We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caye Casa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caye Casa
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

We had an excellent two weeks at Caye Casa. This was our third stay here, and we rented a large first floor two bedroom, two bath, as well as a one bedroom studio fo rour family. The staff, who have now become family to us was fantastic. George and Lydia were accomodating and smiling at all times. Julie and Captain Boxter welcomed us like old friends. The staff dogs are the best add-ons there could be. The place is clean, modern, wanting for nothing, and well kept. The happy atmosphere of Caye Casa allows the guests to feel comfortable with each other, and just relax. We met several nice people.

The bakery is around the corner, and the town just down the beach. The simply is no better place than Caye Casa.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJALaguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    43
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
176
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malibu
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2010

Our only regret is that we didn’t stay here for all 2 weeks of our Belize trip!!!

Small boutique hotel with lovely clean rooms, amazing view, wireless that actually works (not our experience with the other hotels we stayed at in Belize), kind and helpful staff – Julie, Captain Boxter, George and Lydia were all great, and the best dogs ever – Reef and Caulker.

The location is perfect, close enough to walk into town, but far enough that the beach access isn’t a water taxi zone. And they’re happy to arrange golf cart delivery when you want to experience the more remote parts of island.

And if you’re going to cook, ask for directions to the Green House market for best selection of fruits, veggie’s, cheeses, and everything you’ll need.

We definitely recommend to take advantage of their private reef tours with Boxter. Not only are they affordable, but Captain Boxter was a great guide. Hol Chan is a MUST see for everyone. Just a 10 minute boat ride to the most amazing reef… we saw turtles, nurse sharks, rays, eels, and so many fish that it’s too much to list. The full day trip was great as it also included a stop at Caye Caulker for lunch and then 2 more dives on the way back to Caye Casa.

And if mosquito's like you, come prepared!! Loads of them on the island.

We will definitely be going back to Ambergris and can’t imagine staying anywhere else (or leaving for that matter).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank in_da_bu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

On our return trip through Belize we decided to stay at Caya Caulker, this was one of the boutique hotels we first eyed off when we were planning our entire trip and it certainly lived up to expectations.

Although Julie was away for the time we stayed there, Boxter was more than capable of holding fort in her absence, the ultimate host who made our stay very comfortable.

Rooms were empeccable, looked very nice in the photo's and were even better in person. The absolute highlight of the stay was our reef tour courtesy of Captain Boxter and his #2/guide Nino! Doing a big dive group (which I did from Caye Caulker) is great, but have a skiff with just two of us in the water was amazing.

Caye Casa was everything we wanted it to be and more, if we do make it back to Ambergris we know where to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deezlr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

Great place to stay, beautiful, close to the action, but quiet. Julie and Julianna plus Captain Boxter were the best hosts. we were there for 6 days. Golf cart not required, but good to explore out of town....lots of off beat, out of the way places. Estel's for breakfast..or Lily's,,then on to the Reef in town (it still has sand on the floor, like some other places - it is true that there is no need to have shoes or a shirt) or Ceil's cafe. Lots of reasonable places in town for dinner inclluding, Calienties and Warugama's..it's all a Mexician, carribbean food experience. Top of the evening with a stop at Wayo's (say hi to him, Ruby, Darwin and Shakira) and-very close to Caye Casa..so all out have to do is roll home.

We are not divers, but definitely take a boat (the Captain is available and knowledgable) to Hol Chan and Caye Caulker (an even smaller island-more laid back than could be imagined). Time seems to have a way of stopping or at least slowing down...so relaxing. Best trip we can remember and we travel a LOT!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam_Eve711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saluda,nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Very small "boutique" resort located oceanfront with its own pier-large casitas with full kitchens and great front porch areas were well decorated,comfortable, and spotless.Owner and staff are all friendly and most helpful.We even had chilled belikin in the fridge upon our arrival!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistermarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

My wife, daughter, and I spent a beautiful week here in a 2-bedroom villa. It had a large living room and a porch overlooking the beach, the better to enjoy the ocean breezes and to view the parade of people going by.
Julie, Capt. Boxter, and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Reef, the hotel dog, visits all the apartments, especially when cooking is going on. The resident iguana is less friendly but still interesting.

The walk to restaurants or the main part of town is about 10-15 minutes, depending where you're going. This would probably be an advantage in high season, when things are livelier/noisier.

The weather was hot and humid, obviously not a surprise. The small pool worked well as a "cool" tub, as opposed to a hot tub, and we remained comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcglone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

Caye Casa is terrific. The rooms are new and clean, the staff happy and friendly. Julie and Captain Boxter are so nice. The location could not have been more beautiful, as you could easliy walk on the beach to downtown, and around the corner to a great bakery or local food. The view is outstanding, as is the value. In the past, we stayed out in resort hotels where you need a boat to get to town, and we really liked this a lot better.

This was a second time back at Caye Casa and we stayed for 12 days. My sister and I have already booked two weeks for 2011. We also fell in love with Reef , the hotel dog, who we were allowed to walk every day.

It doesn't get better than Caye Casa.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJALaguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.9 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
6.6 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caye Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caye Casa

Property: Caye Casa
Address: Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caye Casa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caye Casa is an exclusive boutique hotel on the beach in Belize. It is the perfect barefoot base for the adventure of exploring San Pedro and Ambergris Caye. Beachfront. Small. Quiet. Elegant. Private. Attractive. Convenient. Caye Casa is a sanctuary for the discriminating tourist yet all of San Pedro is still at your fingertips. It's all about location. We're close to town; yet far enough away to hear the birds in the morning and watch the blue herons fish during the day. We offer all the charm of San Pedro with the privacy of your own beach. Walking along the beach, you can choose from dozens of restaurants and bars - you're not captive. Here you are an individual. Around the corner is a fitness center. On the beach next door is a masseuse. Caye Casa offers all the amenities most people desire and provides you with the convenience you require - wifi, like running water, air conditioning, food, restaurants, bars, shopping and a wonderful vacation. There’s nothing else like it in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Caye Casa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caye Casa Hotel San Pedro
Caye Casa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing