We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Washington State Family-Trip of a Lifetime!”
Review of X'tan Ha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
X'tan Ha Resort
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Washington State Family-Trip of a Lifetime!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our family, husband and wife, along with our three grown children ages 23 to 29 years of age, and soon-to-be son-in-law, just spent 10-days at the X'Tan Ha resort. What an amazing time! This was our first true "big family vacation" in almost 20 years, and the first outside of the United States. We took our time in researching and evaluating the various options, not only to determine a destination, but more importantly, the available accommodations. Not really knowing what to expect visiting an under-developed country (by Western standards), we were pleasantly surprised with the vibrant nature of San Pedro and the Resort communities! The six of us arrived at the International Airport in Belize City, through a flight connection out of Miami,on a Friday afternoon. We had packed some snacks and dry food items (peanut butter, english muffins, oatmeal, power bars, trail mix, breakfast bars,beef jerky, etc.) allowing us the opportunity of having a snack or two, as well as a meal if necessary, until we were able to do our major shopping for the week in San Pedro. As a side note, If you plan on picking up any alcohol upon your arrival, I would recommend that you visit the "Duty Free" shop at the Belize City Airport, Excellent selection and very reasonable prices. We took a very short and beautiful flight to San Pedro, Ambergris Caye Island on Tropic Air. I would strongly recommend this option, versus taking the 45-60 minute boat ride to San Pedro. We were met by a taxi service, arranged through the X'Tan Ha Resort, upon our arrival at San Pedro,which delivered us the short distance to the departing dock of Coastal Express Water Taxi Service. All of our luggage, as well as our items purchased in Belize City, were handled with care by the two attendants of the Coastal Express boat. Following a short and refreshing 15-minute boat ride up to the X'Tan Ha Resort, we were greeted by staff members of the resort, who transported our luggage and provisions to our rooms and accompanied us to the check-in office. Very helpful, friendly, appreciative, and hard-working young adults! We received a complimentary adult beverage upon arrival from the friendly staff of the outdoor bar. Nice touch by the bartenders, Alex and Elder! Our ocean front rooms (less than 30-feet to the water) were clean, well equipped with all of the amenities of home (frig, freezer, 5-gal. bottled water dispenser, stove, nice bathroom, sitting area, pots, pans, etc.) and provided an absolutely gorgeous view of the water, reef and sunrise. You have the option of taking the Coastal Express Water Taxi ($16 US round trip) or the complimentary X'Tan Ha Resort boat (room permitting) into San Pedro, which offers several departure and return rides each day. We travelled into San Pedro on Day #2 and had a great meal at Wild Mango's Restaurant, followed by a couple of hours of looking around town and buying our groceries at Rich's Market, who delivered our items right to the boat dock for our return back to the resort. Fresh produce, fruits, vegetables and beverages are readily available. I would strongly recommend this market. Very reasonable, local, helpful, and accommodating. The Temple Run Tavern at the resort offers a nice selection of meal options (fresh fish, seafood, chicken, and your American favorites-Hamburgers, burritos, salads, etc.) good quality, somewhat expensive, but not overpriced, considering the convenience and expense of bringing the items in from the mainland or town. Lots of nice perks as part of your stay: free use of sea kayaks, paddle boards, $5 for all day use of snorkle gear and fins, Wifi, TV, and a very nice pool, You can snorkle right in front of the resort, and see some amazing fish and wildlife. Available tours, snorkle and fishing trips provided by "Hill" at No Worries Tour company on location at the Resort. Hill and his staff were great to work with and really know the area. A very secure Resort, supported by a 24-hour on-location security team, which you didn't even realize were there! Excellent maid and staff service, meeting all of your needs or concerns in a timely manner. There are other Resorts close by, offering free pick up and return boat service, providing some very nice dining options. We had dinner one night at the Mambo Restaurant at Matachica Resort. Very good! Our kids spent the day on a tour of the Mayan ruins, Zip-Lining in the jungle and tubing the water caves. One of the best experiences they have ever had! These arrangements can be made right at the X'Tan Ha Resort. The entire staff, from the management team of Oliver, Della and Richard, to the outside bar staff and entire service team, made our stay memorable, something we will remember for the rest of our lives. We are already talking about a return visit to X'Tan Ha, and our daughter and her fiance, are considering a return trip for their Honeymoon later this year. By far, the nicest and best maintained stretch of beach on the Island. If you are looking for a family-friendly (regardless of age) resort, offering and excellent experience from top to bottom, I would strongly recommend X'Tan Ha Resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a detail review. This we believe will definitely aid in any future bookings that we may have. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    139
    31
    6
    3
See reviews for
120
386
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

It is a but far from town but we enjoyed the boat ride. The resort is adorable. The rooms are very clean and have great views. I belief the beach is the best one of all the other hotels around; clean, no seaweed. Just watch out for the babies sting rays or manta rays, not sure what's the difference! I saw a couple while seating on the beach. Use the complimentary kayaks, you'll see how clear the water is. Restaurant was good and a little bit pricey. We bought food and snacks in San Pedro. Pool is very clean. Staff is VERY cordial and helpful. The guys at the bar, Elder and Alex, are very funny! Drinks are a little bit pricey. Try the lobster pizza at the bar! One night the had a bonfire and encouraged the guests to bring their own food so that they could prepare for you. We brought chicken breast and they cooked it and served to us very well presented. Over all, a great time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibodre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We thank you for taking the time out to write your review. It is very much appreciated and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at X'tan Ha for a week...and we loved every second of it. When you can only afford to take one "big" vacation every year, it's oh so important to find that perfect spot- and this is it!
First: take the 20 minute Tropic Air flight from Belize City instead of the 1+ hr boat ride. The puddle jumper is so much fun and the views are amazing! Whereas, with the boat, you can't really see anything and it's quite a bumpy ride. (we only know this because we went on a Mayan ruins tour and had to take the boat to Belize City) Once you arrive on Ambergris Caye, the resort has someone there who will take you to the dock, where you step onto a private boat over to X'tan Ha! Note: we asked our Captain if we could pop into the grocery store for provisions before leaving San Pedro. It was no problem, so we went to the Almanza (?) grocery. You should definitely pick up some items for cooking since the room has a full kitchen (except oven). Get some Belikin beers! We cooked eggs, sausage, pancakes, etc. almost every morning. We brought a few things from home too: peanut butter, granola bars, oatmeal, etc. as well. Better to do this than to spend money on EVERY meal. We spent about $60 at the grocery; expensive but still worth it.

Once we got to X'tan Ha we were greeted with a yummy rum punch and taken to our room. We had ocean front and it was a gorgeous view! Ours was closest to the office. Pros and cons with this- really good wifi and fun to watch everybody but a bit busy b/c the bar and dock are close as well. The room number is 1A so keep that in mind. I think 8A would be the furthest oceanfront room. The room is very comfortable; nice bathroom, big bedroom, big sitting room, big kitchen and sweet balcony. Only one minor negative- the bed wasn't that comfortable. We had to ask them to remove this big foam pad which helped a little.

We used the No Worries Tours and had such a blast! We did the all day snorkeling with a trip over to Caye Caulker and the Lamanai Mayan Ruins tour. Expensive but again, worth it. We LOVED having Hill as our guide on both trips...he's so chill and fun! Note: the Lamanai tour is a ton of traveling. You gotta get up at 5am to do this one. We also had an underwater camera which was an absolute must for the snorkeling, b/c you see so much and also swim with rays and nurse sharks!

As for the the onsite restaurant, Temple Run Tavern, please see my review over on their Trip Advisor review page. In a nutshell, it was GREAT. The bar is also top notch; fun to eat lunch there (delivered by Temple Run Tavern) as there are tables in the water.

It was sunny every day, high 80s, no bugs, a bit humid: perfect. A couple of times we ate out. Portofinos and Matachica, nearby resorts, will send a complimentary boat over to X'tan Ha's dock to pick you up and take you back. I highly recommend doing this; both are awesome. However, we still preferred Temple Run Tavern best!

If you want to head into San Pedro, you'll grab the water taxi from X'Tan Ha's dock. Keep in mind, ours is one of the furthest resorts out there. So, there are stops in between. It takes about 45 minutes with stops, 20 minutes without stops. If you're looking for remote, you'll love it here. We only went into town once, after our Mayan Ruins tour, and that was enough. All the other days were spent on the beach, in the water, in the pool (nice pool!), on excursions...it may be remote but there's still plenty to do and if you choose to just relax and do nothing you can do that too. Complimentary kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat...all so much fun. Note: If you're one of those people who always has to be in the middle of all the action, this may not be the right place for you.

Shout-outs to Miriam, who was an angel in answering ALL of my questions before the trip and Richard, who was lovely to deal with on a daily basis. Also, Oliver (the owner) and Buddy (his dog) were a real joy to interact with when we were on the beach.

Thanks to all the staff at X'tan Ha for making our vacation so wonderful and memorable!

Room Tip: 1A is an upper level room but closest to the office/bar/dock area. Good wifi in this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CaliforniaMy2cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We truly appreciate your detailed review especially your shout outs. Here's hoping to see you on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Beautiful place and great service. Restaurant had a small but delicious menu. Elder & Alex are great bartenders and company. Nice relaxing beach area. This is a place for someone looking to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Book early to get a place on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiaka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Short and sweet. Thank you for taking the time to share your views and we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We just spent a week at the X'Tan ha. They have satisfactory appartements.
Gorgeous view, but there it does end.
The dining room is not worth the money they charge, the chef should learn to cook fish.
The Portfino Restaurant was twice as good at the same price, they will send a boat to pick you up.

I must say, the employees where friendly and helpful. rooms where kept in good order.
Transportation is the biggest problem. You are stuck ! You are pretty well reliant on the
facilities they offer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gladiola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your views. All is duly noted and we hope it serves as a guide for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

When we landed in Ambergris Caye, the hotel had a complimentary water taxi waiting for us to bring us to our resort for the week. We arrived at the resort and were welcomed on the dock with a tasty fruit punch drink from the bar. Upon check in, we requested a 2nd level condo and the staff was happy to change our suite for us. The next day we explored the grounds and met the resort manager Oliver and his wife Della. Throughout our week long stay, the managers presence was a welcome site. He spoke with all of the guests daily and ensured that you were enjoying your stay. The grounds and condos were cleaned and maintained daily and X'Tan Ha had the best beach on the island. The staff was very friendly, always had a smile on their face and called you by name. We utilized the free amenities offered to the guests such as the bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards. We kayaked several times to nearby Mexican Rocks was outstanding with a diversity of fish and coral to be seen. We biked, hiked on the beach, kayaked and enjoyed several excursions that were close by. The restaurant was excellent with home cooked meals and great desserts. This place is great if you are looking for a nice quiet getaway and it's nice to know that you are not just another person being pushed through one of the large resorts. A big thank you to Oliver, Della and all the wonderful staff to make this once of the best holiday yet. We look forward to seeing you again someday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We are very grateful that you guys enjoyed your stay with us. Your tips and comments will indeed serve as reference for our future guests. Thanks and we will be looking out for you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

It's one of the furthest resorts from San Pedro, and almost the last stop on the water taxi (25-30 mins). The service was great to start with, except their main restaurant, the staff there was unfriendly, never went above and beyond, never smiled, and answered with one word at a time. The bar tenders on the other hand were almost too friendly, pushing for us to keep drinking, giving free shots at times, and one bar tender kept pushing my gf and him to go for drinks after he was off his shift, asked three separate times while running into each other in town. Besides those things, had a decent time. I would recommend it, but it has its pros and cons for sure.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek_L20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We at X’tan Ha Resort are certainly not in the business of providing CURT service to any of our guests. In addition on the flipside being overtly friendly is also not a standard practice as well. Rest assured the respective managers will be consulted so as not to have a repeat on any end. We thank you for bringing this tour attention and in spite of those few instances we are happy to know that you would recommend us for future travelers. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
8.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
3.4 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,346 reviews
4.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
459 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X'tan Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X'tan Ha Resort

Property: X'tan Ha Resort
Address: | 7.2 Mls. North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — X'tan Ha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a tranquil, luxurious and romantic destination at X'tan Ha Resort, located just 7.2 Miles North of San Pedro Town. This truly exotic, tropical resort offers one bedroom suites, with spacious kitchens and living areas. Each villa offers a private verandah overlooking the pristine Caribbean Sea. X'tan Ha offers complimentary water sports- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, hobie cat sailing, and a water trampoline. X'tan Ha offers complimentary transfers upon arrival/departure from/to San Pedro town upon arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your X'tan Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Belize Legacy Beach
X'Tan Ha Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing