We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic place to stay!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Sands Cove Resort
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Kent Lakes, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place to stay!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2007

We just got back from a wedding anniversary trip to White Sands Cove. We had a fantastic time and found White Sands Cove Resort to have everything we wanted and more!! The owners: Michelle, Marilyn, Mark and Stephanie were gracious, warm and very helpful. We immediately felt it was our home away from home. We are both gardeners and appreciated how beautiful the grounds were with very pleasing plantings around the property. Marlon, the manager, made all our excursion reservations, and there was no lack of wonderful things to do. My husband and I took several snorkeling excursions and twice rented a kyak and made the 15 minute 'trip' to the reef where we had a magnificent time snorkeling. White Sands Cove is in the perfect location, close enough to town to easily bike or walk in which we did several times. In addition we biked to the north end for romantic lunches on the beach. We spent relaxing time also at the pool, swinging in hammocks, and sitting on our deck. We could not have been happier with our choice of resort!

Helpful?
1 Thank NYAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    43
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
79
248
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We were at White Sands Cove in early June and fell in love with the property! We arrived to a greeting from the owner herself and two of her dogs, which immediately made us feel at home. After getting situated in our condo (just feet from the water), she helped us out in finding a place for dinner and offered more help in the morning concerning the rest of our stay.
Our condo was like a mini apartment with a full kitchen including all cooking items you would need to make a meal at "home." Because we were directly by the ocean, the front room had a lot of windows to allow the sea breezes in. The back bedroom was air conditioned which gave us a comfortable place to sleep as well as that dry cold air you just need sometimes. Each day the condo was cleaned and the cleaning staff did a wonderful job.
Marlon was the man to go to for anything and everything you would want or need. He set up restaurant reservations for us, got us an ocean kayak (you definitely need to do - snorkel out on the reef), and one evening when the water taxi was full, he called for another one to come and pick us up. Very great man and made our stay there very easy, particularly since we hadn't visited San Pedro before.
Our main excursions were diving excursions. The resort has a dive shop on site with a very experienced dive master, Elbert. In fact he instructed several people staying there the same week to get their SCUBA certification. I looked online and read many reviews about the dive shops on the island, good and bad. The dive shop had very good equipment and in good shape. And sometimes you just don't know what you get when you rent equipment in another country. Tony and Louis are the two dive tour guides who took us out on our dives. Because this resort wasn't overly populated with divers, we were actually able to personalize our dives and Tony took us to where we were interested and considered our level of diving in choosing the sites. We really were comfortable with him.
The pool was very refreshing and clean with plenty of cushioned lounge chairs to lay in and shade provided by palm trees and a palapa. There were also several chairs on the beach area if you would rather stare out at the blue, blue ocean.
There is also a beach bar with great bartenders who introduced us to some great drinks. Make sure you ask Brian to make you a BBCK - yum yum!
Overall, it is a small resort with a lot of charm. We have done the large beach resorts in other areas in the Carribean. White Sands provided us with service that we probably wouldn't have gotten at the larger resorts. The owner and her family live there and are willing to help out if you need anything. Yes, there are 4 dogs there that belong to them. I was a little apprehensive about that after reading a review about the place, but they were no problem at all. First of all, they do not run free all day long. I never heard them bark. They were not in the swimming pool as one reviewer remarked, and they were very friendly. They were not aggressive and it was actually nice having them there.
White Sands Cove Resort was a great choice for our 10th wedding anniversary. It is also a great place to get married. A wedding took place on the beach and it was beautiful. There is a sea wall so you cannot walk into the ocean. But on the pier there is a ladder so that you can get directly in the ocean to swim or snorkel. It is a resort that is far enough away from San Pedro so it is quiet. The only sounds you hear are the waves crashing at the reef and the wind blowing through the palm trees.
Obviously by my rambling on, I cannot say enough about the place. I would definitely go back and stay there again.

  • Liked — The views and the hospitality.
  • Disliked — I can't think of a thing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bs122196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

My friend Sara and I just got back from an amazing trip in Belize. We spent days searching for the perfect place to stay, searching the internet and reading tons of reviews for resorts on Ambergris Caye (we even made a spreadsheet to keep track of everything!). We wanted something on the ocean, close to town, with a nice pool, and a great bar. We found all that and MORE at White Sands Cove! We booked our room through Howard who was so nice, knowledgeable and accommodating.

First I have to say, our stay would not have been as magical without Brian the bartender! Not only does he do his job well, he is fun, warm and welcoming to all guests! After only a few hours, Brian knew what kind of drinks to make for me (sweet and fruity) and what to make for Sara (hard core). We met up with Brian when we went into town to party our second night there and had such a great time. Everyone on the island seems to know Brian, because we met a lot of the local people with him. A few days later, Brian and Stephanie (his sweet, lovely girlfriend) went out with us where we met more friendly people and had a great time!

I was so pleasantly surprised when we first arrived at White Sands to see dogs roaming around the grounds. They make the resort feel like home. Kira (one of the 4 puppies) has such a mischievous temperament; you can’t help but laugh at her antics. All the other dogs (5) are such loves too! The owners Michelle and Marilynn were so nice and helpful. We had a great time getting to know them and their family while hanging around the resort bar. Our room was awesome. We stayed in H3 towards the back of the resort which had two bedrooms and two bathrooms. It was clean, comfortable and felt like home. The other staff at the resort made our adventures easy to setup and worry-free. Marlin was always helpful either setting up our tours or recommending places to eat.

Finally, all tours should be done through Tanisha Tours with Daniel. The other tour companies don’t compare to the care and adventure that you get with Daniel. We went to Lamenai with him and it was remarkable. He is very knowledgeable about his country and the sites that he takes you to. We were so amazed by the day we spent with him that we invited him to have a drink at our resort at the end of the long day.


  • Liked — Brian and the family that owns the resort
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SassyDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, OR
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2007

May 10-16, 2007. We booked our condo directly thru the resort and couldn't have been happier with our stay. Marilyn was a delight to deal with, both while we were planning the trip, and also once we arrived. Am amused at complaints about the beach grass which, after all, supports an amazing variety of fish life. The distance from town is a plus, not a negative. Bicycles rent for $5 per day if you aren't up for the 2-1/2 mile walk to town. Renting a kayak ($10/day) and paddling to the reef produced some of the best snorkeling we've seen. White Sands Cove is a beautiful first class operation. Would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to that part of Belize.

  • Liked — Roominess. Kitchen facilities.
  • Disliked — Rough road to town.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruger55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2007

First marriage, first honeymoon, first time in Belize... thank God we stayed at White Sands Cove!

The staff, I hate calling them that for they are now friends, was incredibly accommodating from our arrival to our departure. Their willingness and ability to organize all of our days trips to the mainland or snorkel around the island eased our minds enabling us to enjoy more time together- just ask Marlon!

Owned and operated by a charming family from the states, Mark, Mariland, Michelle, and Stephanie both share and provide a quality of life that is so infectious we are already planning another trip down. However, next time we won't plan so many day trips away on land... more snorkeling and diving closer to home for sure! The reef is just a short paddle away in a kayak provided and delivered to the shore by WSC- just ask Marlon!

Their dogs are well mannered but hysterical when playing around. Each has a character of their own while helping provide a feeling of security after the sun sets- similar to that of home.

The condos are immaculate and kept so daily by lovely Belizean women. The showers are huge (even roomy enough for two :))! The beds are comfy with soft sheets and pillows. The kitchens are spacious and well stocked with cooking utensils if you want to stay in and cook your fresh catch or prepare a dish to share at a pot luck at the bar.

As for the bar, there is not enough room to list all of the delicious drinks Brian makes to order, but you must try a banana colada or a Chi Chi Mama. Although every one is delicious, the quality of Brian's drinks are not his only strong points...also are his character and disposition. Ask him for food recommendations along with night time activities in town- he was right on the money everytime!

All in all, not only is WSC a perfect place to stay if you want a relaxed atmosphere, but it is also a place to stay if you want friendly and honest people waiting for you when you return from an organized excursion or an independent adventure in paradise. Expect to be spoiled, not coddled.

P.S. We are still suffering from post vacation depression- see you again soon White Sands Cove!

John and Molly McGee Burge, Nashville, TN
May 7- May 19, 2007 (we extended our stay an extra day!)

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank molitoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

My husband and I just got back from a week on Ambergris Caye. It was one of the best trips we've taken and White Sands was the perfect home base!

Unlike some other trips where we've had to make reservations months in advance for dinners and plan everything to excess, all we had to do was show up at White Sands. Michelle and Marilyn organized all of our excursions and even went out of their way to change one of the reservations late in the evening (I'd been to scared to go zip lining until I had a few margaritas and got talked into it). We did cave tubing + zip lining. The best! Plus, it gave us a chance to see the mainland and lots of howler monkeys.

I walked into the dive shop to plan some snorkeling trips and Elbert put us on a boat that afternoon to snorkel at Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley (spectacular!) We also snorkeled at Mexico Rocks. Luis, our guide, was really fun and totally knowledgeable. He also let us dive for conch.

There are tons of shady spots on the property and around the pool perfect for reading, napping and enjoying the amazing view. Brian the bartender is tons of fun and makes delicious, stiff drinks. We met really cool people and spent many a night playing dice at the bar.

There are 6 dogs onsite - 2 mellow big dogs and four small, sweet and playful ones. I invited one of them in and he took a few naps in our room during our stay.

Our room was a one bedroom sea front. Comfy bed, great working kitchen, spectacular view.

There is not much water pressure at all. I know that there is a water shortage on the island and I am all for conserving. But, after a sandy, salty, sweaty day, it got a little frustrating.

People complained about the lack of a walk in beach, but anyone who does their research on Belize should no that because of the reef, there aren't white sandy walk in beaches. We were more than happy to swim in the pool or off the dock.

We will definitely go back! The only question is: how soon can we?

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — Water Pressure
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahred522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful stay in Belize at White Sands Cove Resort. I cannot say enough good things about this place...it's perfect! The resort grounds are kept in beautiful condition with tropical flowers everywhere. They even had banana trees on the property and offered fresh ripe bananas to the guests in the morning. The groundskeepers rake the beach daily and the pool is crystal clear. We absolutely LOVED our room. The bed was really comfortable and we loved the way everything was decorated.

The owners are wonderful and really go out of their way to make you feel like you're one of the family. They were helpful all the way through the booking process and answered a million questions that we had. They hung out with us at the bar in the evening and are really warm and genuine people. We loved all of their dogs too!

The bar is a fun place to hang out where we placed cards and the dice game threes with other gusts and the bartender Brian. Speaking of Brian, you HAVE to try his Pina Coladas. They are amazing. By the end of our trip were begging for the recipe so we could recreate these tasty concoctions at home!

We had spectacular dive trips courtesy of Elbert, Tony and Luis who work at the on-site dive shop. They were great and very patient with me when I had some trouble with my ears on one of the days.

All in all, we had such a great time and didn't want to leave. We have never been back to the same place twice, but I have a feeling White Sands Cove will be seeing us again very soon!

  • Liked — The owners and staff were top notch
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank inlovewithdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
775 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
136 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
941 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Cove Resort

Property: White Sands Cove Resort
Address: Laguna De Cayo Frances | 2.5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Sands Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away among tropical fauna and turquoise waters, White Sands Cove Resort sits 2.5 miles north of San Pedro, on the Island of Ambergris Caye. Just off the coast of Belize, our cozy boutique resort is tastefully defined by its unique balance of tranquility and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Cove Hotel San Pedro
Hotel White Sands Cove
White Sands Cove Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing