We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Balance Restored”
other travelers have booked this property
Playa Del Sol
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Playa Del Sol
Tropic Setting the world's only ray shaped pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Playa Del Sol
Tropic Setting
the world's only ray shaped pool
Free Private Boat and Guide
Walk in shower
Master Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Double Sink
Bone fish from our shore
Start a day on your very private pier
Have fun at our tiki bar
North, moonrise, sunrise and reef view
Kids love pier fishing
Tropical Setting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
641Sabrin...
Certaldo, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Balance Restored”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
6
people found this review helpful

We spent a week at Playa Del Sol with our 10 year old daughter and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We snorkeled, fished, relaxed, and had great food (mostly prepared onsite by Helen). The accommodations were well appointed and comfortable providing all the necessary creature comforts (including a few bonuses--air conditioning and wifi--supported by an advanced, off grid power supply). Iz and Shay are knowledgeable and fun hosts. Our days were optimized by the boat and experienced captain, Adam. We explored neighboring coves and San Pedro; snorkeled the reef with rays, sharks and beautiful fish; fly fished the lagoon and the northern flats; and boated to Caye Caulker. Our evenings were spent relaxing with the host team, rolling dice, and reveling in the splendor of the beach side Tiki bar. The scene is ideal, mixing a remote paradise with access to all one could ask for from an island get away.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda N
Choteau, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Secluded Island Paradise”
Reviewed February 27, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
5
people found this review helpful

This Place is every thing we were hoping for and more! A real local home feeling right down to the kids and dogs. House was clean and new, equipped with everything that we needed. If you don't want to cook, they will do it for you. Go out and explore the reef, bring back the catch of the day and Helen will cook it for you adding local flair. The Bar restaurant isn't fancy, bur it produces some of the best meals,and drinks around and people come from up and down the beach for it. The Boat is a real extra benefit and it comes with your personal guide Adam to take you and do whatever you want.
The reef here is phenomenal and we had unlimited access to it. We also went to Caye Caulker and San Perdo. Caye Caulker is a must to see, a real laid back Island!
We hope to be back to Playa Del Sol Soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The People
Liked least: I had a bout with sand flies
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George D
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Doctor's Owner”
Reviewed February 26, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

After we booked the property the owner, Iz, sent us information on additional services we could purchase, including diving and mainland tours.We arranged to have Iz and the Captain, Adam pick us up at the airport, and that is a great option. Iz stopped at the market so we could purchase supplies, and he pointed out local attractions and introduced us to the Island during the boat ride to the property. It great to have the chance to relax after the long trip, purchase supplies, get introduced to the Island, and ask questions.
The house itself was great. It is a duplex. Our unit was large, clean, and well-maintained. The property has a private beach, dock, a deck by the water with a gazebo for sitting in the shade. Another great feature is that kayaks are provided for guests to use. We have two teenagers and a 5-year-old, and the property provided lots to do for everyone. Our 5-year-old enjoyed playing in the sand on the beach, swimming, and going out in the 2-person Kayak with me.
Adam is a great tour guide guide and fisherman. Spear fishing is fun and safe with him.
Helen, is great coo and bartender. She cooks daily specials. Grilled Shrimp was the best.
Our hosts Shea and Iz were helpful and they made our vacation unforgettable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Playa Del Sol”
Reviewed February 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My small family of three(wife,daughter and I)wanted to have a relaxing vacation.After a lot of research my wife suggested San Pedro Island(Yes it's the Island in Madonna's song)
And we've found this Beautiful place Playa Del Sol to stay which is built by a couple who also live on the property.
Very Private and Relaxing place,right on the beautiful private beach,Palm trees,Tiki Hut Bar,Pier with your own Boat/captain ready to take you anywhere you like...Very Enjoyable.
Even before we arrived Shea was so helpful answering all our questions about the Island and the place.From picking us up and our entire stay both Iz (the husband)and Shea was so Gracious and helpful.
The place was very clean,with a kitchen that had everything you need even if you like to cook.
We were very lucky with the weather and had a great relaxing time.The highlight for my daughter in this paradise was Lion the Dog!
Adam the Captain is very easy going and takes you any direction you would like.You just need to pay for gas/tip.
A Snorkeling day at Mexico Rocks is great and off course the Coral Reef.
Catching our own Lobsters for dinner was an experience I will never forget.
Beautiful afternoons by the Tiki Hut Bar with Helen's Pina Coladas.
Iz is a cool guy and very helpful with things,it just takes a day or two to get his jokes.
We had a Lovely time at Playa Del Sol and my wife is already talking about going back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chum53
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Down time in the Caribbean”
Reviewed January 19, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from Playa Del Sol, found ten miles north of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, Belize. We took a Delta flight to Belize City (BZE) on the mainland, then Tropic Air to San Pedro (SPR). Our host met us at the airport, took us by a grocery store by golf cart to stock up for the trip, then we boarded his boat for the ten mile ride north to his home. We were greeted with complimentary rum punch while our bags were taken to the house.

What Playa Del Sol is: If you would like to unplug, have access to beautiful turquoise water inside the reef and deep blue water outside, do some fishing and snorkeling, and make some great friends, Playa Del Sol is worth a look. Iz, the proprietor, has built a home on a small beach having two bedrooms with the ability to sleep six, a full kitchen, and a bathroom. He and his wife live in the same structure, but their quarters are separate. He has also built a tiki bar that is mainly accessed by boat and beach volleyball court.

What Playa Del Sol isn’t: If you’re interested in a big resort experience, pampered spa environment, a swimming pool, a restaurant, cable or satellite television, or big, pristine beaches, you should look elsewhere.

What works great: The people and the boat. Iz and his wife are gracious hosts who take all of your questions, comments, and concerns seriously. If he can fix it immediately, he will. Boat captain/tour guide Adam and chef/bartender Helen are outstanding. Weather permitting, you will spend half of your days on the 28 foot center console outboard with Adam. He will take you wherever you like if you are ready to pay for the gas. The rest of your time you have access to kayaks, bicycles, and a golf cart while in San Pedro.

With Adam, we visited Hol Chan, Shark and Ray Alley, and Mexico Rock for snorkeling and spear fishing. These are local preserves, and cost $20 BZ ($10 US) per non-resident. Hol Chan and Shark and Ray Alley are right next to one another and come bundled together for that price, while Mexico Rock is separate. Adam taught us some of the history of the local area, different fish and coral, and the art of spear fishing. I am a klutz with a rod and reel, but Adam had me spear fishing in no time and it was a blast.

We swam with and handled nurse sharks, got up close with many rays and sea turtles, saw squid and barracuda, caught our own spiny and spotted lobster (which Helen prepared for us), and brought home several dozen grunts (blue striped, French, and black), and strawberry grouper. We could not eat all of the fish we caught, but we put in a mighty effort.

We cruised down to Caye Caulker for a relaxed lunch and stroll on the laid back streets for some souvenir shopping. We were joined by a few hundred cruise ship passengers who had docked on the mainland and taken water taxis over to Caye Caulker for the experience. They have a large assortment of beach bars, which appears to be the main industry on the Caye. I regret that I don’t remember the name of the place where we ate, because the fish and lobster were great. Truth is though, you probably can’t go wrong with fresh fish and lobster all around.

What needs work: Power. During the day, Playa Del Sol generates electricity by solar power. If the weather has been cloudy, the batteries run low and they depend on gas-powered generator, especially at night. They were having generator issues during our visit and power was out at night, leaving us without fan or air conditioner. Iz described the fix for the generator, so I expect that he’ll have that sorted out when he can get what he needs shipped.

What I would not do again: Biking to the north (we didn’t try south). On our non-boat day, we took bikes and went north on the shore “road” to a resort called Tranquility Bay. They had a beautiful beach and a great little bar and grill on the dock. Getting there and back by bike wasn’t any fun though. The trip is less than four miles, but over soft sand and oftentimes trash that floats in from the ocean nightly. The surface really slowed us down and made the going difficult. Residents and resorts clean their beachfronts daily, but much of the land is unoccupied and goes without, so the trash just builds up.

Overall: Playa Del Sol is trying hard and I hope they succeed. The beachfront is small, but it looks great. The tiki bar is quaint and inviting. Iz and his staff meticulously clean the grounds daily and it stands out. Helen’s cooking is excellent, Adam’s guidance is outstanding, and the experience is relaxing.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate S
Dallas, TX, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You will regret not staying here”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
6
people found this review helpful

This is where you want to stay if you are looking for a private, relaxing (and slow) getaway. After spending a few days on Caye Caulker and after walking around San Pedro, being at Playa del Sol was a dream to be surrounded by such beautiful scenery without all the tourists. The house was big enough to hold our group of 6 gals. The kitchen is equipped with your standard kitchen amenities so we were able to cook breakfast and some lunches but we also looked forward every night to Helen's cooking & company! For those that do cook, there is a guy selling vegetables on a golf cart that comes by every other day in case you don't want to go back to San Pedro for more groceries. Adam, the boat captain, is flexible and knowledgable. He'll take you to some great snorkeling spots, if you don't want to pay to go to Hol Chan. He'll help you fish, untangle your line if you get caught in the reef, and will teach you to spear lobsters, if you want to. We deemed him the shark whisperer. Iz and Shae are great company and are very accessible if you need anything. There are three very loving dogs on property that you just can't help but pet. Lion may join you out on the pier for an afternoon nap. The property is great, the house is clean, but it's the people that really make the place feel special. Can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The People (& dogs)
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa C
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome tropical vacation - beautiful place - lovely hosts!”
Reviewed November 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My family stayed at Playa Del Sol and we had such a great time! We felt completely at home on the property: cooking for ourselves in our accommodations, sharing Helen's amazing cocktails at the bar, playing dice with Iz and Shae, reading in the hammocks hung at the end of the pier, and starting up games of volleyball and washers. Exploring the coral reefs and fishing for our own dinner (catching lobster!) was an awesome experience and we are so grateful for Adam's easy, fun style of tour guiding. He led us to a wide variety of interesting local restaurants in San Pedro and was so informative and flexible with our schedules. Iz and Shae have created a gorgeous guest home with a simple elegance and attention to detail that is really lovely. We can't press enough what wonderful, interesting and fun hosts they were. Staying at Playa Del Sol made for the sweetest end to a terrific family vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people! - Iz and Shea ( owners) and Adam and Helena (boat captain and bar tender/cook
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing