We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stay there but...”
Review of Conch Shell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Conch Shell Inn
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't stay there but...”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had reserved a room by credit card before our trip. They then emailed us that a big group was coming in so they were going to take our room, but would book us at Tio Pil's next door. Fine. But then on our trip in Mexico we got one of our passports stolen. We realized it would take us an extra day to get it replaced, so I tried to cancel our stay at the Conch Shell Inn (Tio Pil's) by email. They said they already paid Tio Pil's, so tough. Plus Tio Pil's was $10 cheaper so they owed us $10, but we'd either have to come get it or they would give it to me when they came to the U.S., minus $5 service charge. So needless to say, wouldn't book there again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank rktGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConchShellInn, Owner at Conch Shell Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear "Didn't stay there but....,
When receiving an online reservation we take it upon ourselves to exceed our guests expectations, both in confirmation and overall experience.
We received your request online for a main floor room for 2 at 64.00US. You emailed you
wanted two rooms as your daughter was joining you, but our reservation system would not accept it, we informed you by email that it was because we were now full.
That same week we were also hosting a mission team, consisting of "students", under 18, who could not be separated from their chapparones for obvious reasons. Even though your reservation was "for just one night", and you desired another room next to yours,
our staff had the foresight to offer our group an extra room to spread out and yourselves a "quieter"
win/win option, if agreeable by you. You agreed and we confirmed/paid and negotiated a lower rate for the 3 of you next door, in one room also on the beach. You not only agreed but also thanked us for "taking care of you".
Upon receiving your email agreeing to the change for the one night, we personally paid to guarantee your room and offered a partial refund of 10US in cash, for negotiating on your behalf a lower rate, to be picked up at the office upon arrival as any refund on a credit card has a 5US bank charge, to this you also agreed and thanked us again. A day and a half prior to arrival, you emailed your passport misfortune and that you would not be arriving. You then emailed if you were unable to receive the entire amount paid for the one nights stay to "just forget it".
We are sincerely sorry for the "misplacement" or "loss" of your passport and the change in
your travel plans, your email said several days but we are happy to hear it was just one. Both the Conch Shell and the alternate hotel have the same cancellation policy, but...we also offered a complimentary stay anytime in the future for your personal misfortune.
Again, we hope you understand that our "additional" efforts put forth for your one night stay on the island were done for the sole purpose to "make our guests happy". As vacations are few and fleeting we are sorry for your untimely passport loss, you may wish to look into trip insurance for your future travels.
Warm regards,
Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    55
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
29
92
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My partner and i booked 7 nights origionaly in April 2011 and ended staying for 2 weeks and going back on our return home for 4 days. Location, excellent for everywhere you need to go. Rooms and beds comfortable and very clean. Views, amazing! Joan the owner, lovely and accomodating and helpful. Elenor the lovley woman who looks afer every day running, cleaning, painting, oddjobs, laundery etc............... we can't praise her high enough! We had a ball and will be back again as soon as we can! I left my heart in San Pedro.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayneybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Terrific location and very clean rooms. Very friendly innkeeper. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanPiscados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Relax and refresh while enjoying the view of the ocean. The Conch Shell is right on the ocean front, and it is close to the town of San Pedro and the restaurants. Very convenient! We also liked how the hotel offered information about excursions in the area. The Conch Shell had comfortable furnishings, a welcoming staff, and overall we had a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turquoise90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Lake Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My husband and I and our friends all stayed at the Conch Shell for 4 nights. We were so happy with the accomodations. The rooms were very clean and the beds were amazing. Very comfortable. You are so close in town for shopping, dining and just a beautiful walk on the beach.

We all swam and snorkeled right in front of the Conch Shell. There was suprisingly fish and sting ray to watch.

For an inexpensive and comfortable hotel...The Conch Shell is it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waydeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for the second half of our honeymoon. I didn't have very high expectations, we just wanted a quiet place on the beach near town. I chose this place for the low price and good reviews. I was disappointed.

The key thing about Conch Shell Inn is that it is right in the heart of town. This is good and bad. The good part is that you don't need to rent a bike or golf cart, you can just walk everywhere in town easily. This was the only redeeming feature. The bad part is that it is LOUD. There is a bar right next door that shows sports so that can be loud pretty late. The night we got in there was a boxing match, so there was hooting and hollering going on while we were trying to sleep. I don't think it went terribly late (maybe until 11 or so) but we were tired from travelling and wanted to sleep. We were there for 5 nights and on 2 of them there was noise from the bar. There aren't windows to close in the room either, only shutters so you can't block out any noise.

There is also a bunch of noise early in the morning. Before 7am big trucks drive by on the beach blasting hip hop music, and that woke us up every morning. I think they collect trash or something. There are no blinds so once you wake up it is all bright in the room and its hard to fall back asleep. Also the inn is right at one of the water taxi docks, so a bunch of cab drivers hang out there. You can hear them yapping all loud in the mornings right next to the building.

One night at like 2am we were woken up by a group of young locals who decided to sit in the beach chairs right in front of the rooms and smoke pot and scream and shout their conversation. I am positive this woke everyone up but everyone was too scared to say anything to them because they were obviously hoodlums. A big problem is that the manager isn't around at night, so there was nobody to tell them to leave. There are no phones in the rooms so nobody could call the police. We were all stuck there wide awake. After about half an hour they guy in the room next to us went outside and cussed them out and threatened to take their heads off. There was a bunch of cussing back and forth and finally they hoodlums left. Who knows how long they would have stayed but the hotel was NO help since nobody is around at night.

The lady filled our water pitcher when we arrived but it was soon empty and we had to request it be refilled. They should check it when they clean the rooms and refill it. Same happened with toilet paper, we ran out and had to wait until the next morning when someone was around to get more. The water pressure is SUPER low, which was a big downer. After a long day swimming, being all hot and salty and sweaty, you just want a nice strong shower to clean off. But I could barely get my hair wet. Just a warning too, you can't flush toilet paper you have to throw it away in the trash.

To summarize:
PROS
Location is right at water taxi dock, and in town so you don't need a bike or cart
Nice beach front view
Free wireless internet

CONS
Location in town means lots of noise late at night and early. I didn't get one good night of sleep.
No management around at night
Super low water pressure
You'll have to ask for more water or toilet paper

I would definitely not stay there again. Maybe the upstairs rooms have less of a noise problem.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms probably experience less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamilworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahamas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Only in San Pedro for one night (between water taxi trips) and the location was great for a whirlwind visit of the town. Walking distance to everything, stumbling distance to the bar nextdoor. Clean room, hammocks and chairs on the beach outside the door. Comfy bed, decent pillow (which we learned is tough to find in Belize). A windy night, so rather than bar noised keeping us awake we had the crashing of the surf, which being as this hotel is on the windward side of the island, and steps to the ocean, did'nt surprise us too much. Otherwise, a nice layover.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartiniMakerBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Hotel
Spindrift Hotel
#44 of 54 in San Pedro
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#41 of 54 in San Pedro
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel La Vista
Hostel La Vista
#9 of 30 in San Pedro
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conch Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conch Shell Inn

Property: Conch Shell Inn
Address: 11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#29 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Conch Shell hotel awaits you. We are located in the heart of San Pedro Town and are surrounded by the best dive shops, restaurants, bars and tour operators. Enjoy one of our 10 Reef watching renovated rooms. Choose from upstairs rooms with mini-kitchenette and TV or Our Downstairs rooms with mini-fridge. We also have wireless internet available to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conch Shell Hotel San Pedro
Conch Shell San Pedro
Conch Shell Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing