the boat or airport is available. The staff are always on time and dependable. This was far my favorite vacation and planning my next trip for next year. The owners are very special people. Highly recommended!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettable memories, wonderful staff and personal attention”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and 3 boys (ages 8, 12 and 14) just came back from 5 days at Playa del Sol. What an adventure! Upon getting picked up by boat from San Pedro, it was about a 20-25 ride up the scenic coastline of Ambergris Caye to Playa del Sol. They had drinks ready for us at the El Norte bar as we arrived and we had a great little meal as we chatted with Iz and the rest of the staff. The house was great with ice-cold AC in the upstairs bedrooms for pure comfort (BTW, Playa del Sol has a backup generator, so even with frequent power outages, we always had power and AC).

The first morning we were there, we sat down with Iz and made an overall plan for our time there based on the weather forecast, proximity of different points of interest and variety. We spent 3 full days on the boat with our awesome captain/guide Adam. He really is a special treat... easy going, great with kids, helpful, knowledgeable and totally responsive to our needs (super spear fisherman too). We basically mixed in snorkeling and fishing every day... hitting different spots and seeing different things. Also spent half a day at Tranquility Bay and a half day at Caye Caulker.

Not only did we catch a bunch of fish, but Adam would also go spear us some lobster and fish as well. One night the cook at El Norte prepared a wonderful meal from our catch (for a small fee) and we ended up cooking up our catch the other nights.

We also spend a full day utilizing the free golf cart to go into San Pedro. We did some shopping, restaurant/bar hopped and stopped by one of the other resorts for a quick dip in the pool. On the way back, we took a detour to check out "Secret Beach", which is on the western side of the island where a lot of the locals hang out.

Finally, I just want to say that Iz is quite an accommodating and gracious host. He was always helpful, even getting up in the middle of the night to make sure the generators were running and hand spraying bug spray around the grounds to help keep the mosquitos and sand flies away.

All in all, it was a week of great memories and great times with the folks at Playa del Sol.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having personal boat/captain; golf cart
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maps60057
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing most memorable trip! ”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
6
people found this review helpful

This place..... Definitely one, of if not the most memorable trips we've ever had. I will not repeat the other reviews about the fabulous crew picking us up and taking us for groceries upon arrival. It was all there.
The house is gorgeous and has everything you could possibly need. The laid back vibe of the beach, breeze, dock (with hammocks) and tiki bar are so relaxing and private. We felt completely VIP the entire trip. Iz and Shea go out of their way to make sure that anything you need, they will make it happen. We spent our days either fishing, snorkeling (yes with sharks) and even took a memorable trip to caye calker during lobster fest. We spent our evenings at the tiki bar visiting with Iz and Shea, playing dice, dominos, and darts with the kiddos. Adam, the boat captain, took us to every amazing snorkeling and fishing spot, even baiting our lines, and spear fishing lobster for dinner. He even kept my son and his friend busy fishing off the dock while we relaxed. We have been to many places around the world and not one has compared to the "everything" about this trip. I would describe best as "barefoot elegant." It's an amazing remote paradise with everything you need or want. We left with sad goodbyes, huge hugs, and promises to return very soon. We are already planning our return trip this winter and have only been home a week.
Thank you Iz and Shea for sharing your beautiful home and paradise with us. We will see you guys soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
go2jane
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Captain and Boat Big Plus at Playa del Sol”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Our family of 4 just returned from our late May vacation. Iz, the owner, greeted as we arrived at the resort. He met with us on the first morning and helped plan our daily excursions for the week. Each morning and evening he would touch base with us.

Adam, the boat captain, made our experience memorable. He was the first one to greet us at the airport, took us to a local restaurant for dinner, and allowed us to stop at the grocery before our beautiful boat ride to Playa del Sol. During the day, he took us to great snorkeling sites. I really liked the fact that the snorkeling gear and boat was included in the rental. He took us for full days and made sure everyone was having a great time. The beach is small and the water is murky off the dock. That is why the use of the boat and Adam's expertise is important.

At the time of our vacation, the resort was “in between” cooks and we relied on the food we purchased at the grocery. We ate one night at El Norte and the food was great. A great lunch place is the resort furthest north. The food there was fantastic and the beach was great.

The rental unit was well equipped. The spiral staircase steps are steep. The only air-conditioned rooms available are the two upstairs bedrooms. It was too hot and humid to sleep comfortably without the air conditioning. Keep this in mind is you are planning on having someone sleep downstairs. Realities of island life: no flushing toilet paper and the power went out at night several times.

I had a freak accident (3 broken bones in foot) on the 3rd day of our 7-night vacation and we had to leave 3 nights early. I booked directly to save the booking fees, however I would recommend paying the fees. Because I booked directly, we did not have travel insurance and had to absorb the cost of early departure.

I would skip the golf cart trip to Secret Beach. It was an interesting ride and the water the nice. However, the trash on the beach did not leave a great impression.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Th access to the boat and captain was a big plus.
Liked least: The lack of beach and murky water off the dock.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily B
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Invaluable & Private Dream-Like Experience”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
4
people found this review helpful

It’s hard to believe just a week ago we were swimming with sharks, spear fishing, and lounging in hammocks while drinking from coconuts in Belize. The memory is already feeling dreamlike because it was just that surreal of an experience.

Iz and Shea were the most gracious of hosts we’ve ever encountered on airbnb, homeaway, vrbo, etc. Iz was always incredibly responsive via email before we arrived, and provided us with tips about packing, flights to Ambergris Caye, and generally what we should expect. He picked us up from the airport and took us grocery shopping in his golf cart before hopping in his boat with Captain Adam to take us to his property. The house is about a 10-15 minute boat ride from San Pedro. We were greeted by his lovely cook, Kenya, and complimentary rum punch at his idyllic beachside tiki bar “El Norte”.

Iz popped by regularly for brief but informative “meetings” where he drew maps and made excellent recommendations for activities and restaurants that were authentic Belize experiences—our favorites were Coral Gardens, Mexico Rocks, Caye Caulker, and Shark Alley. We appreciated that he worked to make the most of our short visit, and that his recommendations weren’t crawling with tourists. We had the experience of a lifetime and it felt so private and remote.

I’ve never stayed at a place that included a boat captain and cook onsite. The boat and captain are available every other day throughout your stay. Captain Adam is a local who we all enjoyed spending our days with. He has an incredible knowledge of the sea life and became fast friends with my husband who was there primarily to fish. He taught us how to spear fish, guided us on our visit with the sharks, cleaned and grilled the fish we caught, and shared so many stories with us that we’ll never forget. We spent hours snorkeling and saw just about every ocean creature I can think of. On the days you don’t have access to the boat you are able to use the golf cart to take into San Pedro (about 40 minutes) or Secret Beach (about 30 minutes). There are also kayaks and bikes at your disposal.

Because the location is so remote, we could have easily been taken advantage of. Although the cook and meals are an extra charge, and you pay your own gas for the boat, we were shocked at how low our bill was at the end of our 4 day stay. Iz is an honest guy (and quite a character), who is working hard to make sure his guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. The amount of money we saved on things like tours and restaurants is truly unbeatable. You won’t find a deal like this anywhere else.

We joked while we were there that we felt like we were in the witness protection program—we really didn’t see many other people, although we were kept safe by their always friendly “guard dogs” which greeted us with wagging tails every time we pulled into the dock. It was similar to a complete off the grid camping adventure (including some primitive things you should be ready for like the inability to flush toilet paper, low water pressure, and weak wifi signals), but with more amenities than we could ever dream of. We left with t-shirts from Shea, conch shells from the floor of the ocean, and a promise to return again someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unforgettable vacation!”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
5
people found this review helpful

Iz the owner of Playa Del Sol is a World traveler who came from cypress and lived many years in California. We were so impressed by the house that he intelligently designed. He was always available to us if we needed anything. Everything you could possible need on this island was provided. He picked us up directly from the water taxi when we arrived in San Pedro.

Adam the boat captain was one of the most experienced guides we encountered during the entire trip. Very knowledgeable of the ocean. He knows the water inside and out and can take you snorkeling, fishing, hunting for conch and knows all the best places. He is a licensed guide for all the reserves. Adam took us to different locations where we could see many varieties of coral. At the end of our day Adam even filleted all our fish we cought.

Helen is one of the best bartenders on Ambergris Caye and creates delicious drinks. She also cooks amazing Belizean food. She's always available whenever you need that afternoon delight. The El Norte bar on the grounds which means the bar of the north is well equipped and a very enjoyable place to sit and relax.

BOAT:
The Playa Del Sol boat was amazing, very large and spacious and could travel quite fast from place to place. Easily one can get to all the sight seeing locations. We left at around 7:30 or 8am and were the first people on the Hol Chan and Shark Alley Ray reserves which was quite a treat.
Adam was so the best guide, feeding the animals of the reserve so they came right up to our boat as we jumped into the water. Also there is another reserve right next to playe del sol called Mexican rocks with so many fish for the eye to see and if you are lucky you can see sea turtles. We were also able to see beautiful conch everywhere (when in season) that made an amazing cerviche if you are up for the eating challenge.
Along with that, you an go up 4 miles to Tranquility Bay beach to snorkel directly off the shore and eat a delightful dinner at their restaurant.

HOUSE:
I must say, we loved everything about the house. It was perfect, classy, stylish and cozy. All the furniture is hand crafted local hardwoods that Iz had personally designed. The kitchen had one of everything we needed and it was very easy to cook our freshly caught fish each night.

DOCK:
Playa Del Sol built an amazing dock that extends into the beautiful ocean with hammocks to relax with at the end. There's never a bad time to sit and soak up the Caribbean life on this dock, watching the water birds swoop in and out of the water catching fish. At night you can walk down to the end of the dock to watch the tarpon in the water with a stunning array of stars above.

GROUNDS:
On the grounds of Playa Del Sol there are countless things to do. There's a sizable beach front, coconut trees, volleyball court, bikes to explore the island, and kayaks!
In the morning, more then 20 species of birds too! (a great morning activity for the early risers)

Coming to Playa Del Sol was worth every penny spent, we forgot about our stresses of work and got lost in amazing island life. Without hesitation, we would recommend coming here again and again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Boat, coral, house... Everything!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stellka_i...
Evora, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best vacations”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 4 just returned from Ambergris Caye where we spent 10 wonderful days. The villa itself was large enough for our family and had everything we needed. Iz, Shay, Adam and Helen were very nice and always helpful. Helen is a great cook and our dinner was always tasty and promptly prepared. Adam is a great boat captain and our hero fisherman who really made our trip very special.

Some tips:
Even though on Iz's advice we did not bring a lot of clothing with us, we could really do with much less stuff. I think one pair of shorts, long pants, long sleeved t-shirt (bug bite prevention) and couple of regular t-shirts was more than enough. Iz has a washing machine, so everything can be easily washed as often as needed.

When it's not windy, mosquito and sand flies will make your life a hell. Don't forget to take mosquito repellent with you.

Since villa is a fair distance from the town of San Pedro, plan to buy everything that you need on a day of your arrival.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing