We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Pelican Reef and Belize”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Loved Pelican Reef and Belize”
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Stayed at Pelican Reef Villas the first week of March.
From start to finish absolutely loved Pelican Reef Villas and Belize.

Booking:
Lori was quick to reply to my emails and answer all my questions. She booked in our Room/Tropic Airs Flights/Transfer.

Flights:
Tropic Air. 15 minutes in a small plane but the view was fantastic and the flight smooth.
Van was ready at airport when we arrived.

The room:
Exactly like the pictures. Highly recc. room 8 beachfront 2 bedroom villa. Beautiful view and you literally step out of your room onto the beach.
When we were there it was a very quiet week...us(5 people in mid-thirties) and 1 other couple(very nice couple from Kingston) most of the week. Basically had the resort to ourselves.

Golf cart:
Definately get one..was so fun. 250 $ for the week. Well worth it with 5 people. Went into town every night for dinner/sometimes for lunch and used for groceries. The golf carts are right at the resort...so easy.

The pool/beach:
Just like the pictures. Stunning.
Snorkeling off the pier saw stingrays, barracudas, lobster, hermit crab, angelfish and others.
Pool was refreshing and just the right size for a swim.
Chairs extremely comfy and didn't need to get up at 6 am to reserve them!!!

Excursions:
"E" booked everything for us on day 1. So easy.
They have a book with all the excursions.

1)Went scuba with Amigos del Mar twice. The divemaster was very helpful as I hadn't been diving in awhile and he helped with my initial descent. While on the sandy bottom we had 3 nurse sharks and 1 eel circling us.
2)Cave Tubing and Zipling. Was a bit expensive and travel time a bit long(boat + bus) added up to about 2 hours travel each way. Fun to zipline if it's your first time but if you have been on one of large ones as I had in Costa Rica it will seem a bit lame. Cave tubing : cool to see but involves a lot of paddling on your own as really to flow this time of year.
3)Day with Oliver (Cari'bean): Snorkeling x 2 spots + Fishing + Beach BBQ + Caye Caulker. The 5 of us had our own private trip and it was great. Oliver took us to a cool place called Coral Gardens..less crowded than the more popular spots. We ate the fish + conch we caught. Had an hour to walk through Caye Caulker and shop. Great rum punch!!! Highly recc.
4)Snorkeling Hol Chan + Shark Ray Alley. Crowded with boats but it is a must do as you get to touch nurse sharks/sting rays and see turtles and eels.

Island food:

"E" booked all of our dinners for us on day 1. So easy.
They have a book with all the menus.

Best meals:
Red Ginger: 1/2 price wine Mondays(Great seafood and Pasta)
Blue Water Grill: Sushi Tuesdays and Thursdays.
Victoria House: Expensive but good for seafood and steak(cooked to perfection if you need a break from seafood).
Blue Iguana: Pan seared Ahi Tuna + Shrimp appetizers.

Good Meals:
Hidden Treasure
Wild Mangoes

Not as impressed with Caliente. Go for the Chicken drop but skip the food.

Mr. Joes is just down the street to buy essentials(breakfast and beer).

My only regret is we couldn't stay longer. This was the most stress free vacation in a long time.

Thanks to "E" who was there from 7 am to 7 pm everyday and was always ready to make us a mudslide/ just chat or help us plan our excursions and nights out.

Also thanks to India(resort dog) who adopted us for the week.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hikingfoodie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    78
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
341
431
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We had no idea what to expect from Belize and from Pelican Reef...but we were blown away. The airport in Belize City was super small, but so easy to navigate. We quickly make our way from our American flight from Dallas to our Tropic Air flight to San Pedro, Ambergris Caye. I got to sit in the co-pilot seat, so I was in heaven!

Pelican Reef had a driver pick us up in at the airport (in a Toyota Privia...because golf carts and Privias are all that are driven on the island!), and take us to the hotel.

We were in an ocean front two bedroom condo with four adults. It was really nice and we felt VERY safe the entire time. The rooms were super clean and very comfortable.

The beach was fantastic (great, high-end chairs) and really calm because of the reef. At the end of Pelican Reef's pier there is a ladder with a great swimming/standing area. And there is fun snorkeling under the end of the pier with lots of interesting sealife.

Lori was great setting up everything over email before we got there, and assisting us when we got there. We had a great day out on a private boat with Oliver and Carl. They made us the most amazing lunch!
By far our favorite meal while we were there was El Fogon. It's near the airport. Totally local, but sooo good. Oliver's aunt runs the place. Hidden Treasures was also a fantastic meal (and they had a great pina colada...the best we had).

And defintely rent a golf cart! Also, go snorkeling in Hol Chan. It's the best snorkeling I've done anywhere in the world. And it was like $44 for the trip. Lastly, make sure you try the Panty Ripper (alcoholic beverage). Don't be scared away/embarassed by the name! It is fantastic!

The only criticism that I would have is that the bar seemed a little over run at times. I feel like they need an extra set of hands. But that being said, we were also there over Christmas so I would assume it was a little more busy than usual.

Pelican Reef was awesome and we're trying to figure out when to go back. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tahitijess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

We stayed at Pelican Reef Villas just before Valentines Day. Lori was awesome to work with and she manages the property. The staff and service was excellent. Eliazar and Caesar were extremely helpful in getting things set up for us. The got us moved from a dive at the Blue Hole to Amigos as they suggested it would be more comfortable since they had the biggest boat on the island. They saved us actually. The seas were very rough and it was a 2.5 hour boat ride to the Blue Hole...it would have been a huge mistake to stay with the other dive company on a little tiny boat for that dive. They were extremely helpful in setting up various excursions and always friendly! The location is about 2.5 miles from town but we loved the solitude. We borrowed their bikes on a couple of occasions and took a bike ride into town which was a wonderful time! Stay here...you won't regret it! Janice S.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank minispel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinn OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed here following our annual medical mission in northern Belize and we loved it. The condos are spacious, modern and very clean. The beach and pool are great and the staff very helpful. We liked being south of San Pedro and riding a golf cart into town for shopping. Several great restaurants are a short golf cart trip away. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rkowatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We just returned from our first visit to Ambergris Caye and can't wait to return, and Pelican Reef is one of the reasons why. Aleazar and Cesar were exceptional...great information and conversation--anywhere you want to go, anything you want to do, they can make it happen.
Lori, who manages the resort, can help you with trip planning and preparation prior to your arrival--very accessible from the states via e-mail, and extremely knowledgeable.
Pelican Reef is a couple miles south of town. Although that was a drawback for dinner and trips in to town in the evening (you can use their bikes for free during the day, or rent a golf cart), it was great during the day--it was like owning your own piece of paradise.
The rooms were always clean, the view of the reef is great, and the dock offers great views and solitude. We walked through most of the other resorts north and south of town and it made us appreciate Pelican Reef that much more...pretty special place, very special people.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowyInSterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

My husband and I LOVED this hotel. Of course it is expensive, but if you can afford it make sure you stay here. I loved having the hammocks, the back porch facing the ocean, and the pier out into the ocean. The place was immaculate, and having a TV was great because the summer Olympics were on and there is not as much to do in the evenings. The service was second to none, you needed something done and it was done. If you are debating whether or not to rent a golf cart, DO IT. I know it is also expensive, but it is a very far from the center of town and it is cobblestone, so the free bikes become very painful quickly. Food is limited at the condos, but that is okay because there are so many great places to eat elsewhere. Plus they have a full kitchen and grills so if you go shopping you can cook anything you want.

Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank crayztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We booked our trip after seeing the beautiful pictures and hearing of the fun time of a family member that had previously visited Pelican Reef.
When we arrived we were met by Laurie, Eliazer and Cesar, and instantly felt comfortable. The resort is beautiful. The rooms are very nice, it felt very much like home.
The staff was very helpful. They would do or get anything, anytime you needed it, there was not one time that we were looking for someone that you could not find them. Cesar even helped us start the BBQ outside our condo to cook some fish my husband caught on a fishing trip.
Everyone was so friendly, all the employees and other residents also.

My favorite part is the wonderful view. We had a ground floor condo and the view of the ocean was out of this world beautiful. We were only feet from the beach. Better then I ever dreamed of.

We rented a golf cart and drove to San Pedro everyday to look around and explore, we felt very safe everywhere we went, even at night. We ate a several different restaurants in town and never once felt uncomfortable with any part of the meal, preparation of the food or conditions of the restaurants we ate in.

We can't wait to go back again!!! Thanks to Pelican Reef for making our vacation "THE BEST EVER"!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Unbeliezeable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
941 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.2 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
1,259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
775 reviews
5.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Property: Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Address: 2.5 Miles South | 2.5 Miles South, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 Miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pelican Reef Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing