We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Sands Cove is a relaxing jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Sands Cove Resort
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

White Sands Cove is a modern, clean and comfortable boutique hotel with large bedrooms and full kitchens. Marlon the manager, Doris in the bar/restaurant, and the guys in the dive shop all took good care of us, and we fell in love with the resident dogs. We could book all excursions through the hotel. White Sands is located at a very convenient spot for strolling along the path that stretches the length of Ambergris along the waterfront. There are restaurants within walking distance, and the water taxi will stop at the hotel’s pier to take you to town. If you want relax and be well taken care of, you would enjoy White Sands Cove.

Room Tip: Save a little money and get a room one building back from the water. Its still very close to the wa...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desertsearose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for White Sands Cove Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 468 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

My partner and I spent 10 days at White Sands recently and enjoyed our stay thoroughly. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Marlin set us up with a snorkel trip as well as a trip to the Mayan ruins and was always ready to help out. The facility itself is well kept up. Our room was well taken care of by the cleaning staff and we were very happy with it. I don't know how busy things get at other times of the year, but we certainly enjoyed being there with few people around, really allowing us to just relax and catch lots of Zs. Both thumbs up!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went expecting an average accommodations, but was surprised at the excellent condo condition and excellent staff. By far one of our most enjoyable vacations. Doris was outstanding at the poolside bar and food accommodations. Great cook by the way. Marlon was excellent with coordinating our transportation and excursions. The dive shop team was top notch and the cleaning crew were so good. We would definitely recommend WSC and will to all our friends and family.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

First time in Belize!!! Spend wonderful time with my family! The property is well maintain, rooms are clean and spacious. Marlon, the manager of the property was very helpful and accommodating with everything. The guys from the local dive shop were very professional and knowledgeable. Food from the bar was tasteful and fulfilling. Pool was spotless. Highly recommend this hotel!!! If you travel to Belize bring a bug spray and a flashlight just in case.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you noise sensitive get a second floor
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 32847Traveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

An affordable place with a lot of room. Very friendly staff. We booked a suite that was off the beach. We had an affordable rate and the staff helped you out and provided you with free bikes and had a happy hour bar everyday. They also have a dive shop on site and you can go diving nearby. Everything was great. The only thing I wish they would have done was advertise their tours more. They offer tours directly from the office but I didn't realize it until I left. Still a great experience and when I return I will likely look to stay here again.

Room Tip: Staying off the beach in Belize requires bug spray. You HAVE to bring it or you will regret it. They...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We just returned from 8 days at White Sands Cove. Even though Hurricane Ernesto paid us a visit , we had a fantastic trip. Marlon the resident manager made sure we got our dive trips in inspite of the weather. All of the excursions he arranged were top notch. The onsite dive shop was very reliable. My son forgot one of his booties for his fins, and Tanya loaned him her pair. Junior and Yemenes were very good dive and snorkel guides.

The condo and grounds are very well maintained. We had a garden condo that was very private. The bugs only bothered us one night , but would recommend bug spray. Also a flashlight as we would walk to Captain Morgan's or Capricorn for dinner. Both restaurants were excellent.

We were taken to the grocery store upon our arrival. Not much produce there, so I would recommend also asking to be taken to a produce stand.. Also call your credit card to inform them you will be out of the country. One of my cards was denied for that reason because of a lot of fraud happening. Also make sure to bring some cash as there are park fees that have to be paid for with cash. Many of the local souvenirs you also need cash for.

We took advantage of the free kayaks and bikes. You can tie the kayak to a buoy by the reef and the snorkeling there is great. The bike ride to San Pedro was a bit bumpy but fun. We were glad we were 2 miles away from San Pedro.

Room Tip: If you want privacy the garden rooms on second floor are the best.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mary Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We followed up three days in the rain forest with four days at White Sands. Overall we had a good experience but take note that this is a condo complex so you are actually renting the condo from the owner. You might want to consider this if traveling with small children as you are responsible for any damages - from water marks on the furniture to broken dishes etc. Also I wouldn't eat at the restaurant, the two items we ordered there were pretty bland. My boy friends shrimp & pasta had 4 small shrimp. But going either way on the beach you can go to any number of nice restaurants.

We checked out the bikes a couple of times. Though rusted like everything close to the beach, they worked well enough. Stay on the beach to get to San Pedro and skip the road as it is full of holes, just watch out for scooters.

Make sure you take a flight from Belize City leaving from the local airport (not the international) to save over $100 per person.

If you take a cab from the airport ask him to stop at the local grocery store if you plan to take advantage of the kitchen in your room. Coffee filters and sugar are provided and you can get salt and pepper at the bar. There is a grocery store by Captain Morgan's but it is more expensive than in San Padro.

The pool is beautiful, clean and deep. the hammocks and shaded areas but the pool were also a big plus. Having our own little porch was also great. The are sand fleas in all the beaches in Belize so order some Cactus Juice or another product for south america. We used this daily and had no problems.

We used the dive shop and had a great snorkeling trip to Shark Ray Alley. Staff were awesome, they were very alert, safety conscious and were informed about the reef and warned everyone repeatedly about damaging or touching anything in the area.

Don't read the weather everyday leading up to your trip. The weather calls for rain every day this time of year but we only had one real storm and most of the rain blew over in a few minutes.

The staff were helpful and polite. Our rooms were cleaned while we were at the pool or the beach.

Note that the beach in San Pedro isn't amazing for just walking out in but the clarity of the water and close access to amazing snorkeling and diving make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.1 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
986 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Cove Resort

Address: Laguna De Cayo Frances | 2.5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $134 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Sands Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away among tropical fauna and turquoise waters, White Sands Cove Resort sits 2.5 miles north of San Pedro, on the Island of Ambergris Caye. Just off the coast of Belize, our cozy boutique resort is tastefully defined by its unique balance of tranquility and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your White Sands Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Cove Hotel San Pedro
Hotel White Sands Cove
White Sands Cove Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing