We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit ever better.”
Review of X'tan Ha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
X'tan Ha Resort
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Return visit ever better.”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My return visit to X'tan ha for my husbands 50th birthday party was an incredible and very memorable event. I mentioned to the onsite manager that we were celebrating a special day, and when we came back from dinner a bottle of chilled champagne was waiting for us! The staff greeted us warmly as if we were celebrities every place we went, and seemed genuinely sad to see us leave. The bar on the ocean is twice as large as it was 7 months ago, and now has hammock chairs and tables IN the ocean to sit at! Bartenders will get into the water to bring you an ice cold drink. I have been up and down the beaches and there is no finer one on the island. There are many lounge chairs poolside and ocean front, so there is always somewhere to sit and soak it all in. TIP: to sit on the beach entirely alone and watch the sun set, walk slightly to the north past the foliage and put your towel down in the sand by the big piece of driftwood. The property is undeveloped, and you'll feel like you discovered the island! Thank you to the entire staff for the vacation of our lifetime. We will be back to see the fabulous new pool that will complete the rest of the resort.

Room Tip: Even the building farthest away from the beach is 75 steps into the water. They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your kinds words and like you rightly stated we are embarking on some huge projects which will indeed improve our resort. We are happy that you enjoyed yet another visit and we will be looking out for your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    137
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
116
380
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I just loved this place! It was our first time to Belize and we have no regrets in choosing X'tan ha. Our villa was clean spacious and had a lovely view of the well taken care of garden, pool and beachfront. It is true, the staff was just amazing! Everyone went out of their way to make sure you were having a good time. Cheers to the wonderful bartenders, Elder, Marco, Alex and Hill, you guys ROCK! As a beginner diver, I especially enjoyed diving with Pablo. Some may think the diving was a little more pricey at the resort but i say the location, convenience and sense of safety we received from Pablo and Betty was worth every cent! Pablo, thanks again for getting us back to the resort when our Kayaks got caught in the wind. Betty, thanks for the Chamomile, it did help my cough and thanks to Jimmy for always checking on us. This Paradise location with its beautiful clean beachfront and exceptional staff made my birthday get away most memorable! No worries, WE WILL BE BACK...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time out to write this review and share your experience. The staff here at X’tan Ha truly appreciates your comments as it is viewed as very motivational. In light of this we are very much enthused and encouraged to work even harder to ensure that all our guests get to have the same experience.

We thank you once again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

X'tan Ha is not only located on some of the best beach real estate in San Pedro, it also has the most welcoming humble staff around. Throughout our stay everyone from the owner himself to the bartenders and waiters went above ad beyond to create an unforgettable experience. We were greeted by first name by almost everyone we met. This team at X'tan Ha also makes a concerted effort to make this trip AND future trips by other guests and YOU (if you choose to go back) even better than the last. We couldn't have asked for a better group of people!
So aside from just a few things, our stay was perfect. Here are a few things to be aware of:
1. If you are planning to go SCUBA diving, do not go through the resort. We payed over $350 for two people to do two dives. It was absolutely ridiculous. Our dive instructor had informed us he had been out until 4am that morning drinking and was "a little tired" on our second tank both of us were already surfaced, him with a little over half a tank and me with over 2/3. We went in town and were able to get an entire days worth of diving in for almost half the price.
2. The prices at the restaurant on X'tan Ha are NOT in Belize! So make sure you consider that as you are eating and drinking your heart out. :) We were a little surprised with our tab when it came back being american $$$

Amazing trip, amazing people, a place that you fall in love with immediately and grow more in love with the ones your sharing it with. :)
ENJOY.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny with an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We appreciate your insight and for taking the time out to express your likes and dislikes. Rest assured all comments are duly noted and reviewed by management so as to avoid future mishaps or dissatisfaction by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is an excellent small resort/hotel on the north side of Ambergris, perfect for couples, friends and even families with little ones due to the walk-in beach area that is a rare find on Ambergris. Everything is close together so parents can be lounging at the overwater bar (with steps directly into the sparkling blue water) while kids play nearby.

The rooms are situated in double story wooden cabins and they are very large, comfortable and stocked with all the essentials you need if you wanted to self cater - stove, sink, utensils, full size fridge, dining table, plates/cups, etc, sofa futon and sitting area. The bedrooms are quite large and the kingsize bed is comfortable. Bathrooms are simple, but adequate. Balconies are huge and all have some sliver of ocean view if not right on the beach front.

Staff is accommodating and friendly, especially the bar staff (Marco and Elder).

The pool area is nice, though most people hang out on the beach. Really nice touch that the watersports are included.

If you are considering X'tan Ha Resort I would only note that it is quite remote and isolated - nothing really to walk to so you are pretty much stuck with eating at the restaurant. However, the food was quite good (amazing burgers and conch fritters) but a little pricey and I typically prefer to check out all the local joints for a more authentic, (and cheaper) "eat local" experience.

Overall, it was a great experience and I would both recommend to others and go back for a second visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mangotree42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thanks guys for taking the time out to write about your experience here at X'tan Ha Resort. We would appreciate that second visit as well as those from your friends. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This place is awesome!! My boyfriend and I stayed for 8 nights and enjoyed every aspect of our stay at the X'tan Ha Resort. Our rooms, the beach, the pool,.. absolutely everything was stunning and well maintained. Plenty of friendly, helpful staff always eager to assist you or just to say hello. The owner's dog, Buddy, was ultra-friendly and gentle; I miss him already!! The bartenders (Marco, Elder, and Alex, to name a few) offered exceptional service and created some very tasty drinks... I had more than a few coconut mojitos!

This resort is easy to get to and everyone helps to ensure you make connections with flights, water taxis, etc. We took a Tropic Air flight from the Belize airport to San Pedro which I really recommend (gorgeous view of the islands, considerably faster than the water taxi). We took the water taxi to the mainland one day for a tour going cave-tubing and to the Belize Zoo. There is a smaller water taxi which runs every 2 hours from San Pedro to the resort so it is easy to explore the town, buy groceries and souvenirs, and enjoy some local cuisine.

The Resort has kayaks, paddle-boards, a paddle-boat, and bikes for guests to use. Lots of beautiful fish to snorkel with- just a 10 minute kayak out front of the resort! We biked along the beach for 5 miles down to the Pallapa Bar which was recommended to us by one of the X'tan Ha staff and we enjoyed that too. Biking was a good way to get a closer look at the coast and neighboring resorts--- many were pretty run down, didn't look very busy, and NONE of them had a gorgeous, clean, sandy beachfront like the X'tan Ha Resort. As a beach lover, I would have been disappointed having stayed at another resort.. We enjoyed the swimming area which was also free of turtle grass and debris. (There is a lot of debris on the waterfront outside of the resort which you never know about if you stay within the resort.)

We had an INCREDIBLE vacation and we can't thank you enough for your hospitality and exceptional service!!! Thank you Oliver, Danielle, and Buddy, and all of the wonderful staff of X'tan Ha!! We can't wait to come back! :)---xo Kelly and Dustan

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We certainly enjoyed your stay with us here at X'tan Ha and especially for taking the time out share your experience. I am almost positive Buddy misses you guys too and would appreciate another visit. Here's hoping to see soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a great time at X'tan Ha. Clean, friendly staff, good food (food a bit on the expensive side), free kayaks, stand up paddle boards, and even a peddle boat to use. Stayed at three hotels in Belize and it was the only one with NO SEA GRASS. At every other resort we saw you would have to jump off the dock to get past it and go swimming, but here you could just walk right out. Made you appreciate the water that much more. Location was a little bit of a water taxi to town, but a short kayak ride to Mexico Rocks for snorkeling. Could see the edge of the reef from the beach, with blue green water in between. Gorgeous place. Had a great time and would definitely recommend it to anyone going to Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwags1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We are happy that you guys had a great time using our resort amenities. It was indeed a pleasure to host you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

X’Tan Ha, 8/28-9/9

We booked our trip to Ambergris Caye in hopes for a happy honeymoon. By booking our 12 night stay at X’Tan Ha, we experienced a trip beyond what we ever dreamed it would be. This quaint little piece of paradise allowed us to settle into a true escape from the every day life and worries, and just nestle in to the beauty of Belize.

From the moment we booked our resort reservation, I knew we were in excellent hands. Miriam made sure every detail was taken care of, and was prompt in response to any questions that we had. She arranged our transportation on Tropic Air and ensured that a driver would be there to take us from the airport to the water taxi. The transition in travel was seamless.

X’Tan Ha is a beautiful resort tucked up North. It is simple, yet exquisite. We enjoyed the short boat ride across turquoise blue water and when the taxi docked, were immediately greeted by Angel, who happily took care of our luggage for us. As we made our way up the rich brown dock, Kamin welcomed us with two delicious and refreshing rum punch drinks, prepared by Hill, the happy bartender. Man…those hit the spot after a long day of traveling!

We signed in, and were shown to our room. As Kamin led us there, he pointed out different parts of the resort and gave us recommendations for local attractions and places to eat. Opening the door to our room, we were pleasantly surprised at how much better it appeared in person, than even the great photos displayed online. Beautiful details, with festive throw pillows, rich brown woodwork…and even sweet little flowers placed on the towels and bed. Beautiful! This was the place we would call home for the next 12 nights!

We unpacked and headed to the on-site restaurant, Temple Run Tavern. Greeted with smiles and a fun atmosphere, the two waiters chatted with us and we ordered our first meal. The crab roll and lobster roll sandwiches were very good! Our first day continued with drinks down at the bar and swimming in the bath-like shallow water of the beautiful X’Tan Ha resort. Paradise!

As our 12 days went on, we enjoyed drinks with Hill and Chee (AMAZING bartenders!), many meals at the Temple Run Tavern (the nightly specials were out of this world, and the head chef was always interactive and great to talk with), and multiple excursions with No Worries Tours (they were great to snorkel, fish, and dive with!).

If you don’t care to eat at the resort every day, I would absolutely recommend stopping for groceries on your way in. The two we found to be there best value and quality for the money were the Big Tree and the Green House, both walking distance from the airport and where you’d meet your shuttle. You can also buy beer and other alcohol in town, if you prefer to make your own drinks and save a few bucks. I don’t feel at all that the food or drinks were overpriced or low value at the resort…in fact, we ate there most days…but there are other options if you want to mix it up a bit, or are looking to safe a few. The kitchenette has everything you need to prepare and cook food. And, a nice perk is that the hotel provides each room with a 5 gallon water dispenser of filtered water…and they refill it when it’s out. As far as in town eating, the Wild Mango was a favorite (crème mojito was so good), along with Caramba’s (delish and inexpensive lobster!). We took advantage of the free shuttles on Tuesdays and Thursdays to get groceries and eat in town…very helpful!

One thing that stood out for us well, was meeting Oliver and Della (and Buddy too...coolest dog ever!). They are the managers there and they were always present and very welcoming and friendly. They even invited us for ice cream one night before we left to head home. What a great couple…and super managers! By the time we left, they felt like family ☺

I believe our favorite part of the entire trip, was discovering 2 days before we headed home, that we were going to be parents! What an incredible way to end our stay there, and a memorable and beautiful place to find out such big news! We can’t wait to return to X’Tan Ha, and to bring our first born back with us!

So…in a nutshell, we would absolutely recommend this place to everyone and anyone we know. It’s a phenomenal resort, and we can’t wait to return to see what great changes they come up with…and to see our friends we met there! See you again soon, X’Tan Ha family!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janelleandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you guys for what I must say are a very vivid recollection of your stay with us. Congrats on your pregnancy and we do look forward to seeing you all on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
8.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
794 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
4.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,341 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
858 reviews
3.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X'tan Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X'tan Ha Resort

Property: X'tan Ha Resort
Address: | 7.2 Mls. North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — X'tan Ha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a tranquil, luxurious and romantic destination at X'tan Ha Resort, located just 7.2 Miles North of San Pedro Town. This truly exotic, tropical resort offers one bedroom suites, with spacious kitchens and living areas. Each villa offers a private verandah overlooking the pristine Caribbean Sea. X'tan Ha offers complimentary water sports- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, hobie cat sailing, and a water trampoline. X'tan Ha offers complimentary transfers upon arrival/departure from/to San Pedro town upon arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your X'tan Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Belize Legacy Beach
X'Tan Ha Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing