We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“White Sands - a great resort in Belize!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Sands Cove Resort
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“White Sands - a great resort in Belize!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at White Sands Cove! The entire staff at WSC were so friendly and accommodating. The room was just beautiful - loft style with a great kitchenette with mini fridge, microwave, toaster, blender and coffee maker.
The hummingbird loft was located near the back of the resort, so it was quiet but also only a few steps to the pool and restaurant/bar area. There are lounge chairs and hammocks all over and a beautiful refreshing pool. The beaches in Belize are not really walk in but the resort provides complimentary kayaks so you can go out into the beautiful blue water to snorkel or you can swim off the dock. WSC also provides bikes to their guests which we used daily to bike into town - 2 miles or so but great exercise and a fun adventure. I have to mention the dive shop on site - We did about 10 dives with Pedro as our dive master where we swam with sharks, beautiful fish and sea turtles. We even had a dolphin sighting! There are many dive companies in Belize but I highly recommend this PADI certified shop! The whole crew took care of us from start to finish, very professional and entertaining! I would highly recommend WSC as well as the dive shop- we had an amazing week and would definitely come back!

Room Tip: The resort is pretty quiet overall but for additional privacy, the rooms further away from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    37
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
60
209
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, NY
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Much of what I liked best about Belize is here: I liked the warm people, the laid back attitude, and the great diving.

White Sands is a modest sized low density complex with a very nice small pool and bar area. Rarely over the Christmas/New Year's Holiday were there more than 4 or 5 people at the pool area.

The people at White Sands do a nice job. And there is an on-site dive and excursions office. Tanya and Yemen there are great. We dove several days with their dive group, Scuba School Belize. Yemen takes you from the White Sands dock each day to the dock in San Pedro where they have their boats and nearby office. They were very professional and patient (we had two people getting Certified). And they were very, very good about getting you to and from the hotel.

For travel to and from San Pedro when not diving we took the scheduled shuttle boat which took 15 minutes and worked out fine.

Our unit (C-2) was very good. It was on the second floor, one building back from the beach. The ocean was visible through some palm trees. The unit was well kept up and nicely decorated. The two bedrooms were good sized, and the Adirondack chairs on the deck were nice to sit out on. The kitchen was well equipped with pots, dishes, etc. (we met some fishermen on the dock one night and bought fresh lobster tails we sauteed one night). But since these are condo units I think each one is different--scan through the Trip Advisor reviews for some thoughts on the particular unit you are considering.

Some things that might not make White Sands a good choice for you:

-If you like nightlife. The nightlife is in San Pedro. Yes there are bikes and golf carts--but the road is not very good and it will likely be dark coming back. The shuttle boat back runs every two hours (2:30, 4:30, etc.) throughout the day. If a night cap or two on your porch or poolside is sufficient, the White Sands will do very well.
-It is a condo complex. Marlin and the small staff work hard and do a very nice job. But if you need a lot of amenities this is not the kind of facility that provides those.

Like all of Ambergris there is no beach. There are mainly stone walls or rocks. The waterfront is not particularly attractive where it meets the ocean--and can be a bit trashy. And the few attempts by other hotels or condos to create a beach were not really beaches. So don't come to anywhere on Ambergris thinking "sand beach".

We walked up and down the waterfront on the north shore. There may be a few places newer and a bit grander (like the Caribe). But I did not get a feeling that I would have enjoyed them more. I liked the low density and laid back style of the White Sands. I could see how some people could be happier being walking distance to the supermarkets, restaurants, or bars of San Pedro. But for a family of four coming to Belize for a lot of diving the on-site satellite dive shop, nice pool and bar area, and good condo unit worked out well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevenSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

stayed a few days in early Dec. staff was attentive, room was clean, beach was very nice. family oriented, quiet and peaceful. sunrise and sunsets are beautiful. WSC would be good representation of what life in Belize can be like. excellent re

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rooster955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was a great place to relax and the service was amazing! Like most Belizean places we visited the people were great. Rooms were always clean, staff always helpful. The only down sides are that it is a little out of town 3miles, and taxis are very expensive $25 US (one way) but you can use the water taxi for $5 US a person but it runs on a certain schedule and only till 830pm. There really is no beach but that's every where on the island that we saw. All in all it was a great facility.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalNLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

For our honeymoon, my husband and I wanted to stay somewhere with an intimate yet luxurious feel. We are so glad we chose White Sands! The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our every need. We arrived to a wonderful welcome drink at the bar, as well as flowers showering our bed and a lovely bottle of champagne with congratulations. We loved the location on the island (a little north of town). The complimentary bikes and kayaks are what drew our attention. Other resorts that offered these amenities were all priced much higher. We really enjoyed our accommodations on the Lagoon even though we weren't on the beachfront. We will stay at White Sands again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Honeym00ners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at White Sands Cover for three nights after spending a week caving, hiking, and exploring throughout Belize. It was perfect.

Location - You are a $20 cab ride North of San Pedro or a $5 water taxi ride that drops you off on the dock right on the beach. Taking the water taxi at night in itself was a fun experience. Plus, you are walking distance to a few great places. I went to Palapa everyday I was here (5 min bike ride, 15 minute walk on the beach) There are also a few other good restaurants within a 10min beach walk.

Staff - This sold the place to me. Everyone was amazing. My dad wasn't feeling well towards this side of the trip and we were given special local concoctions by the bartender to help his stomach. Ben & Nicki were always around and always giving input on where to go and what to do. Marlon was great. Our DVD player wasn't working so he literally gave me his until they figured out a way to fix it.

Grounds - It is one of the least dense resorts on a great little beach. Nice pool with a bar serving cheap drinks. $2 Rum Punches from 1-5 = Trouble. Palm trees lining the sand. Paradise.

Rooms - Full sized fridge, kitchen, bed, TV, extra couch in the living room. Not luxury, but definitely nice & clean & maintained. I didn't realize until the last day that it is actually part condo so all the rooms are a bedroom plus good sized living room and full kitchen.

Trips - my dad and I took a snorkeling trip and had the guide to ourselves. We swam around Mexico Rocks for 2-2.5 hours.

Food - Not great, but with great restaurants close by, doesn't affect anything. Plus, the drinks are really good.

All & All - Great experience in a great place. I don't visit many places twice, but would come back to White Sands.

Room Tip: If you like beach bars, go to Palapa. Also, there are tons of great restaurants right around the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamboJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

"My boyfriend and I arrived at White Sands Cove on Saturday after a week long adventure on the mainland - at Sleeping Giant Jungle Lodge and Jaguar Reef. After an amazing week at two fantastic resorts, we were excited to get to San Pedro and enjoy the last portion of our trip.

When we arrived to White Sands Cove, we were elated with the location and proximity to the water, but generally very disappointed by the accommodations and staff. Our unit was outdated and had a horrible musty smell (most likely from the food items left in the refrigerator from the previous guest). The toilet was also broken and never fully flushed after each use. I understand that the units are condos, so each unit may be different.

The part of White Sands I was most disappointed by was the service. Besides one person, I found the staff to be generally unfriendly and lazy. The customer service of the poolside bartender/waitress was laughable; she was contantly on her cell phone and acted completely bothered when we ever tried to order anything from her.

Our experience wasn't horrible; the location was fabulous and the grounds were beautiful. However, if you're looking for great customer service, or any customer service at all, I would suggest looking elsewhere."

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
9.7 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
7.3 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
8.0 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
1.3 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Cove Resort

Property: White Sands Cove Resort
Address: Laguna De Cayo Frances | 2.5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Sands Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away among tropical fauna and turquoise waters, White Sands Cove Resort sits 2.5 miles north of San Pedro, on the Island of Ambergris Caye. Just off the coast of Belize, our cozy boutique resort is tastefully defined by its unique balance of tranquility and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your White Sands Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Cove Hotel San Pedro
Hotel White Sands Cove
White Sands Cove Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing