We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
X'tan Ha Resort
Nearby Hotels
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$166
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Secreto(San Pedro)
$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$130
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramon's Village Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$290
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$169
$138
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveler rating
475
154
34
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
154
34
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstemple run tavernpaddle boardswater trampolinemexico rockswater taxisea grassbeach barambergris cayeordered groceriessulfur smellbest beach on the islandin townfishbelize citysandy pointtour companyboat ride
Filter
Updating list...
539 - 544 of 675 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I returned from a two week vacation at X Tan Ha (Dec 06 to Dec 21). This is our third trip to the island and every time it gets better. The resort management and staff work very hard to ensure your stay is relaxing or adventure filled as you want. They are always happy and willing to answer any questions that you may have about Belize or help with recommendations. AlI you have to do is ask. As for the bar staff, these gentlemen work very hard at keeping people (guest) entertained. They are always quick with a witty remark and or joke for you. Dave and I thoroughly enjoyed hanging out with them. We spent a few nights sitting at the bar visiting and having great laughs.
Although people complain about having to use the water taxis to commute to town. Fuel is costly on the island and unfortunately if you want the best beach front that is a sacrifice that needs to be made. We walked to town often from the resort. Its only a 2 hour walk one way. You can always make a few hydrations stops along your way into town.
No Worries tours provide exceptional customer service as well. We are divers and it was very must a valet service for us. We loved having Pablo (dive master) and Kevin (boat captain) almost exclusively to ourselves for two weeks of diving. Both guys were great fun to be with and they even made us lionfish ceviche for us to try. The other staff at No worries are just as wonderful. Betty and the other guys were always helpful and friendly,
We left with so many amazing memories that its difficult for us to only mention one thing about this trip, as we not only made new friends but now they are a part of our extended family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nadine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Wow! this is definitely one for the books (walking from resort that is). We appreciate the time stamp on that since i believe that you are the first to actually make it : -). As always these are the type of feedback we are looking for as this does aid our future guests in making a decision to visit. Thanks for this and we do hope to see you next time you visit the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Spent the third week in December there with my wife. She snorkeled and I fished. Caught some nice bonefish from 1/2 mile north of the resort right up to the resort. Food at the restaurant was excellent. I especially enjoyed the freshly baked bread which is prepared daily. Made for great fish salad sandwiches to take fishing. Caught some small tarpon out back in the canal. Beautiful views. Fun bar on the water. Can't wait to go again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Short and sweet. We are happy that you enjoyed your fishing and that your wife had an opportunity to snorkel as well. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I will start by touching base on my score. The location is a 5 plus and we weren't bothered at all by the fact that it was rather remote. The beach and water is absolutely stunning!! There are a few really nice little touches like a freestanding platform with adirondak chairs and a shaded dock as well in some crystal clear water. Plenty of beach chairs and fresh beach towels as needed in the nearby office. We stayed in 2b which is right on the beach (purple roof) and upstairs. View was incredible (even when it rained). Units are nice but nothing fancy which is ok as I'll take the water and view over fancy any day! We did have issues twice with absolutely no water. In both cases it was fixed very quickly but no one told us it was fixed (even though we asked to be notified) so we lost time waiting we probably didn't need to do.

Restaurant was ok but as most say pretty pricey and not too exciting. We enjoyed eating the more casual food at the bar (pizza and burgers) where the atmosphere was more fun. Restaurant was really quiet when we were there and almost eerie like we should whisper. We had food delivered to our room before arriving and although it was pricey, it was perfect for breakfast, quick meals and snacks. Drinks seemed a little high at the bar too - seems they ran $10 -$15 US for mixed drinks. Rum punch ($10) was really good though!

We had a hard time reaching No Worries tours via email before arriving so were afraid we couldn't use them when we arrived. They were actually great once we arrived and Betty was incredibly friendly and helpful. It was raining our first couple days so we were anxious to get out and explore. She worked to rally short notice trips for us and they were great and we thought a more than fair price. We did Hol Chan/shark Ray alley one day and Tranquility Bay another. Hol Chan was great (we'll review separately). Tranquility Bay was really not that special but we had a great time fishing, grilling our fish and boating along incredible waters. We had a little extra time so Mario took us to Mexico Rocks to snorkel which was incredible and much appreciated. Lots to see there and we didn't have enough time to kayak out before we had to leave.

All in all, I would highly recommend X'Tan Ha. The beach really is incredible and they are cleaning and sweeping the beach ALL day long. No sea grass in the water and they just work the beach all day raking up any that floats in. Kayaks and Paddleboards were in great shape and lots of fun. Great place to learn the Paddleboards since water is shallow (I even got up and stayed up for a few minutes!)

Enjoy the beach if you go! From riding up and down the Coast, it looked like the best by far!

Room Tip: Splurge for the beachfront if you can but it seems like all rooms would be great location wise. All are pretty close to the water.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

We thank you so much for taking the time to educate our future guests as far as expectations. It was indeed a pleasure hosting you and we do look forward to serving you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at X'tan Ha in December and we had mixed feelings. We came to the resort after visiting Hopkins for a few days and the two cities are completely different. When we arrived in San Pedro we were disappointed at how touristy it was. We knew coming in that San Pedro was the "party town" of Belize, so we weren't entirely surprised but we were still hoping to experience more Belize culture and less catering to tourists. Luckily we did find some gems in town that gave us that.

Now to the resort itself.

The beach: was beautiful, it was clean, blue, the water was so clear and you are situated directly in front of the reef. The properties on either side of the resort were vacant so once you start to walk down the beach be prepared to see garbage for miles. It's really sad to see, but it has nothing to do with x'tan ha as there's not a single piece on their property.

Activities: If you are an active person, the resort offers complimentary kayak, paddle board and paddle boat. (the hobie cat was broken). snorkeling gear and fishing gear are available for rent (I think it was $10US/day). There is also a jetski for $85/half hour, so I never saw anyone take it out. You can also pay to go diving, fishing, jungle tours etc. through the tour company that is located on the dock of the resort. The tours cost a few hundred dollars. There are dozens of coral spots that you can take a short kayak to and snorkel on your own as well.

Food: The food here is not bad, but nothing special. It is VERY expensive to eat here. I was also disappointed that there are no native dishes on the menu, it's all american food. The resort is secluded. The only way into town is by sea taxi, it costs $16US per person to go to San Pedro from X'tan Ha. I read a response to another review by management that they offer complimentary taxi rides twice weekly (this turned out to be not true at all).
Once you go into town there is countless options of cheap and delicious places to eat, and to buy groceries. I recommend spending one day in town to load up on baked goods, fruit and veg, tortillas etc. Also bring food from home (granola bars, chips, etc) there was a small kitchen with a coffee maker in our room. Drinks here are also VERY expensive, BYOB. If you go into town to get supplies.

The rooms: The room was nice, again nothing spectacular. The shower was awful, the shower head definitely needed to be replaced. The water smelled bad. They have a water cooler of filtered drinking water in the room, but even washing up was unpleasant because of the water smell.

Atmosphere: People here were friendly, however we found again that San Pedro, and X'tan Ha were very much catering to tourists and there's not a lot of culture to be found here. This might be what some people are looking for but it's not quite what were hoping for.

This was our very first time to Belize and there is so much to see and to learn, we got just a glimpse and a learning experience and we are looking forward to returning again to see more. Unfortunately wouldn't return to X'tan Ha. It's meant for some, but not for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mylovelytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time out to share your likes and dislikes. It is unfortunate that your experience with us was not that of a good one. Nonetheless all your concerns have been duly noted and will be addressed by management so as to alleviate any reoccurrence. We thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and I chose to celebrate our one year belated honeymoon at X'tan Ha Resort ("Ish"-tan Ha)! We stayed Dec 12th - Dec 18th.

We arrived late on the 12th due to flight delays. We received a free complimentary boat ride from San Pedro to the resort. Our bags were taken directly to our room and we received a welcome beverage from the outdoor bar just as we reached the end of the dock! We were esccorted around the resort and shown where everything was located before being taken to our room.

The grounds were immaculate and well cared for. The resort was well lit, sand was groomed, pool and beach area were extremely clean! The room was more than we expected. We stayed in 6B, a pool view room, which most definitely had a view of the ocean too! We had a private balcony, a front sitting room complete with kitchenette w/ 5 gallons bottled water, a bedroom and bathroom that could be closed off from the front room. Both rooms were equipped with fans and air conditioning.

The weather was a bit gloomy on a few days, however the rain didn't stick around long and most days turned out to be sunny! It was beautiful! The pool was a little chilly but why use the pool when you have the ocean! :) The beach amenities included lounge chairs, beach umbrellas, complimentary towels, sea kayaks, paddle boards, and paddle boat. All equipment was free to use. We even chose to use the complimentary bikes to ride to the small grocery store 3.5 miles away. The grocery store was tiny and you would be much better off getting groceries in San Pedro via water taxi.

The resort staff was amazing! The room was always cleaned and straightened, and the ground crews were always bustling to ensure the resort remained in great shape. During the aforementioned bike ride, after passing many other resorts, X'tan Ha's was by far the cleanest and most beautiful beach.

There was the Temple Run Tavern located on the resort. The food was great but very pricey and is separately owned from the resort. The prices of drinks at Katanga Beach Bar were a bit expensive $10-$12 per drink. We had great service and made friends with the bartenders Elder, Marco, Alex and Hill! They were wonderful! My husband and I found it more cost efficient to buy groceries to make our own meals and buy our own liquor and beer. We did spend time at the bar with the guys though. We did however go into San Pedro to eat a few meals. I highly recommend Caramba's for seafood and Wild Mango's for the ceviche. Delish!

We chose to do some snorkeling and an introductory scuba course with No Worries Tours conveniently located at the resort! We did the full day snorkeling trip to Hol Chan Marine Reserve, Shark Ray Alley, and Coral Gardens w/ a trip to Caye Caulker for lunch and lounging and feeding the Tarpons (catch and release game fish). We saw many sea turtles, a huge variety of fish, sting rays, nures sharks, and coral reefs! Mario and Kevin were our tour guides for the snorkeling. They were both very knowledgable about the snorkeling and very professional. We even had rum punch on the boat! We also did the scuba course w/ Pablo! We was an amazing instructor and so very knowledgable about diving and techniques. We were able to have a private lesson and dive with him at Hol Chan Marine Reserve. He explained all procedures very thoroughly and stated all expectations of safety and fun with great detail! A big thanks to Miss Betty in the office for setting everything up!

We were so sad to leave the resort. The staff made if feel like home! The resort provides a great combination of relaxation and exploration! We are already looking to plan our next trip back!

Thank you to Oliver and Della for their great managment of the resort. They have done a wonderful job! Keep up the good work X'tan Ha! We will see you next year!

Room Tip: All rooms have a little something special. I liked 6B because of the location close to the pool, the ocean view, and far enough away from the bar.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajhennig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Your review is very detailed and covered all aspect of your vacation with and for this we are very much appreciative. We are certain that the time you took to write this review will serve well for our future guests and their expectations. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews