We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DC & Szana's Country Cabana
Nearby Hotels
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$166
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Secreto(San Pedro)
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$104
$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
45
27
7
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
27
7
7
10
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 96 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

As mentioned by any others, this is a great little family-run budget hotel in a superb location. Felipe made us feel very welcome. He took the time to get to know his guests, and let them know about San Pedro and Ambergris Caye. I would definitely stay at Tio Pil's again.

Some others have mentioned noise. Other than one night when there was some sort of local celebration taking place, we found the hotel to be very quiet.

Room Tip: I recommend the beach side of the hotel. We stayed in Room 3.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tmcbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a bunch of fun here, San Pedro is a great place. It was our 2nd visit. We stayed here due to our budget constraints, and quite glad we did! (we were traveling for 6 weeks) This is a nice little budget hotel in the middle of town within 10 feet of the beach. you can walk to everything. The only real reason for visiting San Pedro is the diving and snorkeling, there is no real beach to speak of. It's all coral shoreline. The hotel itself has a great balcony facing the beach. The rooms are comfortable and the shower works well. It is an older hotel and could use some sprucing up, but to us, it only added to the charm.The small staff were very helpful, and a wealth of information.Lots of restaurants and diving charters close by to choose from. A great base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: make sure your room is upstairs facing the ocean
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had a terrible experience here. I tried to give it a chance but after a few days, I was so grossed out by the uncleanliness of the room that I couldn't enjoy our vacation that we checked out early and left.

PROS:
- On the beach
- Somewhat affordable
- When asked for refund because we were really unhappy with the cleanliness of the room, they were kind in refunding us our money. They apologized and were gracious when we asked for a refund.

CONS:
- Room was not clean
- Termite nest in the bathroom
- Dead cockroach in the room upon arrival
- Fridge looked old and dirty on the outside although inside was okay clean
- Room was dated and didn't seem that clean.
- We arrived late in the evening - took awhile before someone would come to check us in. There was no way to contact the front desk to check us in because the office was closed. The only way we got in was by asking a cleaning lady.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dora P, Manager at DC & Szana's Country Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear T L,

We appreciate every review we get. Thank you for taking time to leave us one. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. While we know we cant please everyone, we truly try our best to do so.

Our hotel is professionally sprayed every 4 months to ensure that we are bug-free and it is a very VERY uncommon occurrence to find critters in our rooms. Nonetheless, we apologize for this very unfortunate incident. Besides this, all our rooms are checked thoroughly after housekeeping is finished to ensure that every room meets our standards of cleanliness. We would have appreciated it if you had told us what you thought was dirty so that the problem could've been remedied immediately. :)

Again, thank you. We take every review to heart. We have already discussed the issues with our housekeeping staff and will be making every effort to ensure that the cons you mentioned are addressed immediately. We invite you to come back and give us another try, the first night's on us.

All the best,

D. Guerra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you're just looking for a cheap place to crash, don't care about maintenance issues, noise, etc..., then this will work. It is right in the middle of it all, which is both good and bad. We left after the first night, which was already paid for, because (while we didn't want to spend $100/night) we just couldn't take staying there... Check my other reviews for a better choice, in my mind... The one guy I met (and likely dealt with over the internet too) was nice and very friendly. The reason we left was just the crowds, noise, and general condition of the room/building...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave77091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dora P, Front Office Manager at DC & Szana's Country Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hi Dave77091,

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. Every review helps us improve our little hotel. Indeed, we are right down town in the middle of it all and not for everyone. If you're looking to be in the heart of town where the action is, we are the place for you, if not, we can recommend other options. Besides that, we are one of older hotels on the island and yes, while the sun and sea have taken a toll on our building, we do carry out minor renovations yearly, and check our rooms after they are cleaned to ensure they met our standards daily.

We are happy to hear that our Front Desk Manager, Felipe, was helpful and friendly. He really is a gem once you get to know him. While we might not be a fancy hotel, we are proud to be a 100% Belizean owned, family run hotel with great service, a stellar location ( if you want to be in town) at a great value.

Thanks again,

D. Guerra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Budget prices for a resort island and a convenient location for water taxis, divers, restaurants. Friendly, helpful staff available during the day time. Room was basic, but large and clean with air conditioning--reminded me of my dorm room decades ago only this was larger and had a private bath. Potable water refills available in the office. Front deck with chairs and hammocks overlooking the beach and dock--you could even see the huge manta rays come in along the dock from on this second floor deck!

Room Tip: Ours was in the back so quieter than just off the deck which got foot traffic, but others may prefer the breezes of the deck windows.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyheaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews