We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Belize and we can't wait to go back and plan to stay at Pelican Reef Villas again. The staff was great, especially Ruth, who was very knowledgeable and helpful and made our visit the best vacation we have ever had. All of the staff were friendly and accommodating and we definitely plan on visiting them again!

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom ocean view but any room there would have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belgerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

It was our first trip to Belize so we did not know what to expect. We chose Caye Ambergris for travel time to Belize city for our international flights (Tropic Air were good). Our welcome at Pelican Reef was lovely, our room with its view over the wharf & sea perfect. The daily breakfasts were fine, although the constant flies meant that we preferered to eat in our spacious room rather than outside by the (small) pool. What really made our stay special were the staff, especially Linda & Ruth, who were all so friendly, helpful & accommodating. We may have received exceptional service as we were largely the only guests at the resort for most of our stay, but felt that these lovely ladies would make most guests feel like personal friends even when the resort was busy.
We were surprised at the high cost of things in Belize, compared to neighbouring coutries such as Mexico. We were also surprised at the lack of real price discounts for low season unlike other countries. Pelican Reef is located 2.5 Miles from the character filled & colourful San Pedro town, not an easy walk or cycle on the (free) bikes provided along the coast as it is swampy and rubbish strewn in places. Also a difficult & muddy walk or cycle along the mostly unsealed road into town, which is full of crater sized potholes after the frequent rain this time of the year.
Golf carts are the best option, but at USD 50 + per day from Pelican Reef, cycling often feels the better option.
The resort had enough kayaks (3) and snorkling equipment for our stay but we would expect this to be an issue during the busier seasons. We would return as we enjoyed our stay very much, but would negotiate better rates before comitting again.

Room Tip: Sea side away from the pool would be quieter when busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

When the taxi let us out at the Pelican Reef, we stood staring past the pool to the palm tree-framed view of the Caribbean. In that moment, we felt that we had just been dropped off in Paradise. Then, we were given tropical drinks and things got even better.
We loved being at the Pelican Reef. We loved the quiet beach. The food was unusually good, especially for a hotel. We appreciated that the staff was just as happy delivering the food to our condo as having us come downstairs. We were grateful to have laundry, and a condo with a lot of space.
There were a few things we didn’t like. The most important to us was the thinly woven curtains that let the early morning Caribbean light pour into the bedrooms. We started sleeping with t-shirts or hand towels by our pillows, so we could cover our eyes when the sunlight woke us at dawn. The other was that, in our condo, the master bedroom,which was upstairs, didn’t have a door, or any curtains at all across the large picture window. Both the morning light and downstairs noise were problems. Also, the bathtub and shower were in the bedroom, not in a separate bathroom. Anyone walking up the stairs (again, there wasn’t a door) had a full view of both.
Still, we liked the hotel so much that the pluses easily outweighed the minuses. We hope to stay there again, but maybe in a different unit.

Room Tip: Ask if the master bedroom has a door, and if is open to the downstairs or closed off. Also, ask if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windcurrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We visited Ambergris Caye mid August and stayed at the Pelican Reef Villas. We had an awesome experience. The staff helped us upgrade to a 3 bedroom unit which suited our two adult children much better than the 2 BR unit we had booked. Our unit was gorgeous. The master suite had a very comfortable bed, jacuzzi tub, and a sitting area with views to die for. The kitchen/family room/dining room was spacious and comfortable. And the big plus was the washer and dryer in the room. Made it easy to pack light.

The staff here is great at taking care of your needs. A full cooked to order breakfast is included in the price and it is EXCELLENT with gluten free options, fresh juice and unlimited coffee. You can purchase lunch here as well but they don't serve dinner. They will serve you by the pool, your room or on the beach....you choose. They have a great bar (which can be accessed on pool side as well). There is a little beach hut at the pool area that you can book your activities, get fresh beach towels, and they even have a supply of bug repellent and sunscreen. We used bug spray every day and didn't have a problem with the little buggers.

Pelican Reef Villas is about 3 miles south of San Pedro.The huge plus for you snorkelers is that it is very close to the hole chan/shark ray alley. You will be the last group to be picked up from the dock and the first to be dropped off after your snorkel excursion (which this one was the highlight of our trip...not to be missed!!) It only cost $40 US person from this area as well so don't do this trip when you are on the north side as it will cost you quite a bit more and will be a much longer boat ride. it literally is only 10 minute boat ride from Pelican Reef. Then rent a golf cart for when you want to go into town, it is soooo easy. The staff at Pelican Reef Villas make arrangements for you. They have free bikes and kayaks to check out as well. We liked taking bike rides to THE BAKERY...awesome cinnamon rolls and baked goods.

We were very impressed with how quickly Pelican Reef staff could book us on trips. My husband and son wanted to go bone fishing and a few hours later they were picked up from the pier. We wanted to be free and easy and PRV helped us book tours as we felt up to it. They have so many connections and they would call around to find the tour that fit our needs and get a fair price. (Believe me, I checked and I couldn't get a better price going direct). I saw another reviewer say PRV steered only to certain vendors or just Belizian owned as if this was a negative....don't understand what they are talking about as the vendors that were recommended to us were top notch and for goodness sake, when you're in Belize wouldn't most of the businesses be locally owned?!!.

a family we met at PRV recommended we go on the ACES crocodile tour and we are so glad we did. I just saw on trip advisor that they have just moved into the #1 attraction in San Pedro. I still liked Hol Chan/Shark Ray alley best but ACES was awesome too and like being on a Steve Erwin show. It was fun to be up on the North side of the island and have dinner at the Palapa Bar before going on the night excursion with ACES.

There is so much to do on ambergris Caye and Pelican Reef Villas is an awesome property to stay at....you will not be disappointed. We are fairly picky travelers, have been to Fiji, Hawaii, Costa Rica, and PRV rates up there with one of our favorite places to stay with gorgeous accommodations!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank faith716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We just returned from a girls trip to celebrate a friend's birthday. It was a fabulous trip made amazing with Pelican Reef Villas Resort. We were immediately greeted by Carol, a warm hearted, outgoing, always smiling and very resourceful/knowledgeable woman. You immediately know you are in the right place. You are then introduced to Ruth for a more than needed complimentary customary rum punch or beer. Ruth is outgoing, heart warming and makes you feel like she's your best friend who was just gone for a while. Her laugh is contagious. Both women take the time to make you feel welcome, comfortable and that all your needs are met while orienting you to the beautiful resort.
The villas are beautiful and comfortable, a home away from home. We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa, sprawling and beautifully decorated. Our villa was situated directly down the pier looking out to the Caribbean Sea. The water incredibly blue and serene.
The kitchen in the villa is well stocked and beautifully appointed with granite counters and steel appliances. Every morning coffee is offered at the pool and you must bring your own mug from your kitchen, but they also stock some in your room with creamer. We made use of kitchen, stocking the fridge with booze and food, occasionally cooking lunch or dinner that was bought from the local Super Buy Market or roadside market.
The bathrooms were clean, well stocked and beautifully appointed. Jacuzzi bath tubs, glass block showers and granite counter tops. Julie and Juliana were very meticulous when cleaning up after our messes in both the bathrooms and kitchen. Plus sweeping the entire living and dining area.
Highly recommend eating at the beautiful Hidden Treasures! Gorgeous!! Jass is the perfect server. She is sweet and fun. Our first night, My best friend and I met before the other girls flew down and were exhausted hungry and sick of planes. We are somewhat prissy and picky about our food and surroundings. We just wanted food! Jass picked us up and we were more than pleasantly surprised when we arrived. She gave us the specials as we drove and already had an idea of what we wanted to eat, but were so in awe of the beauty of this place, we had to take a little more time. We loved it so much, we had to take the other girls back there the following night to eat and Carol called ahead to let them know we were coming. They offer the service of picking you up and dropping you off. So happy to use that service! When they found out it was a celebration of one of the girls birthday's, they dressed up our table and sang to her, turning down the lights and serenading us with a one man band. It was so fun! Hidden Treasures truly is a hidden treasure! Don't miss out on this beauty!
We took advantage of a few of the excursions, going in the off season, it was perfect! We snorkeled at Hol Chan Marine with lil'Alfonso. He was a fantastic, personal and very informative guide. I was very nervous about getting in the water at first, and he was amusing about it, being pushy but funny. Once in, I was fine and intrigued with our underwater adventure. He really took the time to talk about the different aspects of the ocean, the eco system and point out the various underwater life. He then took us to Shark/Ray Alley. That was invigorating and exciting. Watching and touching sharks, being so close to stingrays, amazing! Because of it being the off season, we had limited competition with other tours and were able to take time at our own pace to enjoy the reefs.
We also took the advantage of experiencing the zip lining and cave tubing in Belize. It was an all day excursion, but worth the day! Because again of limited times due to off season, we were the only people to zip line, having one on one guides. It was VIP treatment all the way! It might have been a little questionable in the vehicles getting there, but the drive was worth it. The guides took the time to really explain the aspects of the jungle and a little info to help with survival, umm don't think I'll be stranded alone in the jungle, but thanks guys!
Miguel, so adorable, was our cave tubing guide for my friend and I. Our bug spray had worn off by the time we had set off for the journey and we had begun to get eaten alive. He took the time to run back, get his spray and share it with us. So sweet! Our journey was supposed to be 1 1/2 hours long, he actually took us for 2 1/2 hours, taking us way up the river and deep into crystal cave. We saw pottery and ash from 800 AD! We had such a great time with him, walking and swimming through the cave, oh, and falling on our faces, but that was our own fault, not the guides. Make sure you were clothes you can hike, swim and tube in! Don't forget the tip money! I was glad I stuck more cash than I originally thought of taking to tip all our guides.
More on the resort, Pelican Reef Villas resort manager Greg is very personable and easy to talk with. We spent many hours chatting and talking about different aspects of the island, what it's like to raise a family there and live there as an American. The other grounds staff are helpful, personable, always smiling and always calling out your name. They are quick to grab you a towel or a cushion for a chair, prepare a kayak or a bike (which are complimentary of the resort) or just chit chat with you.
I just can't say enough about Carol and Ruth, it was sad leaving them. I felt like I had truly made new friends. I met Linda later in the trip and she was just as lovely and sweet, but I didn't get to bond with her as much as Carol and Ruth. I'm looking forward to my return with my husband and my friend and her significant other, plus maybe another couple or two. I really want my husband to meet this wonderful group of people.
The resort is the most southern one on the island and unfortunately the roads were like that of the backwoods in a muddy, ruddy, hole infested amusement park. We rented a golf cart and always had a great time, or as we called it- experience- as we headed into town! Greg said this was the worst he had seen it and that they do come out and grade the road, we just unfortunately saw the worst of it. It made me laugh and we tried at one point to see how many times we could get our butts to lift off the seat. Live life like it's always an adventure!
I would highly recommend Pelican Reef. The pool was beautiful, the people were more than friendly and welcoming and the resort comfortable and serene. Thanks Carol, Ruth, Greg and Linda and everyone else for making our trip memorable and absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I had an amazing week at Pelican Reef. From the moment you arrive and everyone greets you by name until the moment you leave the staff does everything they can to make sure your vacation is perfect. The villas are clean, comfortable and well furnished. The breakfasts and lunches were delicious (get ready to get addicted to hot sauce) and the drinks were plentiful. I can't say enough about the staff! Friendly, helpful and entertaining. Can't wait to see them again!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pelican Reef Villas was the ideal place for us to spend our honeymoon. We had a fantastic time. The staff (especially Carol and Ruth) bent over backwards to make our trip wonderful. Some of the things that we really appreciated were:
-Because of a missed connection, our luggage did not arrive in Belize City with us. After an excruciatingly 3 hour long wait in the Belize customs area, we were exhausted when we arrived at the San Pedro airport. A Pelican Reef driver was there waiting to pick us up, even though our flight was delayed! When we arrived, the staff told us that they would take care of coordinating the delivery of our bags - and they did! We could start to enjoy ourselves without worrying about that. Our bags were in our room by the next evening.
-I had mentioned offhand in my email to Pelican Reef that it was going to be our honeymoon. Upon arrival, completely free of charge (and unexpectedly), we received an upgrade to the 3 bdrm villa. This was really a special touch. This room includes 3 showers, a jacuzzi bath, 3 beds, 2 TVs, 3 balconies, washer/dryer and many other things. More than one would ever need for a honeymoon, but nonetheless fantastic to have.
-We purchased the "Romantic Escapades" package, and the staff included a bottle of champagne with glasses, beautifully presented on the bed, along with copious amounts of fresh flowers.
-Carol and Ruth took care of organizing our excursions that were included with our package. Because of the off season, certain events had to be rescheduled, but they made sure that we were able to do all the trips we wanted to.
-My wife and I definitely appreciated the complementary bike rentals that are available for guests to use.
-The room we had was fantastic for its ocean views.
-The kitchen was great to have, and we made a few meals for ourselves by buying food from town. The kitchen was completely stocked with all the cooking tools you would need.
-The breakfasts (ordered a la carte every morning) were a great way to start the day. The banana pancakes are amazing.
-We really enjoyed the dock and the mini-reef that is available for swimming and snorkeling. This was a good way for us to get used to snorkeling before going out to the Hol Chan Marine Reserve (which, by the way, is a definitely a must to see).
There were so many other things that were wonderful, too numerous to mention. Suffice it to say we will definitely return to Pelican Reef when we come back to San Pedro.
If there is any criticism of Pelican Reef (and this has nothing to do with the staff), is that the resort is located a bit far from everything - it is one of the most southern resorts on the island. It is about a half hour bike ride from San Pedro. However, that could be an advantage if you enjoy having some privacy. All in all, a wonderful place, wonderful people and we'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.2 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
358 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
997 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
478 reviews
1.6 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 54 in San Pedro
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Address: 2.5 Miles South | Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $328 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.6 Mls South of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pelican Reef Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing