We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach, expensive food”
Review of X'tan Ha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
X'tan Ha Resort
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We chose this place because the price is right and apparently it is about the only beach in Belize. The beach, grounds and condo did not disappoint. The solitude of the place can't be beat but It is remote and frequent trips into San Pedro are a bit pricey at $16 rt per person.

Our room far exceeded our expectations as it is large, clean, well maintained and has a ginromous balcony with a view of the pool and the ocean. We had clean beach towels everyday and there is wifi on the property. The beach is really beautiful and it is raked several times a day which we really appreciated. Free use of the kayaks and paddle boards is a bonus and we had some fun with those toys. The bar is a great place to hang out. Happy hour is from 4-6 and worth the effort as the pina colada is about the size of my head and worth every sip.

The food is definitely pricey, especially at dinner. Lunch was fine at around $10/15 per meal and the conch ceviche was some of the best I had while in Belize. Dinner however was another story all together with entrees between $25-35 but we knew this before booking as I had requested a copy of the menu during my research. There are 2 menus, dinner and the Tavern. I would have been happy eating ceviche all night long except that it was not offered in the evening. You do have a kitchen so picking up a few goodies is a good idea…we had some snacks and beer. If you are taking the water taxi from Belize city, consider stopping at Brodies Supermarket before heading out to the island as food is cheaper on the mainland. Brodies is on the left hand side of the road as you are coming into the city from the airport.

Room Tip: 4B is an upstairs room with a great view but the bedroom window faces east so a bit bright earlier t...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ridergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

We are truly happy that for the most part we met or at times even exceed your expectations. As we always mention all reviews or comments are taken very seriously and are duly noted by management for improvement. We thank you for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for X'tan Ha Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 629 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

X'Tan Ha was the perfect get-away and escape from the polar vortex for us. The property is great, secluded enough to be your little hide-away but still very fun.

From our great unit to the staff, this place was just all around perfect! Our room complete with kitchen was pristine and had the most welcoming and intricate local flair. We had a waterfront room which had a superb view which you could see from the bed. We loved it!

From what we could see of other resorts/hotels, X'Tan Ha had the BEST BEACH. Whether you just want to chill at the beach or bar, go kayaking or swim, this place is the place to do that.

We went on the Shark Alley tour with No Worries Tour. Let me tell you, I am afraid of open waters and swimming, but this was one of the most relaxing things I have ever done! Mario...or "Super Mario" was our guide and captain and he was great. The entire staff from Hill to Diving Instructor Pablo, the whole crew made us feel welcomed and comfortable. The excursion was indescribably awesome, we highly recommend it! Having nurse sharks, sting rays, and turtles swim along side with you in the most clearest of waters is simply magnificent.

The staff of the resort was always super friendly and very professional. The restaurant on the premise had good and reasonably priced food. The bar crew was highly entertaining and just great. Alex, Obie, Elder, Marco, and Hill will give you all of their attention, wit, and great drinks. We had a lot of great laughs!

The great thing about X'Tan Ha is that it has a great mix of visitors. We saw families with children of all ages (from toddlers, to middle schoolers, to teens), couples of each age group, and singles. Even though we came without our two-year-old daughter this time, we know that we will come back with her because we know that there will be lots for her to explore.

We were only there for four days and wished we could have stayed longer. We definitely recommend this resort. Make sure you take an excursion or two with No Worries Tours and you will guaranteed have a great stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CitizenoftheWorld80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time out to write about your experience here at X'tan Ha. Like you rightly observed we try our best to cater to everyone's needs. It was indeed a pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I went here with my husband and another couple over Thanksgiving, and we had a great time. We felt like the staff was family after a couple days. This was my second time to Ambergris Caye, and it's very true that the better beaches are further north, away from San Pedro. You can either choose a good beach with the hassle of taking a water taxi into town, or accept a not-so-nice beach in town. If you like to swim and snorkel, X'Tan Ha is a great place. The beach has fine white sand with very little seaweed, and you can take kayaks out for free to snorkel with stingrays and nurse sharks. We kayaked our first day there and saw a lot of stingrays and nurse sharks.

At X'tan Ha, the bar is open until the last person leaves, and there are usually a few other guests there to make the place somewhat lively. So our group felt like we made the right decision to have the gorgeous beach with a chill beach bar at night. We took the taxi into town two nights, but the rest of the time, we were happy to stay there. The hotel restaurant was very overpriced for ok food, so ask to buy groceries and beer in town when you arrive before you get on the boat. They can hold your luggage while you shop for food.

We took advantage of all the activities offered on the resort - we went scuba diving, snorkeling, and spear fishing. If you go fishing as an activity, the staff will cook the fish with veggies over an open fire for your dinner as part of the activity cost, and that was by far the best meal we had overall.

I remember sitting in a lounge chair on the beach looking out over crystal clear water with Bob Marley playing, and sipping rum out of a coconut. When they ran out of coconuts behind the bar, the bartender actually climbed up a tree to get one for me. Yeah, it's that kind of place. It's not a luxury resort, but it's chill and wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreakawayFromBeltway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

We thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us. It is always our goal to ensure that all our guests get to feel as if they are a part of our family here at X'tan Ha. Thanks again and we hope to see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you're going to San Pedro and you live in Florida or California skip it. Ambergris Caye is a smaller version of Cancun and in spots I feel like I was in El Paso or Juarez.

If you must go to Ambergris then stay at X'Tan Ha. It's on the north side of the island and it's away far all the noise of San Pedro. That being said, you really are away from everything but they have a bar and a restaurant which is probably the better food on Ambergris it is a bit pricey.

We hit the liquor store and grabbed tons of snacks while in San Pedro. I highly advise hitting up the Duty Free in the airport before you head out.

X'Tan Ha has the best beach on the 'island' and the fact that you can SUP and or paddle right out to the reef is a huge plus.

I highly recommend this place over any other place I found in Ambergris. Think vacation Condo in OBX or Clearwater.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jona_Joyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Your review is very much insightful and for that we are grateful. Thank you for taking the time out for sharing your views and we hope to see you again soon on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed for 7 days during the summer "off season." The water is the best on the island, the bartenders are friendly and the room was clean and big. Ordered a couple of cases of beer before arrival and it was cold in the fridge upon arrival.

Yes, it is a trip into town, but for our vacation it was perfect. Already planning another trip for this summer!

Room Tip: We stayed in a beachfront room close to the office, great to sit on the porch and check emails while...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We will be looking out for your next trip guys. Thanks for taking the time to write and remember to book early.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Well I have to agree with all good reviews but I would like to make my comments :

Amazing staff, location and concept IF

You really like to be secluded, like to do activities in the sea and don't mind to cook. The restaurant there can be an option, but in my opinion is VERY expensive. You can find good
options, but pay U$ 3.50 for ONE slice of bred in the breakfast crossed the line.

You pay for an amazing beach, although you see a lot of trash around the hotel. This is not
the hotel's fault, but really, I did not have any pleasure taking a walk around the hotel. It was very disappointing.

Comparing to other places in the Caribbeans I really think their prices are very expensive. So you have to be prepared.

My family had a great time, but I realized that it was not a good concept for me. Having to worry about groceries all the time and having to spend U$16,00 to go to the downtown was not so pleasant for me. You can find a lot of grocery stores there, but only two have good products and options : The Big tree and Green house. The others are dirty and their products sometimes are out of date.

Anyway, as I mentioned before.. Beautiful place... but you have to like the concept.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luciana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

We really appreciate your candid approach in educating our potential guests and do note that your concerns are duly noted and in fact are being looked at as we respond to your comments. Nonetheless like you mentioned it was a good experience minus the kinks. We thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The team at X'tan Ha Resort could not have done a better job if they tried. My wife and I went on our honeymoon and they made us feel right at home and even whipped up special meals for the occasion. They helped us to arrange trips into town and to explore the reefs, spa treatments and treated every customer like they were their best friend. They made you feel like they were really looking out for you. Best little beach bar you'll ever see and the best beach on the whole island.

Room Tip: Rooms that don't face the beach are significantly cheaper but only a few steps from the shore.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mustafa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

You are indeed our friend and we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with our customers. We do hope to see you guys again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.4 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
235 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
4.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,357 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
874 reviews
1.2 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X'tan Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X'tan Ha Resort

Address: | 7.2 Mls. North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $157 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — X'tan Ha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a tranquil, luxurious and romantic destination at X'tan Ha Resort, located just 7.2 Miles North of San Pedro Town. This truly exotic, tropical resort offers one bedroom suites, with spacious kitchens and living areas. Each villa offers a private verandah overlooking the pristine Caribbean Sea. X'tan Ha offers complimentary water sports- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, hobie cat sailing, and a water trampoline. X'tan Ha offers complimentary transfers upon arrival/departure from/to San Pedro town upon arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your X'tan Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Belize Legacy Beach
X'Tan Ha Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing