We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caye Casa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caye Casa
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back again!!”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This was our first trip to Ambergris Caye, and we picked the perfect place to stay. Julie and the rest of the staff at Caye Casa could not have been more accommodating. The rooms are great - very clean, very comfortable. The location is perfect, short walking distance to the middle of town but far enough down the beach that you can totally relax on the balcony. My entire family highly recommend staying there, and can't wait until we get to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    43
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
180
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed 4 nights (Nov 19th-22nd) in the #2 Casita. It was perfect! The room was nice and clean and the hotel is in a great location. The staff was very welcoming and helpful when needed (although we tried to just explore and figure things out on our own). The hotel dogs (Reef- German Sheperd & Caulker - Black Lab) were awesome! We fed them beef jerky when we first arrived and they were our best buds from then on out. Reef even knocked on our door one morning with his head :)

We spent a lot of our time at Wayo's Beachside Beernet (if facing the beach, it is a few buildings down towards the right). The bartender, Trevor, is the best!! We also dove while on the island. We used Chuck and Robbie's (also out to the right when facing the beach - pass Wayo's and you will see it. It is a little shop on one of the piers). They were awesome!! Great staff...very professional and fun!

A few other places we visited:
- Lola's Pub - great blue cheese burger and fun!
- Red Ginger (in The Phoenix resort - Tapas on Sun & Wed...delicious!!)
- El Fogon (near the air strip - fantastic conch fritters and the best fried chicken I have ever had!!)
- Estel's - wonderful atmosphere and great breakfast!
- Fido's - great brushetta and pasta with conch, lobster, and scallops
- Wet Willies - drinks and sitting in the hammocks
- Legends (further north on the island) - drinks & music
- Tackle Box- drinks & music
- Big Daddy's - drinks & dancing


Had an amazing time and can't wait to return to Belize and stay at Caye Casa!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenandTravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I spent 2 weeks at Caye Casa in November 2011 and it was superb. I stayed in Lime Casita #1 and it was perfect -- king size bed, full bath with great roomy shower, kichenette with microwave and coffee maker, living/sitting area with TV and wi-fi, and a covered outdoor porch opening on to the beach. The staff was extremely helpful from booking right thru to having a cab there when it was time to leave. Every restaurant they suggested was great and the bakery and grocery store right around the corner were perfect for not having to eat out every meal. My dive shop picked me up and dropped me off at the pier right out front -- very convenient and easy.

I've traveled extensively for 40+ years and I know a good deal when I find it -- Caye Casa is a great value for a good price with a friendly helpful staff. Quiet, clean, and comfortable -- you won't find better.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kailuajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I loved this place for 2 reasons:

1. groundfloor studio cabanas with oceanfront patio/porch is just a perfect layout for a couple and has become a standard for what I look for when I'm in the Caribbean. Big clean bathroom, small separate bedroom, open living area that opens to the porch that faces the ocean.

2. Capt Boxter's sailboat charters for snorkeling -- the sailboat experience without engine motor noise and the smell of diesel changed my experience of the ocean The most peaceful and beautiful way to be on the water (I'm out fishing on larger boats with said motor/diesel fumes quite a bit).

This place is great, would love to stay again although prices have gone up quite a bit since my stay which was in the low season a couple of years ago. 2 small points: there's not a great deal of outdoor privacy (at least for the groundfloor units) as your patios are almost parallel though not connected, This wasn't a problem as we ended up really liking our neighbors and we actually hung out with them but good to be aware of if you're honeymooning or if you really like seclusion when sitting outside. Inside, it feels pretty private as your units aren't connected in any way although we often drew the blinds over the patio doors when we were undressed since people walking on the road could kinda see in, although at a distance). There wasn't a hammock on the patio/porch when I was there which is always something i look for in my cabana accommodations in the Caribbean but the patio chairs were also great.

Room Tip: There was a hole in the wall place to eat a couple blocks towards the bridge on the middle road -- S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savvychic-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed in the "Sand Caye" casita for 7 nights. There is a sitting room/kitchenette with a small fridge to store a few snacks (and Belikens!), blender, coffee maker, and microwave. The bedroom is small but that turns out to be perfect when you close the door and turn up the A/C. We slept VERY comfortably. The rooms are very well maintained and housekeeping did a wonderful job keeping it clean and dry, even when we tracked in sand and water from the sea. Enough about the rooms though. Who needs a room when you have a front porch on the beach? We started each morning sitting on the porch gazing and the water and watching the people go by. Even the small pool was well thought out. Just big enough to lounge in and keep cool but not at all imposing on the tranquil atmosphere. Julie, the innkeeper, and her staff are so friendly and they had suggestions for tours, restaurants, even where to find specific artwork we were interested in. Captain Boxter took us snorkeling and for a visit to Caye Caulker which was definitely a highlight. We heard from locals and repeat visitors who owned a condo elsewhere that Caye Casa is the nicest place to stay on the island. We couldn't agree more!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiecollinNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed for 9 nights. This is an amazing place to relax and enjoy the ocean. The staff made us feel so comfortable and safe. Everything is in close proximity at the same time it is located away from the noise. Be sure to talk to Julie and George. They are your best bet for info about where to go and what do do. We particularly loved spending time with the property dogs (2). They will be your best friends during your stay. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

After visiting with family in Belize City and Caye Caulker, returning to San Pedro is always a must. This was our second visit to Caye Casa and we enjoyed it just as much as our first stay. Julie was very accommodating to our needs. As returning guests to Caye Casa, we already knew what we wanted to do for the duration of our stay in San Pedro. I'm sure if we needed help to arrange anything, Julie would have been more than willing to look into it for us. Caye Casa is located outside of the central part of the island which is about a 10 minute walk, depending where you're trying to go (tourist/ gift shops, restaurants, water sports, etc.). We went out on an all day snorkeling with Captain Boxter and he surely kept us entertained and delighted being out at sea. It's well worth the price to go out with Capt. Boxter, you get a "one on one" and can take all the time you want in the water. Best of all, there was no large group to keep up with. The hotel is very intimate, not overcrowded, just the right size. There is a bakery around the corner, Casa Pan Dulce which has some delicious powder bun, etc. Some restaurants in town that visitors should definitely check out are Fido's, Elvi's Kitchen <- delicious stew chicken, and Estelle's- dine by the sea. Next time we're in town visiting the family, we will definitely come back to Caye Casa!! I hope in the future there is a breakfast service available. =) Thanks again Julie, Jorge, and Capt. Boxter for another amazing vacation at Caye Casa, it was too short!

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms, beautiful views all day long!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
775 reviews
0.9 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
992 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
941 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
436 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 54 in San Pedro
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caye Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caye Casa

Property: Caye Casa
Address: Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caye Casa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caye Casa is an exclusive boutique hotel on the beach in Belize. It is the perfect barefoot base for the adventure of exploring San Pedro and Ambergris Caye. Beachfront. Small. Quiet. Elegant. Private. Attractive. Convenient. Caye Casa is a sanctuary for the discriminating tourist yet all of San Pedro is still at your fingertips. It's all about location. We're close to town; yet far enough away to hear the birds in the morning and watch the blue herons fish during the day. We offer all the charm of San Pedro with the privacy of your own beach. Walking along the beach, you can choose from dozens of restaurants and bars - you're not captive. Here you are an individual. Around the corner is a fitness center. On the beach next door is a masseuse. Caye Casa offers all the amenities most people desire and provides you with the convenience you require - wifi, like running water, air conditioning, food, restaurants, bars, shopping and a wonderful vacation. There’s nothing else like it in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caye Casa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caye Casa Hotel San Pedro
Caye Casa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing