We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2009

The Palms exceeded my expectations. The accomodations were great, as well as the location. The staff were attentive and kept the place spotless! Everything was within easy walking distance. I hope to go back very soon!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caribbeanboundsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for The Palms Oceanfront Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 288 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2009

There are many places to stay in San Pedro, but the clincher for us staying at The Palms were two things: the price and the recommendation I read. Ambergris Caye can be an expensive place -- everything is shipped to the island. Thanks to internet reviews like this one, I learned of many places NOT to stay. Yet, every place still seemed costly. So, when we called The Palms and they offered us a great price (lower) on their units, we jumped at the opportunity. For the first 4 nights, we stayed in their Casita which is very quaint and private -- you almost have the pool to yourself. However, once we got to the 2-br unit for our final 2 nights, we thought, "wow, I wish we had spent the last 4 nights here, too." The view from our ground floor unit was magnificent....you're only about 20 yards from the water. We appreciated the fact that the units were well airconditioned and clean (save for a few ants in the casita). The housekeepers even washed our dishes, which was unexpected. They even rake the sand around the units and office which my son loved messing up; but it was a nice touch and made everything seems so neat (they also rake the beach to make it look nice everyday). The accomodations couldn't have been more comfortable, convenient and scenic. There's no restaurant at The Palms but there are plenty of others nearby. Besides, ask the staff for just about anything and they'll probably get it for you. And, you won't find a friendlier group than the folks who work at The Palms -- they took good care of us. I must add, too, one of the biggest pleasures of Belize and the island was the frienliness of the people. It's not a forced frienliness that you get, for instance, in Hawaii (imo). It seems genuine and, the consequence is that you start saying hello and chatting it up with complete strangers -- the camraderie and friendliness are that contagious. Other pluses: you can use the US dollar, plenty of ATM's, everyone speaks English, plentiful restaurants, no shoes required :)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zehutiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

Ideal location! Nice big rooms! Very friendly staff. Highly recommend staying here. You can walk to all restaurants, shop, and town area. Right on the beach with beautiful views.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bribin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

My husband, Mother and Father stayed at The Palms in early May of 2008. This was the second half of our 10 day trip to Belize, the first part being in San Ignacio.
The Palms was perfect. In my opinion, the best place to stay on Ambergis Caye. Very cozy and private. We stayed on the first floor, end unit which was great because we felt like we had the whole courtyard to ourselves. The view was amazing and the condo was very clean and accomedating for a family of 4. The pool is very tropical and private and the staff incredibly friendly.
The beach, as most are on the island is filled with seagrass and difficult to swim directly into.
This location is ideal because it is right next to Ramone's beach which is the nicest we saw on the island.We used the beach without any trouble.
Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of San Pedro but a very easy walk along the beach into town is a plus.
The island is quite expensive. Having a kitchen was helpful but I am not sure how much we really saved as groceries were shockingly overpriced.
Overall, if you are going to stay on Ambergis Caye and want privacy, great location and charm- The Palms is the place to stay.If we were to go back, we would likely stay on Caye Caulker which fits our quiet, laid back personalites more so tham Ambergis. Thanks to The Palms for an unforgettable trip!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedavispt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

One review I read called this property the most well kept secret in Ambergris Caye and I have to admit they are 100% correct. Our suite was perfect just what we asked for, anything we requested the staff handled. I highly recommend that you use their expertise on booking tours, on obtaining a golf cart, getting drinking water and of course provisioning your room with plenty of beer and rum. The beach is small but finding a perfect beach on the island is almost impossible so it really didn’t matter. I advise anyone thinking of a San Pedro vacation to peruse the travel forums and get advice before making your decision I did and don’t regret any day of the week we spent there.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

We just returned from 13 wonderful nights at this gracious property located just 2 blocks away from downtown San Pedro. We arrived late in the evening to a very warm welcome by Lena and Santiago. Melinda had arranged for a golf cart for our use prior to our arrival and it was available for us upon check in. We were shown to our condo, number 14, on the first floor. We were so pleased with the two bedroom, one and a half bathroom unit chosen for us. It was spacious, clean and well furnished. My husband loved having the two TVs. Prior to our arrival we had requested a few provisions for the refrigerator and there they were, enabling us to celebrate our first night at the Palms with cold rum and cokes. In the morning we arose to the gorgeous scene that unfolded outside the wall of sliding glasss doors in the living room. A lovely tiled patio from which we could step onto the white beach sand and enjoy the view of the dock and the beach. The property has a small wall in front for privacy and to prevent vendors from bothering the quests. The grounds were very well maintained and planted with tropical and colorful specimens. The beach sand pathways through The Palms are kept racked daily. There is a small but adequate pool in the complex that has a casita available for rent just off from it. The pool is set admist tropical plantings and has a small waterfall. Anna works in the offfice and cheerfully made herself available during our stay to help arrange tours and offered help with any other services we needed. We enjoyed meeting her son PJ and her husband Pablo. Ingrid was our housekeeper and we felt she had become part of our family prior to leaving. If anything went amiss in the condo, Luis and Toby were immediately there with a bright smile to replace a light bulb or fix a loose screen. The 13 unit complex is located next door to Ramons which has the best beach on the island which we used everyday. After seeing many of the other resorts on Ambergris Caye, we decided for the value and price we had chosen the "Jewel of San Pedro". We plan to return next year as San Pedro is such a relaxing and laid back place and we will deffinitely be returning to The Palms. Other than a great physical location, and well maintwained units, The Palms gets our vote for the the best satff in San Pedro. During our stay several of the condo owners were at the Palms for their annual meeting. As Belize is directly affected by the economic situation in the United States, we were informed ny the owners that many of the units during the high season would be offered at the low season rate to attract visitors to this property. This is deffinitely an offering to be taken advantage of. by anyone planning to visit Ambergris Caye soon.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

The Palms really was the perfect place to stay on Ambergris Caye. Minutes away from town & right next to the only swimming beach in San Pedro. (@ Ramon's) The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. Kitchen was great too. We saved a lot of $$ cooking in. The private deck was semi-private, but we may have lucked out because our neighbors were very nice. We hung out often and even had a nice dinner with them & some fresh caught Amberjack. The front desk staff & manager were also very nice & quite helpful with any questions we had. We were quite impressed with how clean & tidy they kept the grounds. Bikes were free to use & they were great to explore the island. Overall, I would highly recommend the The Palms to anyone who enjoys a place to stay that is clean, has a friendly staff, and likes the perfect blend of privacy & access to town.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jrssato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 53 in San Pedro
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,049 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,294 reviews
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Oceanfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Suites

Address: Coconut drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 000000, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $231 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Oceanfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms is ideally located on the beach a minutes walk south of San Pedro Town. The property features 12 oceanfront 1 and 2 bedroom fully furnished suites and a poolside Casita. All the units are individually decorated, have a/c, full kitchens and have unmatched ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel San Pedro
The Palms Oceanfront Suites Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing