We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveler rating
526
62
23
8
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
526
62
23
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi ambergris caye golf cart fish secret beach truck stop dive shop every morning rum punch full kitchen free bikes the property manager in town the entire staff bike ride palapa bar feel like family
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 619 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2019

We didn’t stay here so no comments on the room, however, we spent a lot of our trip on property as it’s a beautiful place to hang out, eat/drink, and just have a zenfull day doing whatever you want (as long as you buy from the bar).

Everyone was incredibly nice and chatty from the owners, the bar staff, grounds people, and other visitors. Really a great atmosphere from getting away from the noise. Everything we could see was well taken care of.

Iris (the Bar Lead) was a massive help and made our vacation better than we could ask for. She really went the extra mile to share points of interest for us to see and do, where to eat like locals and experience things not as expats, and what’s really worth our time and money in San Pedro as she grew up there. Her recommendations were on point and made our vacation a dream one.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JAMUSAURUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I just spent an amazing week at White Sands Cove. The condo (B4) was immaculate, large, and comfortable. The small resort itself was beautifully maintained by the kindest and most accommodating staff. We can’t wait to return in the future!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank michellegJ2898EN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2019

We spent the first week of November 2019 at White Sands Cove and had a fabulous time! We'd been there 13 years ago and was happy to return to see it even more beautiful and built up with more landscaping and a great bar. Here's the highlights:

THE ROOM:
We stayed in suite B4 which is the upper right suite right on the ocean. The view from the porch was great! The suite was perfect for the 2 of us. Pretty with wood and a tropical flair, clean and tidy with a/c in the bedroom. The kitchen had all the essentials which allowed us to cook a few simple meals including scrambled eggs and also rice with sauteed veggies. We were supplied with a huge jug of fresh water on the counter and also a bottle of cold fresh water in the fridge. We used that for drinking, cooking and brushing our teeth. The queen bed was a little firm but comfortable for the week. We had plenty of pillows and towels.

THE PROPERTY:
Very pretty with lots of lush landscaping and tall palm trees that shade the beautiful swimming pool perfectly. I stayed in that pool all day on Friday. It was great. We were incredibly lucky with great weather - it was high 80's, lower humidity and continuous breezes. There were plenty of places to relax on lounge chairs in the shade. We even napped in the hammocks by the pool one day. We did not see or smell any of the seagrass mentioned in other reviews; but we did hear about it from other island visitors. I guess it can be pretty bad. I think we timed our visit just right. We got eaten alive the first night by mosquitoes and were quick to buy bugspray with Deet which helped tremendously. We went through almost the whole bottle during the week. I did bring a homemade essential oil blend for bugs and it was useless, so plan accordingly. The bar is very nice as is the awesome pier with benches and a thatched roof. There is a beach but with a cement wall blocking off the ocean. This was totally fine as you could still see the ocean perfectly and hear the sound of waves splashing in. There are 2 sets of steps you can use to walk down into the ocean to swim and explore, but just know they're very slippery. We did not use them.

THE STAFF:
The bartender, Javier, had just started his job there and was awesome! He was fun, friendly and served plenty of rum punch, pina coladas and homemade red sangria. Good stuff! The front desk staff and groundskeepers (Arnold!) were all very friendly and helpful.

THE FOOD:
There is a restaurant onsite that's part of the bar. We had breakfast one day. I loved the fry jacks dipped in syrup. Very tasty! We also had shrimp alfredo one night and shrimp nachos for lunch. It was ok. They offered free coffee with cream and sugar every day at the bar which was nice and much appreciated. The good news is there are several restaurants within a short drive from the resort including Crocs, Rain and the Truck Stop. There are several in town worth checking out as well including Caramba's and Elvi's. Also be sure to check out the Belize Chocolate Company in town. And our new favorite happy place in the Caribbean: Blue Bayou at the Secret Beach. That place is about 30 minutes away on a golf cart. Totally worth the journey to get there. Ask for a shark bite drink and the conch ceviche.

TRANSPORTATION:
Our transfers from and back to the airport were all perfect. The driver was friendly and on time. Definitely rent a golf cart so you can explore the island. It was no problem driving and parking it around town and at the resort. The staff can help you set this up.

SCUBA INFO:
We went scuba diving with Belize Pro Dive Center on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. 2 morning dives each day. They picked us up and dropped us off right at the end of the dock at the resort each day. It was perfect. Their staff was amazing and fun and the dives were incredible. Very healthy reefs with tons of fish and several nurse and black tip reef sharks.

Simply put, we can't wait to go back! I'd repeat everything we did with no regrets. Thanks to Javier, Arnold and the staff for making it a great vacation!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank CJLaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front D, Front Office Manager at White Sands Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2019

Thank you so much for your awesome review. We are truly happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff do their best for the guest to feel at home. Definitely agreeing with you about the fry jacks they are really tasty, and so good.
We are truly pleased you enjoyed your visit to the island.
Once again thank you so much for your amazing review.
We hope to see you guys again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2019 via mobile

Pros: This boutique location was cute... Definately had potential to be a great stay! The room was clean. Brittany, the bartender, made the stay! So nice! And informative.

Cons: The room we reserved online was not the room we were given upon arrival. The room we were given was not near as nice as the reserved room and the reserve room was given to someone else. When we brought this up to the manager, no compensation or alternative was offered or given.

The red tide made the stay miserable, which is no one's fault. The smell took your breath away. The sand flees made sitting and relaxing by the pool in the morning or afternoon unbearable and impossible. We did notice at the larger hotel down the road, they made more of an effort to "rope" off the water closer to shore so the red tide couldn't infiltrate the shore.. which, in return, it wasn't as "smelly".

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank taram0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front D, Front Office Manager at White Sands Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2019

Hi Tara,
First of all thank you for your review. The rooms are always clean and tidy thanks to our amazing staff.
We are truly sorry about the issue with the room. For the date of your stay the Sargassum was a huge problem which was very difficult to control since it's part of nature, but so far this year the beach has been more clear and Swimmable. We truly hope you decide to return to White Sands Cove and have a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2019

We booked based on the reviews. Mistake.
1. The shuttle didn’t pick us up, even though we paid for the service
2. Taxi is MUCH less than their shuttle and easy to hire
3. Horrid bed in unit G4. My back is in such pain
4 Power was out most of the night, and things kept beeping. Didn’t get rest at all
5 MOSQUITOES!!! They do not spray or even try and control the insects
6. They charge more for all services than can be arranged independently
7. Did I mention the bad bed????

We left two days early without a refund on the room. Should have had a refund, but escape was more important!

I hope I didn’t get dengue from the bites, the mosquitoes are immune to deet!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank IamMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front D, Front Office Manager at White Sands Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2019

Hi Holly,
First of all thank you for taking your time to share your review. Unfortunately, we are just hearing now about the failure to meet your expectations. The taxi ride that comes with all arrivals/departures to the property has been refunded to your credit card. The charge of the shuttle is a little higher than a regular cab due to the service provided of our cab driver which includes a stop at the grocery store if you wish too, or if you wish to stop anywhere else. Every cab will charge you higher to come up north considering how far it is out of town, and due to the charges to cross the bridge both ways. This is the first time we’ve received a complaint about the bed in G4, which we are truly sorry that it was not to your liking. Unfortunately, the electricity provider on the island (BEL) had scheduled mandatory maintenance for the entire island, which means all electricity for the entire island was to be shut down from 6:00am-3:00pm. The issues with the mosquitoes is a main concern to us. The maintenance guys are responsible of spraying (Black Flag) daily for the mosquitoes. Which works for couple of hours unfortunately not the entire day. Holly Once again thank you for your review and we are truly sorry that your expectations were not met. We do hope you decide to come back for your extra two nights, and enjoy your time with us. We will do our best for you to enjoy your time at White Sands Cove.
Please call the office number at 646-355-3623 (international) or 226-3528 (Belize) The General Manager would like to speak to you directly about the concerns with your stay and hopes you come back again for the 2 nights you still have with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews