We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay in Playa Del Sol”
other travelers have booked this property
Playa Del Sol
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Playa Del Sol
the world's only ray shaped pool Tropic Setting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Playa Del Sol
the world's only ray shaped pool
Tropic Setting
Free Private Boat and Guide
Walk in shower
Master Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Double Sink
Barracuda, Grouper, Trigger, Snapper
Bone fish from our shore
Spare fishing
Start a day on your very private pier
Have fun at our tiki bar
Kayak to the reef
North, moonrise, sunrise and reef view
Beach Volleyball
Kids love pier fishing
Tropical Setting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark C
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Playa Del Sol”
Reviewed February 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My small family of three(wife,daughter and I)wanted to have a relaxing vacation.After a lot of research my wife suggested San Pedro Island(Yes it's the Island in Madonna's song)
And we've found this Beautiful place Playa Del Sol to stay which is built by a couple who also live on the property.
Very Private and Relaxing place,right on the beautiful private beach,Palm trees,Tiki Hut Bar,Pier with your own Boat/captain ready to take you anywhere you like...Very Enjoyable.
Even before we arrived Shea was so helpful answering all our questions about the Island and the place.From picking us up and our entire stay both Iz (the husband)and Shea was so Gracious and helpful.
The place was very clean,with a kitchen that had everything you need even if you like to cook.
We were very lucky with the weather and had a great relaxing time.The highlight for my daughter in this paradise was Lion the Dog!
Adam the Captain is very easy going and takes you any direction you would like.You just need to pay for gas/tip.
A Snorkeling day at Mexico Rocks is great and off course the Coral Reef.
Catching our own Lobsters for dinner was an experience I will never forget.
Beautiful afternoons by the Tiki Hut Bar with Helen's Pina Coladas.
Iz is a cool guy and very helpful with things,it just takes a day or two to get his jokes.
We had a Lovely time at Playa Del Sol and my wife is already talking about going back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chum53
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Down time in the Caribbean”
Reviewed January 19, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from Playa Del Sol, found ten miles north of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, Belize. We took a Delta flight to Belize City (BZE) on the mainland, then Tropic Air to San Pedro (SPR). Our host met us at the airport, took us by a grocery store by golf cart to stock up for the trip, then we boarded his boat for the ten mile ride north to his home. We were greeted with complimentary rum punch while our bags were taken to the house.

What Playa Del Sol is: If you would like to unplug, have access to beautiful turquoise water inside the reef and deep blue water outside, do some fishing and snorkeling, and make some great friends, Playa Del Sol is worth a look. Iz, the proprietor, has built a home on a small beach having two bedrooms with the ability to sleep six, a full kitchen, and a bathroom. He and his wife live in the same structure, but their quarters are separate. He has also built a tiki bar that is mainly accessed by boat and beach volleyball court.

What Playa Del Sol isn’t: If you’re interested in a big resort experience, pampered spa environment, a swimming pool, a restaurant, cable or satellite television, or big, pristine beaches, you should look elsewhere.

What works great: The people and the boat. Iz and his wife are gracious hosts who take all of your questions, comments, and concerns seriously. If he can fix it immediately, he will. Boat captain/tour guide Adam and chef/bartender Helen are outstanding. Weather permitting, you will spend half of your days on the 28 foot center console outboard with Adam. He will take you wherever you like if you are ready to pay for the gas. The rest of your time you have access to kayaks, bicycles, and a golf cart while in San Pedro.

With Adam, we visited Hol Chan, Shark and Ray Alley, and Mexico Rock for snorkeling and spear fishing. These are local preserves, and cost $20 BZ ($10 US) per non-resident. Hol Chan and Shark and Ray Alley are right next to one another and come bundled together for that price, while Mexico Rock is separate. Adam taught us some of the history of the local area, different fish and coral, and the art of spear fishing. I am a klutz with a rod and reel, but Adam had me spear fishing in no time and it was a blast.

We swam with and handled nurse sharks, got up close with many rays and sea turtles, saw squid and barracuda, caught our own spiny and spotted lobster (which Helen prepared for us), and brought home several dozen grunts (blue striped, French, and black), and strawberry grouper. We could not eat all of the fish we caught, but we put in a mighty effort.

We cruised down to Caye Caulker for a relaxed lunch and stroll on the laid back streets for some souvenir shopping. We were joined by a few hundred cruise ship passengers who had docked on the mainland and taken water taxis over to Caye Caulker for the experience. They have a large assortment of beach bars, which appears to be the main industry on the Caye. I regret that I don’t remember the name of the place where we ate, because the fish and lobster were great. Truth is though, you probably can’t go wrong with fresh fish and lobster all around.

What needs work: Power. During the day, Playa Del Sol generates electricity by solar power. If the weather has been cloudy, the batteries run low and they depend on gas-powered generator, especially at night. They were having generator issues during our visit and power was out at night, leaving us without fan or air conditioner. Iz described the fix for the generator, so I expect that he’ll have that sorted out when he can get what he needs shipped.

What I would not do again: Biking to the north (we didn’t try south). On our non-boat day, we took bikes and went north on the shore “road” to a resort called Tranquility Bay. They had a beautiful beach and a great little bar and grill on the dock. Getting there and back by bike wasn’t any fun though. The trip is less than four miles, but over soft sand and oftentimes trash that floats in from the ocean nightly. The surface really slowed us down and made the going difficult. Residents and resorts clean their beachfronts daily, but much of the land is unoccupied and goes without, so the trash just builds up.

Overall: Playa Del Sol is trying hard and I hope they succeed. The beachfront is small, but it looks great. The tiki bar is quaint and inviting. Iz and his staff meticulously clean the grounds daily and it stands out. Helen’s cooking is excellent, Adam’s guidance is outstanding, and the experience is relaxing.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate S
Dallas, TX, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You will regret not staying here”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
6
people found this review helpful

This is where you want to stay if you are looking for a private, relaxing (and slow) getaway. After spending a few days on Caye Caulker and after walking around San Pedro, being at Playa del Sol was a dream to be surrounded by such beautiful scenery without all the tourists. The house was big enough to hold our group of 6 gals. The kitchen is equipped with your standard kitchen amenities so we were able to cook breakfast and some lunches but we also looked forward every night to Helen's cooking & company! For those that do cook, there is a guy selling vegetables on a golf cart that comes by every other day in case you don't want to go back to San Pedro for more groceries. Adam, the boat captain, is flexible and knowledgable. He'll take you to some great snorkeling spots, if you don't want to pay to go to Hol Chan. He'll help you fish, untangle your line if you get caught in the reef, and will teach you to spear lobsters, if you want to. We deemed him the shark whisperer. Iz and Shae are great company and are very accessible if you need anything. There are three very loving dogs on property that you just can't help but pet. Lion may join you out on the pier for an afternoon nap. The property is great, the house is clean, but it's the people that really make the place feel special. Can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The People (& dogs)
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa C
Helena, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome tropical vacation - beautiful place - lovely hosts!”
Reviewed November 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My family stayed at Playa Del Sol and we had such a great time! We felt completely at home on the property: cooking for ourselves in our accommodations, sharing Helen's amazing cocktails at the bar, playing dice with Iz and Shae, reading in the hammocks hung at the end of the pier, and starting up games of volleyball and washers. Exploring the coral reefs and fishing for our own dinner (catching lobster!) was an awesome experience and we are so grateful for Adam's easy, fun style of tour guiding. He led us to a wide variety of interesting local restaurants in San Pedro and was so informative and flexible with our schedules. Iz and Shae have created a gorgeous guest home with a simple elegance and attention to detail that is really lovely. We can't press enough what wonderful, interesting and fun hosts they were. Staying at Playa Del Sol made for the sweetest end to a terrific family vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people! - Iz and Shea ( owners) and Adam and Helena (boat captain and bar tender/cook
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Accommodations in Belize”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We just returned from Belize from the most amazing vacation ever! I can't say enough great things about our experience at Playa Del Sol! From the day we arrived, until the day we left; we were treated like royalty. At the beginning of the trip, it was just amazing service and a beautiful atmosphere. By the time we left, we felt loved, appreciated, and part of a family! If you're looking for a truly memorable experience beyond the beauty of what Belize has to offer,

I strongly suggest that you consider Playa Del Sol for your accommodations while in Belize. They offer an exclusive type of resort where you can truly get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Adam, who was our captain and overall guide while on the boat and on land was exceptional!! I've went deep sea fishing 3X and bay fishing more time than i can remember... I'm the worst fisherman on the planet and I caught more fish on this trip than i have in 6 other ones...Adam not only took care of us while we were fishing, but was front and center when we went snorkeling, watched after us and guided us when we went into town to eat, shop and enjoy the culture that the people of Belize have to offer. He truly was our guardian angel and looked after our family from start to finish.

We always felt safe and knew that we were in good hands. For me personally, by day two I began to feel like part of a family and not a guest or tourist at a resort. We (me, my cousin, aunt and uncle) felt blessed to be surrounded by such amazing people that truly had our best interest at heart. The sincerity, honesty, and amazing commitment to make sure me and my family were having an amazing time was paramount...I've never experienced anything like it before!

Thank you to the entire group; that i now consider extended family!! Iz, Shea, Adam, Hellen, Chris and Jordan for everything you did for us during the week we stayed with you. You all truly made it special and we appreciate it more than you know. All the best and God Bless

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The two families that hosted us during the stay at Playa Del Sol + the two guard dog puppies Cici and Rain
Liked least: That i wasn't able to spend 12 days vs 6
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayse O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sensational stay in a lush tropical setting”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
6
people found this review helpful

My wife and I arrived just before afternoon after a day of traveling, and met Adam on the water taxi station. It was a short boat ride (~15 minutes) from the town and it gave us the opportunity to see so much of all the Caye. And once we got past Palapa Bar (which is a destination point for tourists) the ocean views and houses were great. The villa itself was just what we'd envisioned from the photos online. It was our first stop on our first trip to Belize, so we couldn't have found a better way to experience the tropic life. The birds, the marine life, the vegetation and beautiful landscaping, all with that little peek of the Caribbean in the distance made this place amazing. We cook our catch on the porch (Thanks Helen), enjoy many cocktails on the balcony, even some dip in the middle of the night at the tip of the pier. All in all, Playa del sol was a fantastic way to experience the Caye and I hope we can get back there some day. Thanks Shea and Iz!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free boat and captain for fishing, privacy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley D
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
10
people found this review helpful

We (two couples) spent a week in Sun Villa @ Playa Del Sol on “relaxing only” trip and chose this condo as our ‘headquarters’ while on vacation.
Let me first start out by saying that I enjoyed working with Shea. She was helpful from every aspect from answering all questions regarding the condo to information, our stay in Belize – what to expect regarding purchasing groceries, golf cart information, the locations of restaurants, and just a general layout of the area. All of the information was extremely beneficial, as this was our first time visiting Ambergris Caye. The house came equipped with all the essentials needed to relax inside and to enjoy a day at the beach. High speed Wi-Fi is available, which allowed us to stay in contact with family and friends back home in the States. (They have free phone to call US) The two bedroom condo is perfect to sleep 4 and having 1.5 baths is an added plus. (One of the bedrooms is smaller than the other one however it has a better view)
One tip for would be travelers. There are a few restaurants within walking distance but no supermarket nearby. So do your shopping while you are in the town. Iz took us to one of the biggest market for shopping. He also gave us some tips what we should/shouldn’t buy. Don’t be shocked if groceries are substantially higher (especially if you are from the states). However, being able to cook in the house helps defray the costs for dining out for every meal.
We have discussed a potential return trip and we would definitely choose this house again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free Boat Rental (another review: Hol Chan), Kayaks, Private Pier
Liked least: No grocery store around
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing