We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviews Read Lived Up To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Sands Cove Resort
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
denver
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Reviews Read Lived Up To Stay”
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Everything we read about White Sands was true and we had a great time! I pretty much booked this place for three days after reading all the great reviews on tripadvisor. We ended up getting a really great rate for an ocean front single because we checked out the day before the busy season picked up. Also part of our room rate was one free snorkel trip to Hol Chan (a trip well worth paying for!). Marilyn was great talking with and corresponding by email to get all or reservations and airline tickets booked. We were promptly met at the airport and upon seeing San Pedro at night I could tell we were going to love the island. We were dropped off at the water taxi and had a private ride to the hotel. All of our bags were delivered to our room, we just quickly checked in at the front desk. We met Marilyn and another gentleman checked us in. Everyone was very friendly, at the time of year it was very quiet but we did meet some other travelers.

Rooms were nice, loved the beautiful tile in the shower. Nice to have a fridge for drinks and such. Housekeeping was great. Only comment I would make on the room is that the bed could have been more comfortable. I don't mind firm but you could feel or hear the springs when you moved. Still it wasn't the worst bed I've slept in. View from room was great and there are nice chairs to lounge in just outside your door. While they don't really have a walk in beach since there is turtle grass (I think that's what it's called) they do have beautiful white sand beach all throughout the property.The pool and their new bar is beautiful wood and lovely ligting. The bartenders are all they say they are. Loved the Bananna Diana's, local beers and some of their other frozen drinks. I couldn't believe it when the head bartender said hello to me by name one day before he had officially met me! Every person that works at the hotel addressed us by name!

While we didn't dive with their dive shop, we did do the snorkel trip and the dive shop was great. We had our own personal boat from White Sands Dive shop on our snorkel trip to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. Hol Chan was amazing, huge schools of fish, large stingrays, turtle and several spotted eagle rays that just swim throughout the channel (totally made me wish we had our dive gear instead of snorkeling). We loved the golf carts that you can rent from the hotel (which are about $27 or so for 2 hours and you can rent all day. To go into town by water taxi it's almost the same price for two people so we thought the carts were more fun. The "road" behind the hotel is pretty rough but is only that way just behind the hotel and around a curve, the rest of the way is pretty flat. You do have to pay about $5 round trip to go across the bridge into and out of town. Loved town, always felt safe (but use common sense), the locals seemed much more friendly here than many other places we've been.

Overall, very happy with our stay and we wish we could have stayed for longer! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Great staff, beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — No restaurant but they do make accomodations delivery and there are nearby hotel restaurants
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    45
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
85
262
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2007

White Sands Cove Resort is a wonderful place to stay. My husband and I went there to relax and unwind, and relax and unwind we did! The resort is by far the prettiest on the beach. The owners who are a wonderful family have done an absolutely beautiful job designing and building many aspects of the resort personally. Our room opened up to a gorgeous beach, it was litterally steps away. The resort provided plenty of comfy lounge chairs and hammocks to read or nap in. At the White Sands dock my husband and I caught a couple of good size snapper and we actually BBQd one of them on the resort BBQ for dinner one evening. The rooms are beautiful and very spacious, the kitchen has everything you need to cook. The pool is nice and the resort bar is located at the back. I have to say that we visited many bars and I sampled many Pina Coladas while in Belize but the bartender Deon at White Sands makes the best I have ever tasted. All the drinks he made us were wonderful and he is a very nice and fun guy. The resort also has a huge book of activities including everything from diving to touring the Mayan ruins. So you can choose to book activities or just relax and enjoy the beautiful beach at the resort. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance from the resort, our favorite was Capricorns. We also did a lot of shopping in town where you can find everything from souvenirs to groceries as well as many restaurants and bars. We found the best way to get to town and go shopping was to rent a golf cart from the resort and take the main road. You can also rent bikes with baskets and ride down the beach to town. The resort also has a spa and we got wonderful massages there. The entire staff at White Sands was great we really enjoyed getting to know them. I honestly can't say enough good things about our trip, it was beautiful, relaxing, romantic and incredibly fun.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertMamaArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darnestown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

With the kids in sleep away camp, my Wife and I decided to take a little summer vacation. How we chose Belize is a long story, but it was a wonderful choice. What made it wonderful were the people at White Sands. They give us great tips on places to visit, things to do, places to eat, etc. They were extremely accomodating. Marlin was great at booking our day trips and was very helpful in answering our many questions. The Juneau's were so nice to us and we loved their dogs who acted as the welcoming committee. Elbert and his crew at the dive shop were great. Although I wasn't a fan of scuba diving, my Wife fell in love with it. I got to go fishing which is my love.

The cottages are clean and very tastefully done. The housekeeping staff always left our place spotless. The pool was great as were the surroundings. Awesome, totally awesome!

If you want a nice, laid back place to vacation, this place is for you. This is certainly a great value for the price.

We plan on returning next year and we may even take the kids. Hopefully, they'll be at sleep away camp so my Wife and I can be alone for another wonderful week at White Sands.

  • Liked — people were great
  • Disliked — water pressure
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank hsbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

My wife and I loved this place! The facilities are very nice and clean. The staff will bend over backwards to help you during your stay.

It began with a flawless air port transfer from Belize City to San Pedro. There was a taxi waiting at San Pedro to take you to the market and to the water taxi. Marylin and Marlon were waiting for us to take our bags directly to our room. We checked in at the office after a well needed shower from all the travels.

The room was very spacious and modern and we were 20 feet from the water's edge.

We renewed our vows during our visit and the decorations that were set-up by the staff were amazing and at no charge. The owners were also our photographers and gave us a picture CD before we departed, also no charge.

The pool is very nice and the bar can serve whatever your heart desires.

I recommend the local cook that delivers to the resort. That was some of the best food we had during our trip. Also, there aren't too many food options within walking distance, so definitely buy breakfast items from town and store EVERYTHING in the fridge. As clean and as sealed as the room was, nature still finds it's way in to see what food you have. (They have bottled water at the resort at a good price.)

It was great and we were sad to leave.

  • Liked — The staff!
  • Disliked — No resturant on site
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slickjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2007

After major flight delays in the U.S., the staff at the resort calmed us down over the phone, booked us on the last flight out of Belize City, and had a taxi and chartered boat meet us to take us to their dock. Not only that, as we arrived after 8 pm, tired and completely starving, Michelle heated up delicious leftovers of her own dinner in our suite while we were checking in so we would have something to eat.

The rooms were great, with a wonderfully comfortable bed and fabulous views. The bar was top-notch and the pool was awesome. The family's dogs were cute and well-behaved and made us pine for ours back home.

The entire staff was more than accommodating our entire stay. When the weather washed out one of our snorkel trips, they arranged for us to have a private trip the last day of our stay, making sure we got back in time to pack and catch our flight back to the mainland. It was the best excursion the whole stay.

We've already started planning our trip next year, and we're bringing friends this time!

  • Liked — The location/view
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurants within easy walking distance, not the resort's fault, but does require some forethought
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Lakes, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2007

We just got back from a wedding anniversary trip to White Sands Cove. We had a fantastic time and found White Sands Cove Resort to have everything we wanted and more!! The owners: Michelle, Marilyn, Mark and Stephanie were gracious, warm and very helpful. We immediately felt it was our home away from home. We are both gardeners and appreciated how beautiful the grounds were with very pleasing plantings around the property. Marlon, the manager, made all our excursion reservations, and there was no lack of wonderful things to do. My husband and I took several snorkeling excursions and twice rented a kyak and made the 15 minute 'trip' to the reef where we had a magnificent time snorkeling. White Sands Cove is in the perfect location, close enough to town to easily bike or walk in which we did several times. In addition we biked to the north end for romantic lunches on the beach. We spent relaxing time also at the pool, swinging in hammocks, and sitting on our deck. We could not have been happier with our choice of resort!

Helpful?
1 Thank NYAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We were at White Sands Cove in early June and fell in love with the property! We arrived to a greeting from the owner herself and two of her dogs, which immediately made us feel at home. After getting situated in our condo (just feet from the water), she helped us out in finding a place for dinner and offered more help in the morning concerning the rest of our stay.
Our condo was like a mini apartment with a full kitchen including all cooking items you would need to make a meal at "home." Because we were directly by the ocean, the front room had a lot of windows to allow the sea breezes in. The back bedroom was air conditioned which gave us a comfortable place to sleep as well as that dry cold air you just need sometimes. Each day the condo was cleaned and the cleaning staff did a wonderful job.
Marlon was the man to go to for anything and everything you would want or need. He set up restaurant reservations for us, got us an ocean kayak (you definitely need to do - snorkel out on the reef), and one evening when the water taxi was full, he called for another one to come and pick us up. Very great man and made our stay there very easy, particularly since we hadn't visited San Pedro before.
Our main excursions were diving excursions. The resort has a dive shop on site with a very experienced dive master, Elbert. In fact he instructed several people staying there the same week to get their SCUBA certification. I looked online and read many reviews about the dive shops on the island, good and bad. The dive shop had very good equipment and in good shape. And sometimes you just don't know what you get when you rent equipment in another country. Tony and Louis are the two dive tour guides who took us out on our dives. Because this resort wasn't overly populated with divers, we were actually able to personalize our dives and Tony took us to where we were interested and considered our level of diving in choosing the sites. We really were comfortable with him.
The pool was very refreshing and clean with plenty of cushioned lounge chairs to lay in and shade provided by palm trees and a palapa. There were also several chairs on the beach area if you would rather stare out at the blue, blue ocean.
There is also a beach bar with great bartenders who introduced us to some great drinks. Make sure you ask Brian to make you a BBCK - yum yum!
Overall, it is a small resort with a lot of charm. We have done the large beach resorts in other areas in the Carribean. White Sands provided us with service that we probably wouldn't have gotten at the larger resorts. The owner and her family live there and are willing to help out if you need anything. Yes, there are 4 dogs there that belong to them. I was a little apprehensive about that after reading a review about the place, but they were no problem at all. First of all, they do not run free all day long. I never heard them bark. They were not in the swimming pool as one reviewer remarked, and they were very friendly. They were not aggressive and it was actually nice having them there.
White Sands Cove Resort was a great choice for our 10th wedding anniversary. It is also a great place to get married. A wedding took place on the beach and it was beautiful. There is a sea wall so you cannot walk into the ocean. But on the pier there is a ladder so that you can get directly in the ocean to swim or snorkel. It is a resort that is far enough away from San Pedro so it is quiet. The only sounds you hear are the waves crashing at the reef and the wind blowing through the palm trees.
Obviously by my rambling on, I cannot say enough about the place. I would definitely go back and stay there again.

  • Liked — The views and the hospitality.
  • Disliked — I can't think of a thing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bs122196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.5 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.8 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
869 reviews
4.6 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Cove Resort

Property: White Sands Cove Resort
Address: Laguna De Cayo Frances | 2.5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Sands Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away among tropical fauna and turquoise waters, White Sands Cove Resort sits 2.5 miles north of San Pedro, on the Island of Ambergris Caye. Just off the coast of Belize, our cozy boutique resort is tastefully defined by its unique balance of tranquility and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your White Sands Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Cove Hotel San Pedro
Hotel White Sands Cove
White Sands Cove Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing