We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to paradise.”
Review of X'tan Ha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
X'tan Ha Resort
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I were celebrating our 5 year wedding anniversary and I booked the trip without knowing anything about the hotel. The pictures online do not do this place justice. It was absolutely GORGEOUS!!
From the moment we arrived, we were treated by staff like royalty. Carrying our luggage to the ocean view suite we had rented and making sure we had not a worry in the world.
The food at the Temple Run restaurant was delicious. The wait staff was always friendly and offered a lot of advice as to what we may enjoy doing during our stay.
The resort offers complimentary kayaks which my wife and I used to do some exploring and picture taking.
Everyone at the hotel was genuinely nice and sincere.
We also highly recommend the tours offered on the resort. We participated in the snorkelling and reef fishing expedition. We were out for most of the day catching fish and the tour operators took us onto a beach where they cooked the fish we had caught and it was amazing!
One thing to keep in mind, is that when you land in Belize City, you may want to consider taking the extra flight to San Pedro which is what we had decided to do.
The weather was great, and even the few mornings of rain were welcome and did not stop us from having an absolutely wonderful time.
Great accomodations, the best food, wonderful staff in the middle of Paradise. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the ocean view room ... it's worth it and does not cost that much more!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Your comments are welcomed by the management and staff here at X’tan Ha Resort. We are pleased that you got to explore whilst relaxing here at the resort. Thanks for taking the time out to share your experience and we do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for X'tan Ha Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 629 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

X'tan Ha is an amazing resort! With a majestic view and the best beach on San Pedro Island, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Belize! The staff are kind, friendly, professional, and will make every effort to accommodate your wants and needs. Caretakers Della & Oliver are the best! The beach bar is a definite gathering spot for guests and the bartender, Elder, is always smiling, upbeat, and makes the best drinks. Guests from other resorts came to experience the ambiance and friendly atmosphere of the beach bar on a regular basis. The resort tries to make everyone feel at home, hosting bonfires and beach BBQ's, which all guests are welcome and encouraged to attend. They really do treat you like family! Resort staff will also help you to schedule tours through the No Worries Tour company located right at the resort. Snorkeling, diving, cave tours, zip lining, fishing, or whatever you might be interested in, they will make it happen! We did everything but the zip lining and loved every minute of each of the tours! No Worries even cooked up our day's catch and prepared a beach BBQ for our small group! During my 7-day stay I made many new friends from all across the states. We had so much fun together, we've kept in touch and hope to go back to X'tan Ha for another trip together! I highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the beach offer a short walk to the beach and the beach bar, but really the layout...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

It was indeed a pleasure to host you guys and we do appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience. We are happy that you got a chance to feel that family unit that i am sure you read about. All of us here at X'tan Ha have a genuine interest in all our guests from arrival thru departure and it has been and always will be our aim to ensure that this is maintained.

We will be keeping an eye out for your reservations soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

loved the resort. Staff super friendly. Highly recommend this place, had a terrific view of the water and pool. The food was good at the restaurant, staff took pride in helping,beach was beautiful!!!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank stacey845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Few words with a big impact. Thanks for taking the time to write and we are grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Weekend getaway and picnic, while we made most of our personal arrangements for our picnic of 40 add people, the resort was the perfect location for privacy. The staff was outstanding and helpful and made every effort to accommodate our needs, from reception, housekeeping, and maintenance personnel. As a individuals and as a groups we had the perfect experience and definitely I recommend X'tan Ha as the best resort in San Pedro. While most of our groups was composed of local San Pedro residents we were welcome as any foreign tourist would be , definitely we were welcome with opened arms and made to feel as one more group of travelers from abroad.

Room Tip: Oceanfront either ground level or second floor are wonderful, especially on the north side as it pro...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilbert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We are glad that you had a firsthand opportunity to experience the welcoming feeling here at X’tan Ha. We pride ourselves of being in the hospitality industry thus ensuring that all guests (local/foreign) are treated the same. Thanks for taking the time to write your experience and we do look forward to seeing you guys soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I can't say enough about this place! It was paradise from the minute we arrived. Originally planning on only staying 3 nights we extended our stay to 7 nights. If you are looking for paradise, this is it! The staff was incredible! Very professional and inviting. And the location was out of this world! Unbelievable beach, clear blue water, tons of water activities (paddle boards, kayaks, bikes, etc), onsite dive shop, outstanding restaurant, and the most incredible tiki beach bar right on the water (one of the only beach bars at any resort directly on the water). This was more than a vacation, it was a fantasy come true. Thanks again to the wonderful people (turned friends) for the most amazing week!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mermaid06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

It is always a rush for us here at X’tan Ha when we read comments or reviews like these. We are happy that you got to enjoy your stay and in turn create some fond memories for yourselves.

We are hoping that even if your next stay is not with us that you get to create even more fond memories and share them. Thanks for taking the time out to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We loved this place. Of all the reviews I had read before booking, I knew that it would be the best selection. They met us at the airport, drove us to the water taxi & gave us a welcome drink--all free. Before getting on the taxi, the driver stopped at a grocery store so that we could buy beer for our fridge. Every room is a suite w/kitchen. They furnish coffee, sugar & cream. All employees were extremely nice. The kitchen manager gave us her Key Lime pie recipe (that was the best we had ever had in our lives!) & even gave us 2 cans of the special condensed milk required to make it! Our waiter, Alfred, was so sweet that we still miss him! We went in Sept, so there were very few other guests, so we felt like we had our own private resort! But with a small crowd, we had fun visiting w/them. The hotel is 7 miles from the main town of San Pedro, so you have to take a fast, bumpy motorboat taxi. We went to town twice & there's not much to see there, so it wasn't a problem being far from it. Hotel provides free taxi rides 2 days a week. One day, we took a taxi to town & then the ferry from there to Caye Caulker & had a nice time seeing everything there, but were glad we chose Ambergris Caye to stay on. I gave the surrounding area of the hotel a low rating, because a walk down the beach in either direction outside of our hotel grounds was nasty w/washed up trash--no fault of our hotel. Panama is in the same condition. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We had a pool view, but we still had the ocean view immediately beyond it and could hear the surf.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voyzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

We thank you for taking the time out to provide us with your feedback and educating our future guests as what to expect. It was indeed our pleasure to serve you guys and we do look forward to seeing you on your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to stay at X'tan Ha (pronounced - "ish-tan-ha) after extensively researching San Pedro Hotels. Initially, our main focus was the seclusion - I will get back to that later. We were sold on the peaceful, white sandy beach with swimmable, clear, aqua blue water.
And it provides all of that.

For eye candy purposes we liked the colorful Tiki Hut designed cabanas. Our room had a great view of the ocean, living room, kitchen and huge (king?) sized bed. Yes, there was hot water in the bathroom.

Arriving at the resort by complimentary water taxi (Captain Sydney was the BEST) we were greeted by two staff members. One friendly guy took our luggage directly to our room, while Jose gave us a verbal tour of the grounds and accommodations. Thankfully he checked us in rather quickly.

We changed into our bathing suits and we went swimming. X'tan-ha has one of the best swimmable beaches on the Caye. The water was refreshing and transparent. They have a trampoline with a water slide and volley ball net set up in the water for your pleasure. The bar is conveniently located on the beach and Chi was a really nice and informative dude. They also have other beach activities; kayaks, snorkeling gear, peddle boats and paddle boards. Of course they had beach chairs for lounging and a hammock. Sadly, we missed the bon-fire on the beach the first night!

The staff was cool and everyone was friendly. I like that they do not bring their problems to work and even dealing with me (a virgo) lol, they always gave their best side and it was sincere. They are very accommodating and get you anything you need.

One thing that did bother us was the fact that X'tan-ha is soooo secluded and they only have one restaurant and the food is below average. My opinion, obviously, this was the worst food we had in Belize. To be fair, we only ate local food thereafter, so the bar was set high. On top of that they do not stay open continuously throughout the day. The one and only restaurant closes at 5pm to set up for dinner (6pm-9pm). When you are this secluded you definitely need more than one option for food and there should never be down time to accommodate your guests dining needs.

Yes, they do have a store - off of the property - that you can order food for delivery. I recall hearing that there was at least a $20 delivery FEE?!?! I could be wrong on the amount but there is definitely a fee to deliver.

I have already reiterated how friendly the people are...well the mosquitos love you too, ha. My girlfriend had OFF and they were still ON her.

It wasn't that serious but...we initially booked an early morning excursion through the Activities center on the Hotel property. The only rain during our entire trip occurred late in the am of first night and continued until late morning. Luckily we decided to cancel. We were later offered the same excursion from a different company for half of the original price we were originally quoted. Belize's number one source of income is from the tourist industry. Do some research on excursion and companies as the price can fluctuate dramatically.

By afternoon the sun was shining and we decided to take a Kayak out to the famous Mexican Rocks. It's about a 15 minute paddle out. We had an underwater camera and captured yellow-tails, nurse sharks and groupers in pictures and videos. That was worth the stay in itself.

....getting back to that. I really enjoyed the seclusion at X'tan Ha had to offer. Although we initially came for that private getaway, we changed our minds and decided to explore Belize more in depth. You are committed to take the 8:30pm water shuttle from town to X'tan Ha. We knew this schedule would not be ideal for our plan.

We expressed interest to the hotel and Ludrick from X'tan Ha informed us we can stay at one of their two sister resorts that was closer to town (3 miles away). We decided to take them up on the offer and they scheduled a complimentary water shuttle to take us to The Belizean Shores (review pending). No extra charge for the Hotel change at all. Thanks Guys!!!

If you are looking for seclusion and like to get to bed early, this place is perfect. The best beach, peace and quiet and a friendly staff in a tropical environment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Damon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time out and providing us with a detailed account of your stay with us. Please note that all documented comments are deemed important and as such are addressed with the utmost urgency.
In light of this our restaurant is in the process of both updating and expanding their menu so as to ensure all our customers are satisfied. Furthermore since you are now well versed with our layout and logistics we do hope that on your next visit you may seriously take us into consideration.
Thank you once again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.4 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
235 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
4.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,357 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
875 reviews
1.2 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X'tan Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X'tan Ha Resort

Address: | 7.2 Mls. North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $157 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — X'tan Ha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a tranquil, luxurious and romantic destination at X'tan Ha Resort, located just 7.2 Miles North of San Pedro Town. This truly exotic, tropical resort offers one bedroom suites, with spacious kitchens and living areas. Each villa offers a private verandah overlooking the pristine Caribbean Sea. X'tan Ha offers complimentary water sports- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, hobie cat sailing, and a water trampoline. X'tan Ha offers complimentary transfers upon arrival/departure from/to San Pedro town upon arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your X'tan Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Belize Legacy Beach
X'Tan Ha Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing