We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mehh....”
Review of Coral Bay Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The place is perfectly "fine," but if you're looking for help with trips, or access to town, it's a bust.

We stayed 4 nights. We dove two days and had to set those up ourselves both times. We tried to take bikes into town once and every bike had a problem. One had no chain, another had a flat tire, and the last had the seat post soddered on in the position for a 6'10 person. BUST. It probably affected us that the place was absolutely covered with mosquitos and down a semi-dark alley where some scary dog ran out and almost bit my wife, as we both ran from the dog.

The pool is ok, the hot tub is fine, it's close enough to the grocery if you rent a golf cart. The actual unit is fine, except incredibly hot. Granted, we were there Jule 1-4 or thereabouts, but the ceiling fans in the living room and kitchen didn't have cords, so we couldn't turn up the fan speed, and the heat just sat there while the fan speeds were on the lowest setting.

The bedroom had AC, or an AC unit, but even when we left it on the highest setting with the door closed, it still barely lowered the temperature to something tolerable. We'd still sweat in our sleep. And we just came from placencia, staying at the Green Parrott where we had no AC and made it work just fine.

The Kitchen is nice, with lots of utencils, ziplock containers, cutting boards, you name it.
I guess if you already have stuff planned on the island, and have a golf cart rented, and don't mind the heat, it's just fine. Not unclean or anything, just kind of simple, away from town, and not near a lot of food/ drinking/ entertainment.

We agreed that if we go back we'd stay someplace a bit bigger. But in all fairness, the price was right. 109 US plus tax.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a better view - No elevator fyi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin_2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talkitout, Manager at Coral Bay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

We are very sorry that you were not happy during your stay at Coral Bay Villas. We wish we would have known that you were experiencing difficulties as one of our employees would have rectified the situation immediately. We at Coral Bay Villas have always prided ourselves in providing outstanding accommodations, amenities and services for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 117 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Picture postcard perfect from the hammocks swaying from the palms on the beach right down to the French doors opening out onto your patio and the pool. Spotlessly clean, quiet, spacious, perfectly kept up, cool breezes - we loved it here. Close by is Marina's grocery store, an excellent bakery (called "The Bakery") a fruit stand, a laundry (was it called "Jennifer's"?) and several restaurants. The main part of downtown was a longish stroll down the beach or you could borrow the villa's bicycles. The villa has an office staffed by a friendly receptionist who will help you arrange tours. What a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JennBCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed one week at the resort and absolutely loved it and would go back. There are very few rooms and even though it was full, it didn't feel crowded at all. The pool and hot tub are right on the beach in a private 'yard' which is bordered with plants for privacy, with hammocks and a grill. There is a couple who lives there 6 months out of the year and they were excellent. They suggested taking the kayak out to the reef which we did. I wish we had done it earlier because we could have spent days exploring that reef. They also had excellent restaurant advise. The room was huge and clean. The location is excellent. Bring a flashlight (there was one in the drawer too actually) and walk along the beach at night. We saw lobsters and fish on our walks. Get up early and watch the sun rise from the private yard. There is a woman who works in the office who I found to be unnecessarily rude. We got them to do our laundry for $13 us which was great b/c we had another week of vacation to go after leaving san pedro. Overall, we loved it. Hotel next door was same price an d not nearly as nice (we had a relative staying there). But the beach bar next door was excellent, and inexpensive. They only serve breakfast & lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LumaLisa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just got back from 10 glorious days on Ambergris caye, Belize at Coral Bay Villas. This faciliity is not new but is well kept and very comfortable and clean. The staff is very freindly and helpful from AnnMarie at the front desk booking trips and providing local infomation, Roxie keeping the condos clean and tidy, Abraham keeping the outside areas clean and maintained, and last but not least Oscar keeping the place safe at night you couldn't ask for a nicer bunch. This facility had a pool and hot tub installed about 3 years ago and is the focal point of the front of this property. As a matter of fact a wedding party from the place next door came over to take their photo's around the pool. This condo is located easy walking distance from town, local markets and super markets. The area is quiet and peacful while still having access to all the night life you might crave. Lots of restaurants are located nearby with something for everyone. The views from the condo are spectacular wether you are looking at the palm trees busting with coconuts surounding the pool and lining the property or watching the Caribbean crash onto the barrier reef yours eyes will not get tired of it.

Room Tip: the ground units are walk out to the pool but all have patios facing the pool and the ocean. the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank diggy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were so lucky to find and pick this great please...We were there 7 days and walked or road the bikes while we were there ! No car or Golf cart ! The bikes were free to use . The kayak was free to use as well and it was a 20 min. paddle to the reef where we tied up an snorkeled each day.
Could not have found a better place!! The staff were friendly and helped in more ways then one . Stay here you will love it too.
Karl & Julie

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KARL911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had a hard time deciding between three resorts, but after going to Ambergris, I am convinced I could not have made a better choice. It was far enough from town that it was quiet, but close enough that you could experience lots of different restaurants, bars, and shops. The air conditioner made the bedroom frosty-cold, everything was mahogany, there was plenty of hot water, and it was cleaner than our house by a LONG shot. Super Buy and The Bakery are really close. We watched the sun rise from our private balcony almost every morning - the exception was the morning we went to the pier next door to watch it :) We saw baby rays and bonefish in the shallows. The hot tub and pool were fantastic. PS: I accidentally marked "workout facility" and "room service" as "terrible" - there was no N/A option. They don't have these things, but you won't miss them a bit.

Room Tip: I would take a second floor room every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This condo was everything we needed and more. The one bedroom unit had plenty of room for my husband and me. The kitchen was a nice perk for keeping some breakfast items, drinks, and snacks on hand. It was also within walking distance to a few grocery stores and we tended to pick up items here and there as we were walking home. We also made use of the bikes available to pick up groceries and to go in to town for lunch. Ann Marie in the office arranged two tours for us; a day of snorkeling with lunch on Caye Caulker with El Gato Tours and a day of fishing, snorkeling and a beach BBQ with Severo Guerrero. Both tours were awesome and fairly priced. It was so nice to be picked up at the dock right outside! The pool area was beautiful and well maintained. The property in general was very well taken care of. The staff was great…always out and about doing their daily tasks and offering a friendly hello. The rooms were cleaned daily except for Sundays and we were able to have a load of laundry done for $5. Though I always felt safe, it was nice to know that there was a security guard there all night as was the fact that there are two lock boxes in the condo for valuables. There is A/C only in the bedroom but it wasn’t needed much in January. There was always a nice ocean breeze coming in from the open balcony doors and windows. The location seemed perfect. We had considered staying closer to town but are glad we didn’t. It was nice being in a quieter area and the 15 minute walk was worth that. Hands down, the number one reason to choose Coral Bay Villas is the view! It was great to sit on the balcony every morning and evening enjoying the view and the breeze. If you’re looking for a quiet place to stay that’s still close to town and has all the amenities of a home away from home I would highly recommend Coral Bay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank purpletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#28 of 55 in San Pedro
845 reviews
0.7 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#13 of 55 in San Pedro
1,108 reviews
10 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 55 in San Pedro
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 55 in San Pedro
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#12 of 55 in San Pedro
1,368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
#47 of 55 in San Pedro
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Villas

Address: Sea Grape Dr | Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range: $104 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Bay Villas offers a spectacular, unobstructed view of the Caribbean Sea from our six fully furnished, spacious, one bedroom, one bath, beach front condos. Our condos are on the beach in a quiet, relaxed setting with beautiful white sandy beaches and tropical breezes, yet located close enough to enjoy the sites and sounds of downtown San Pedro, a short fifteen minute walk down the beach. There are many restaurants and markets nearby our hotel for your convenience. We offer Cable TV , complimentary WiFi , have a beautiful swimming pool, Jacuzzi, complimentary bicycles and a two-seater Kayak. We can assist you in arranging snorkeling, diving and other excursions with pick up/drop off on the nearby dock. Coral Bay Villas is perfectly suited for single or double occupancy catering to those over eighteen years of age. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coral Bay Villas Hotel San Pedro
Coral Bay Villas Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing