We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the southern part of Ambergris Cay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My girlfriends and I stayed at Pelican Reef for our annual girls getaway, and we loved it! Upon arrival, there was a welcome sign with our names on it, and we received a welcome drink, which was brewed up nice and strong by the able bartender Ruth. Once we introduced ourselves to the staff, we were addressed by our names every day. We stayed in a 3 bedroom, two story villa with an oceanfront view (we were on the 2 and 3rd level). The room was very well equipped with a full kitchen, comfortable furniture, cable (we normally don't watch TV on our trips, but we tuned in for some of the Olympics), wireless internet, 3 full bathrooms, and a jacuzzi tub on the top floor. The hotel grounds are also comfortable, with a nice big beach and plenty of lounge chairs for everyone there (go to the beach early to claim the area with the two hammocks!). the swim up bar is pretty much always open. A hearty breakfast was included every morning, including fresh juice and coffee. The staff was happy to take special requests for our meals. We had one day where we waited an hour for breakfast, but the hotel manager was very apologetic when we told him, and he explained that they had been short a cook that morning. Besides, we were overlooking the infinity pool and the beach, so we weren't terribly upset. We also rented a golf cart from the hotel, which is the main mode of transport on the island.

The hotel staff takes care of booking any activity you might possibly want to do- for us, that included a half day snorkel trip, which was wonderful! Beautiful reefs with lots of fish, rays and sharks, and a snack of conch ceviche served by our fantastic guide, Bradley (request him by name!). The hotel staff also made a dinner reservation at one of the resorts in the north part of the island for us, and changed it when we postponed for a night. 4 of us also booked massages, and they were delightful (ask for Tiffany and Sherlette!). All of us did massages in different places- the end of the pier, the beach next to the hammocks, and the balcony of our villa. All were amazing.
Kayaks and stand up paddle boards are free to use, and both were a ton of fun. Lunch is available at the hotel, and the staff were happy to give dinner recommendations.

On our last day, the owner stopped by to ask how our stay was, and he listened very attentively to our feedback, both positive and "constructive" (nothing bad, just a few recommendations). we felt very valued as guests, and all of us would recommend this place for people who don't like the feeling of being herded like cattle as you do sometimes at a large resort. Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: Probably worth it to pay the extra $$ for oceanfront- we really enjoyed the view from our balcony an...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlytb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
There are newer reviews for Pelican Reef Villas Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 567 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our family of 5 had an outstanding week at Pelican Reef. The accommodations were top notch and the service was exceptional. Everything from home made breakfast every morning delivered poolside by Ruth or Helen to the full time assistance from Enrique and Katrina in planning all of our activities and meals, exceeded all of our expectations. Renting a golf cart to travel the island is a must do. When we come back, there is no doubt we will stay at Pelican Reef again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank EJ00155711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great service, comfortable accommodations and a phenomenal view! We stay in a 3- bedroom condo that offered all the comforts of home. Plenty of space for our group and lovely appointed rooms with a fully equipped kitchen. The grounds are well maintained and the beach front perfect for catching rays as well as enjoying kayaking or paddle boarding. The resort staff was friendly and attentive to our every need. The on site restaurant serves breakfast and lunch. Meals were hearty and well prepared. We enjoyed being south of San Pedro in a quieter area, but only a 15 minute ride from town. We would recommend Pelican Reef in a heartbeat and hope to return there in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mklenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I can't say enough good things about Pelican Reef! The staff are amazing. Their advice and recommendations were always excellent. I even gave them a shopping list and they went into town and bought groceries for us. The rooms are exactly as pictured and in excellent condition. Housekeeping was prompt and impeccable. Enrique and Corrina booked all our excursions, called Carlos when we needed a taxi and arranged groceries. Other reviewers who complained that the day trips arranged by Pelican Reef are expensive are nuts. You get what you pay for and Pelican Reef books the best. Half of our party of 8 went cave tubing/zip lining and the service provided by our guide was far superior to that offered by the guides the cruise ships arranged, right down to having lunch personally delivered to them rather than lining up. Their knowledge of Mayan history and culture was also superb!. What can I say about Captain Oliver? Every mention of him is a rave review and he is worth every one of them. What a truly perfect day. If you are only going to do one trip. this is the one to take. The snorkeling is excellent. Far, far better than what we experienced in Hawaii. Also, fellow Canadians, take notice of the reviews that state that restaurants are expensive. If you look, they are reviewed by Americans. Every meal we had (including El Fogon and Victoria House) was considerably less than we would have expected to pay in Canada. I live in a province full of cattle but my filet mignon meals here cost 30 to 40 percent more than what is charged at Victoria House. Not that we ate filet mignon. The fish and seafood here was a true treat for us prairie visitors!
We are already planning our next trip but never again with an American airline. I felt like I was travelling to the ends of the earth. It took two days to get here. Turns our I can fly Westjet to Cancun, then connect to Tropic Air. In spite of what appears to be a ridiculous fare to travel 125 miles from Cancan, the total cost is apparently about the same as taking 4 flights via United Airlines and Tropic Air. Definitely check out this option if you are travelling from Western Canada.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank path1353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This place was very nice - we were greeted by Coreene and we were offered a welcome drink from the bar where we met Ruthie and Helen. We then toured the area and rented a golf cart for the week. the room was top shelf and we had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a great balcony where we spent lots of time looking at the ocean. Enrique and Coreene set up numerous tours for us which were all great.
If I had to think of something negative it would be that the food service was sometimes a bit slow - so order before you are starving - and one day the water pressure was really low.
I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking to visit the area.
We decided that this is like the island version of the TV show Cheers cause everyone knows your name. Do not hesitate to book with this resort.

Room Tip: We were in room 11 and it was very nice
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewrewr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Kind, courteous, helpful staff, great location! Absolutely beautiful! It's on the southern part of Ambergris, but a fun golf cart ride into the "city" :) of San Pedro! We shared a 3 bedroom condo that was gorgeous. We are divers and wished we could have had more time on the property. Everything was top-notch! Highly recommend. You can walk the beach, you can even ride bikes on the beach. My wife and I rode halfway into town on the beach. You have to get off and walk a few times, but it was very enjoyable and memorable. They have a small pool which is nice and deep, perfect for cooling off and relaxing. Bugs weren't an issue for us. Paddle boards are great, but not on windy days. The kayaks are a nice way to get out on the water.

Room Tip: Get #12 and share with friends, flip for the upstairs suite, it has a jacuzzi and excellent views. J...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gstrehlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

|First you are treated like gold. The people that live here are so nice, no one bothers you trying to sell stuff, everyone very helpful letting us know where to buy fresh fish, and local eating stops. We rented a beautiful two bedroom on the beach, nothing better than waking up and looking out at the clear aqua water. Breakfast is included and they have a nice menu. Bikes and kayaks are included, we had a blast kayaking out to the reef, and biking in to the produce stand, bakery and lunch at Robins. You swim off the dock, unlike walking into the water, swallow and grass for the turtles you will see, along with the rays and many varieties of fish. We will go back.

Room Tip: cant go wrong with any room, 24 units all great.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ron1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.2 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
986 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
857 reviews
6.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Address: 2.5 Miles South | Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $361 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.6 Mls South of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pelican Reef Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing