We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible service and location !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of X'tan Ha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
X'tan Ha Resort
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible service and location !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We had an incredible time on out stay .... Rosita who works at the restaurant treated us like royalty !!! Betty was always so welcoming!!! The staff works do hard everyday at making sure everything is perfect, right down to raking the sand perfectly! Super serene and romantic. If you want secluded and private and not a touristy feel this is the place.

Make sure to ck out No Worries
Dive Tours. For all your boating and diving needs. Amazing staff !! We can't wait to go back !!! Thank you to all and a big hug to Rosita and Kurt!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gamaveru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver D, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks again for choosing X'tan Ha Resort. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, our onsite restaurant and tour operation. We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    132
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
111
366
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at X' Tan Ha from June 1st - June 5th

This was our first trip to Belize, so I'll try to cover the basics and give you the info I think would be helpful. We are pretty well traveled and reasonable people, so I hope this is useful to you. We stayed 4 nights south of San Pedro at Mata Rocks Resort (will post review of this), and 4 nights north of San Pedro at X'Tan Ha.


1. GETTING THERE

Once you fly into Belize City you have 2 options. One : Take a land taxi ($25) to the water ferry ($17 each way), about an hour and 15 minute boat ride, then take a water taxi to X' Tan (the hotel will come get you for free). Two : stay at the airport, catch a small plane ($78 each way) and take 14 minute flight, and then take a free water taxi to X' Tan. We did it both ways, and I have to say the plane is just way easier. The water ferry sounds kind of fun and exotic . . . but you have to wait at the ferry terminal, and the ride over is some what long (and very hot) you're inside, not outside on the boat. Ferry is cheaper . . . but it takes a lot more time.


2. STAFF

I'm sure you've read quite a few other reviews already. The staff is amazing, no question about it. Not trying to skip details or anything but what else can be said.


3. ROOMS / GROUNDS

Grounds are beautiful, there is always someone cleaning, raking, painting, etc. It's well cared for and it shows. Pool is great. Iguanas are all over the place (fun). Rooms : I'll assume you've looked at the room rates and all online, so you should already know this isn't a Ritz or Hyatt. This is in Central America, on an island, at very reasonable rates . . . having said that, the rooms are very nice. They are much, much bigger than expected, and come with nice / new appliances in the front room : fridge, toaster, stove top, microwave, coffee maker, etc. You can actually have a store pre-stock your room with groceries if you make the arrangements w/ X Tan. AC and Wi-Fi both worked perfect.

4. BEACH

Ah, yes, the beach. It's hard to find a beach in Ambergris that is not chock full of sea grass. It won't hurt you or anything, but it just kind of creeps me out to have long strands of grass rubbing up on my ankles. Lucky for you though ! The beach at X Tan has great, beautiful, wide open section of pure blue water, soft white sand and NO sea grass. In short, the beach here is amazing.


5. EATS

So I read a mixed bag of reviews about the food here before going. And keep in mind, you are not very close to any other restaurants or stores, so I was a bit concerned. Again, this is Central America, on an island, at reasonable prices. Food here is not 5 star (but why would anyone think it might be ?), but I was pleasantly surprised by how good it was. We ate at the restaurant multiple times and were always happy. It's not cheap but it's also not overly expensive, there are plenty of $20 and under dinner options. I'll say this too, a $16 fish dinner here would easily be a $26 dinner at any Sheraton, Hyatt, etc. Bar food is totally worth ordering, the pizza, yes, I said pizza, is good !


6. ACTIVITIES

There is a dive shop / activity center on the dock at X Tan. They have snorkeling, fishing, spear fishing, diving, main land tours, etc. They are very helpful and your tour will leave right from the dock. We did the fishing / snorkeling / beach bbq all day tour w/ them. Fantastic. Can't say enough about how great of a time we had. Worth every penny. X Tan also has free bikes for you to use, which is fun (see the tips section below). They have free kayaks, use em. And now . . . . I have to reach some small complaints I have, which maybe more an issue of bad timing than complaints. My wife was very excited to play on the ocean trampoline (that's in all the photos online) . . . but it was gone as it was being repaired. I was very excited about using the hobie cat to sail around in . . . but it was broken and being repaired. We were both excited to play on the stand up paddle boards and cruise around . . . but they were both pretty rough and in need of repair (one had no fins at all)


7. TIPS

Pay attention to these, because I think they are some good ones !

A. Bring A LOT of sunscreen (you don't want to buy it there) Bring A LOT of bug repellent (avon skin so soft, to be exact, google it)

B. We stopped at a store in town to stock up on beer, water, snacks, rum, soda, and wine . . . you should so the same. And about the wine . . .

C. Wine. If you drink wine, you should go out of your way to bring a few bottles from home. It's very, very expensive on the island, and it's a pretty rough selection.

D. Cash. Bring a lot of cash. For tipping, for use, for whatever. ATM's are VERY, VERY hard to come by.

E. Room service. Breakfast, lunch, or dinner from the restaurant will be delivered to your room for free. So if you wanted to drink your own wine with dinner, do it in your room.

F. The Bikes. Take the bikes out and head south to Portifino (restaurant and hotel). Take the back road, not the beach ! It's way hard to pedal in the sand. It's about a 15 minute ride there.
Once there, if you get a drink or eat you are allowed to use the whole resort : pool, hammocks, lounge chairs, etc. Also, if you make dinner reservations here, they will pick you up and take you back via water taxi for free.

G. The pizza and the nachos at the bar are good !


8. IN CONCLUSION

If you stay at X' Tan Ha and you don't have a good time, the issue is probably with you, not the resort. Just saying.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
26 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver D, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Jeff, WOW! What can we say? Not only are we thankful that you chose to stay with us, but we are grateful for the time and care you took writing such a detailed review. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to X'tan Ha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We LOVED our stay at Xtan Ha! The distance from town was just far enough to make it private but close enough that we were able to rent the bikes for the day and ride to town. While not an easy ride to town at times on the beach, we had a blast stopping at some of the bars along the way. The people at Xtan Ha (actually all of Ambergris Caye) are so kind. We loved snorkeling with the tour and also right from the kayaks they loan guests. There were so many thoughtful touches here - we felt right at home. The restaurant was just OK. We loved taking the ferry to town to try other restaurants - and the two restaurant ferries that will pick you up are great. Spend time in the hammocks - they are amazing!

Suggestions:
splurge for the plane ride to island from Belize City
stop at market when you land to get some groceries; chips, fresh salsa and beer.
splurge for a beachfront room - we appreciated it every morning and night
visit the Palapa Bar for a drink


Only issue we had was that one paddle board was broken and that was what we looked forward to doing the most. And we had high winds a few days that brought jellyfish into shore but many other days made up for that.

I want to go back - just need to save up for another trip.

Room Tip: Splurge for a beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gratefull4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver D, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
T-H-A-N-K-S...again for choosing X'tan Ha for your recent vacation, and thank you for your suggestions. We are working on updating our water sports equipment and hope to have this all in place by the time you return. Looking forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Traveling is always a great experience and this resort sure did not disappoint us. Knowing full well that it was some miles north of San Pedro was no issue to us as we utilized the resort sanctioned provisioning market and everything we asked for was in our unit on our arrival. The resort was maintained meticulously daily and our room was well kept. From planning day trips through the onsite, "No worries" tours, to lots of laughs at the beachside bar, we could not have asked for a more stress free week. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Beachside units are well worth the additional costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver D, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks again for choosing X'tan Ha for your recent vacation. We know you have a choice in travel and truly appreciate your patronage. Thanks also for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. It is important to us that our guests know we are located 7.2 miles away from San Pedro town accessible by boat. We are so glad to learn that you enjoyed your time at the resort, hanging out at Katanga Bar and your adventures with No Worries Tours. We are pleased we were able to live up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have found our paradise. We spent seven nights with our X'tan Ha family and truly had the best vacation! All of the staff made it a point to make us feel so cared for and comfortable. The property is beautiful and relaxing. A guest can do as little or as much as they choose.
The room was clean and the bed was so comfortable. I really can't say enough about the staff - Stacey, Ludrick, Betty.....everyone! Oliver and Della, the managers are so friendly and we knew from the time we stepped on the dock that it was going to be a truly special vacation.
We can't wait to visit again and with several friends this time.....we so want to share and spend time with our friends in such a special place! Oh, and I don't want to forget to mention Buddy.... even he welcomed everyone with his wagging tail.

Room Tip: We had to beach front, but all of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank renita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver D, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks so much for choosing X'tan Ha and thank you for the staff shout outs. We are so pleased that we were able to deliver a great vacation experience. Buddy wants to know when you will return?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

My wife and I recently spent 6 nights there for our 30th anniversary. The place was fantastic. You can take the kayaks out to the reef (about a 15 minute paddle) and snorket for free. If you like to fish, take your rods and reels. Reef fishing from the kayak is excellent, though it is catch and release only for tourists not on a charter. Take some steel leaders as you can fish for barracuda in the eventings off the end of the pier. Guided trips are very expensive, but that probably is the only way to catch bonefish. The beach was always clean as the sea grass was constantly raked. The facility was very clean, and all of the staff were very friendly. I would recommend getting your groceries and beer delivered from the supermarket referenced on the website. The beers are small (9.6 oz) so plan on more than you would normally drink..... Stop at the duty free at the Belize city airport to pick up any liquor or wine. The restaurant was excellent, and reasonably priced (except for the $45 per person barbeque). Take the plane to and from San Pedro as it can get kind of rough on the ferry if the weather turns bad. All in all, one of the nicest facilities I have stayed in.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor poolside and it was fine. The waterfront ones are nice, but when the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver D, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks again for choosing X'tan Ha resort and for sharing your experience and suggestions with fellow travelers. Happy anniversary again to you and Suzanne! We hope all is well in Florida and look forward to hosting you for your 31st anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a wonderful location - close enough to visit San Pedro and yet remote so you can enjoy the beauty of the island and relax on the beach! We spent 11 days there last year and heading back this June. Great beach and still provides you the option of a pool - we are beach people so that is where we spent most of our time.

Great staff and love the bar that is over the sea! Cabanas are nice and have a fully equipped kitchen was a nice option for breakfast and allow for longer coffee time in the mornings on our porch.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but we like the beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver D, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks again for choosing X'tan Ha resort! We are so pleased that you found our secluded location - 7.2 miles north of San Pedro town - to be the perfect fit for your vacation and are so pleased that you have become one of our many repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
9.8 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
8.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
3.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X'tan Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X'tan Ha Resort

Property: X'tan Ha Resort
Address: | 7.2 Mls. North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — X'tan Ha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a tranquil, luxurious and romantic destination at X'tan Ha Resort, located just 7.2 Miles North of San Pedro Town. This truly exotic, tropical resort offers one bedroom suites, with spacious kitchens and living areas. Each villa offers a private verandah overlooking the pristine Caribbean Sea. X'tan Ha offers complimentary water sports- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, hobie cat sailing, and a water trampoline. X'tan Ha offers complimentary transfers upon arrival/departure from/to San Pedro town upon arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your X'tan Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Belize Legacy Beach
X'Tan Ha Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing