We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pelican Reef is a slice of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Crofton, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pelican Reef is a slice of Paradise”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at PRV for 9 nights, from Dec. 12-21. This is a beautiful property, located about 3 miles from the center of San Pedro town. It's far enough away to be peaceful, yet close enough to easily get into town for dining, shopping and other activities. I would recommend renting a golf cart for your trips into town, plus it's just fun to cruise the island in a cart! The resort is immaculate, and the units are well appointed with granite counters, stainless steel appliances and a washer/dryer! Beautiful beach with lots of loungers and a large dock for pick-ups for diving excursions, etc. We regularly saw sting rays and other fish around the dock, which was really cool. This is a great property, but the staff makes it fantastic! Our interactions were great, beginning with Glori taking care of everything for setting up our reservation, golf cart rental and Tropic Air flights to/from Belize City. Carlos was waiting for us at the Tropic Air terminal, and upon arrival at PRV, we were warmly greeted by Terri with a rum punch and told that no shoes, aside from flip flops were allowed! What a welcome departure this was from the 36 degree temperature when we left home that morning! Terri, Ruth, Reuben, Manuel and all the other staff members were always smiling, friendly and helpful. These folks work hard to make sure their guests are well taken care of, and gladly offer suggestions for dining, etc. Terri is AWESOME, and was so helpful during our stay, assisting with planning excursions to the mainland (Lamanai and Xunantunich ruins), setting up dive trips, making sure we got our breakfasts in time for our early morning excursions and just taking the time to make sure our stay was enjoyable. Greg has a terrific, hardworking staff at PRV. Thanks to everyone at PRV for making this the best vacation I've had in a long time. I cannot wait to go back to beautiful Belize and all it has to offer, and I'll surely be back at PRV! If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay in San Pedro, do yourself a favor and contact Pelican Reef! They are truly exceptional.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad location at PRV. Our garden view unit's balconies overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank audirockz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    81
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
353
440
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent a fantastic week at this resort. Located a little over 2 miles south from the hustle and bustle of town makes it even better. The villa is modern and very clean. The staff always greet you with a smile and are very friendly and helpful. They have great recommendations, set up all the excursions for you, and you even get picked up right from their dock.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our first family vacation in 5 years and we came from Texas, Connecticut, and Florida. When we first arrived, the infinity pool was such a lovely sight framed by the "boulder" bar that showed the azure sea waters beyond. The accommodations were top-notch, with many amenities, such as flat screened TV's in both bedrooms and a large one in the living area, speaker for i-pod/phone for music, extra linens, full kitchen, etc. which is always risky with separate owner-owned units. Furnishings were good, but the service was the best. Everyone on staff was friendly and attentive. The breakfast-inclusive resort served a good and full one (personally recommend the pancake sandwich and Huevos a la Belicena). Better choices on the island for lunch. Bartender does some great Rum Punches and other tropical drinks. Relaxed atmosphere. Large enough for excursions to make a stop to pick you up, but small enough so there is never an issue with beach chaises or room at the pool. Should be aware that there really is no good snorkelling from the beach, nor can you view sunset from this part of the beach.Staff was very helpful in setting up flights, excursions, restaurant reservations, etc.

Room Tip: #7 is a lovely 2 bedroom/2 bath beachfront/view villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We are long overdue in writing this review. Visited here last summer with our 3-year-old son, in-laws and a family friend. It was an amazing vacation for all of us. We loved the "no shoes past this point" sign upon arrival, which set the tone for the entire trip. The hospitality of the staff was incredible - Ruth and Terry - in particular are amazing. And Santos was so sweet to my little son - showing him lizards, iguanas, snakes and cutting down a coconut for him. The diving here is incredible. The long, early trip to Turneffe is worth it. We absolutely love this place, and look forward to returning. Ruth - get ready for a banagram re-match!

Room Tip: We loved our room three stairs up the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ondaroad-atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just returned from Belize, San Pedro. The Pelican Reef Villas are a great choice that we found on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased with this choice. The hotel is located away from the center of town so renting a golf cart was a good idea. We used it a lot. (For instance, restaurants may send a cart to get you but you will wait quite a while. We found it easier to drive ourselves to the places we wanted to go.) The hotel serves breakfast and lunch but no dinner. There are many good restaurants which Terri, the concierge, recommended and all were excellent. She is very attentive to details and knows exactly what to arrange. We had been in contact with the management before arrival to book tours. They did this but were flexible to be able to make last minute changes after we arrived. They were very helpful at all times.

The villa (#15) we were in has two bedrooms, two baths, a washer dryer, fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, dining room area, sitting room with TV, safe, balconies and TV's in the bedrooms as well. It was so easy to be there. We did not cook but we fixed coffee and snacks. You could cook if you wanted to. The villa was equipped with a lot of towells as well which we appreciated. The fans in every room helped to keep the temperature pleasant but there was also AC. We did not have problems with bugs in the room. We were bitten just a few times on the streets at dusk, but we used DEET in the morning and evening. The front desk has sun block lotion and anti-mosquito sprays. We kept the doors closed mostly. Villa #15 has no real view and is more on the street side but we were not disturbed by noise. It was fine.

They keep the property in very clean condition, including the beach. Every morning I saw removal of the grass that grows in the water. The water right from the beach has a lot of sea grass but they have a pier so that you can swim off into slightly deeper water with less weeds. We spent our time out in the lagoon anyhow where the water is clear and full of colorful fish. The pool is beautiful, clean, pleasant. Plantings,I noticed were all well tended. The personnel were all friendly and helpful. The owner, Greg, sought us out the first day we arrived to go over our schedule and advise. He seemed to enjoy his work a lot. I had the impression of a very well run property.

We spent most of our time snorkeling. The snorkeling is fantastic and safe. Terri, the concierge, booked us with Amigos del Mar for the Blue Hole excursion. It was all day, stopping at several places. We do not scuba dive but there were divers mostly aboard. Edgar guided us in snorkeling. He was very kind to help one person who was nervous and had not done a lot of snorkeling. He knew all the fish and made the viewing interesting. They take you to an area they call the "Aquarium" where they feed the fish with watermellon rind. They were all around us, beautiful fish! I felt that we were safe and with very qualified guides. The boat was big enough to be very comfortable. They provided a very nice lunch on an island where we saw nesting red footed Booby birds in the canopy. Then we went with the company called "Searious" to Hol Chan and the (Nurse) Shark/Ray Alley as well as to Mexican Rocks. These are spots in the lagoon and good for a half day excursion. The guides were great as well and they know what they are doing so you are safe and see a lot.

The only disappointment we had was probably our own making - we wanted to fish for grouper. We saw a lot of those while snorkeling and my husband had communicated this to the Pelican Reef Villas, but he also said he did not want to get sea sick and he wanted to fish on the reef. Therefore they arranged a small boat to take us on the flats to fish for snapper and barracuda. We caught both and that was fine. However we have run into the problem of not getting what we envisioned from hotels for fishing trips. I think this is because the hotel will call those companies that they know and deal with regularly because they want their clients to be safe and happy. We should have done some research as to the kind of boats and trips available. In our case case we would have had to go not on the flats but the other deep side of the reef and in rocky water. We should have gotten suggestions of fishing companies from the hotel but called them independently. However the Pelican Reef Villas cooked us a feast from the fish we brought back and in several different styles for our lunch. They were so nice to do this. It was a wonderful meal to which they added vegetables, salad, sauces.

One other note about Caribbean weather in December. I have experienced Caribbean weather in December in Puerto Rico where the wind kicked up and there were big waves, in Panama where the Caribbean side can be very turbulent and in Belize where the weather was beautiful but with some rains. If you go over the Christmas holiday you can experience some occasional wind and rain even though they say the rainy season ends in November. The rain blew in and away quickly, but we found ourselves snorkeling in fairly heavy rain and it was rather exotic. The rain was, in fact, beautiful.

In all, I would say that the Pelican Reef Villas is a beautiful, friendly, well equipped and well tended establishment. We are glad we stayed there.

Room Tip: Room #15 was very nicely furnished but without a view. You could ask for a room more on the beach si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were three couples vacationing in Belize in early December. We had done a lot of research on the different condo properties on Ambergris Caye and we definitely made the right choice. Our stay was perfect and the staff at Pelican Reef was exceptional. We were very pleased with our three bedroom oceanfront condo, plenty of room and beautiful views. We did not take advantage of cooking in the kitchen as there were too many wonderful restaurants to experience in San Pedro, but the kitchen is fully equipped for cooking meals. The included breakfast was always very good and it was nice to sit by the pool each morning and enjoy our breakfast. The pier off the beach provided good snorkeling experiences. We rented a six seater golf cart and were glad to have that for the quick ride into San Pedro.

Things you should do, and Terri will help you set them up. Full day fishing/snorkeling excursion with Oliver and Bryan. Includes lunch at a private island. Two hour reef trip to Hol Chan with Alfonso that includes snorkeling and swimming with sting rays and sharks. Wonderful restaurants: Hidden Treasure, Wild Mango, Blue Water Grill, Caliente.

I have been a travel agent for many years and Belize is at the top of my list for a repeat visit. The people are warm and wonderful. I would not stay anywhere else than the Pelican Reef. Thank you Terri, Karol, Ruth, Ruben, Santos, Leno and all of the staff. You made our vacation so memorable and your friends from Kansas can't wait to come back! Leslie, Mark, Marc, Shelli, Bob and Cocktail Katie

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland HIlls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My students and I stayed and Pelican Reef for a cultural trip and had a wonderful time. Greg (the owner) was very great! The hotel was right on the beach and offered free canoeing. Everything in the hotel was brand new. We had our own washer and dryers as well which made it even better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
794 reviews
1.0 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,341 reviews
6.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
844 reviews
5.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Property: Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Address: 2.5 Miles South | Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 Miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pelican Reef Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing