We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Beliza Resort
Nearby Hotels
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$298
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$115
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$183
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Secreto(San Pedro)
$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Terrazas Resort(San Pedro)
$399
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramon's Village Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$320
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$217
$208
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
170
42
19
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
170
42
19
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxiin townambergris cayegolf cartbelize citysand fliesbeautiful kitchencoastal expresscoconut treestranquility bayvolleyball netlocal grocerybug spraythe north endpeace and quietentire stayoffice staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 235 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

One of the few places my wife and I would go back to. Not for everyone. Large families or groups with small kids looking for constant entertainment and shopping.....not the place. Small, intimate, secluded, quiet. No big pool with loud music & afternoon boat drink parties. No lots of people. Staff was there to meet our every need. Amazing snorkeling off the reef. Ask where to find the 6' nurse shark. We found it. Small rural town with amazing eateries. Fun to get to (ask to drive the boat). Easy to fly to (ask to sit in the co-pilot's seat). Scheduled for Jun 2010. Got hurricane delayed til Sept. No problems. End of the season. Had the place to ourselves. Nats are troublesome but liberal bug spray makes up. Ask for highest floors.
My best recommendation would be "Awful place. Don't go there." Then we'll have the place to ourselves.

Room Tip: Beeing small they all have veiws of the ocean. If you don't eat like you used to, like us, load up on dry goods and pre-packaged foods for breakfast and lunch, order a case of beer from them and save your food dollars on going out to dinner instead of all inclusive. Also we brought our own hard liquer and had them provide the mixers. Kitchens have everything.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee and Ernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is a fantastic resort! We wanted a beautiful, quiet and relaxing resort and this was a perfect. It started with Kristy who helped us book our reservation--she was so kind, helpful and accommodating. Wonderful to work with. Our daughter has life threatening food allergies and they were able to accommodate them. Kristy chose a unit for us--walk out to the beach with ocean views and lovely patio/porch area where we ate and lounged. Resort staff met us at the airport--seamless transition to paradise! The Belize airport staff were great, resort staff coordinated well with them. Short ride to the boat that took us to the resort (~20 minutes). Mirium coordinated everything for us and met us on the dock--she is so helpful and kind. We met with Chef Giavanni to review food allergies--he was great! and the food was excellent. The unit was equipped with a full kitchen--stainless steel appliances-everything you would want to prepare food (we mostly ordered from the resort but there is the option of ordering from a local grocer and they will deliver). There is a central area facing the ocean with several tables where you can eat or they will deliver food to your unit. Our unit was equipped with a dining room, living room, huge bath with shower and spa tub. Bedroom faced the ocean. It was beautifully decorated--with many extra touches that contributed to the tranquil environment (like something you would see in Architectural Digest). The beach was so quiet and lovely--we spent many hours reading in lounge chairs under the trees. No big waves as the area is surrounded by the reefs (that are farther out)--the water was very warm and nice to swim in.
Mirium arranged for us to snorkel--Roberto picked us up at the dock and took us to Ho Chan marine reserve--a MUST. It's magical--lots of fish, turtles...we ate on Caye Caulker at a restaurant facing the ocean. Great food. When you book this tour, be clear on the hours and what you would like to do. It's $300 (US dollars) for a private tour and well worth it. Roberto is very pleasant and was a great tour guide! He has wetsuits and snorkeling equipment and knows a lot. Very interesting history of the area etc...It would be worth it to come with a full body wetsuit as the sun is very strong and the water does get a little chilly. Also head protection (swim cap) (due to sun). The water is deep and active at times--I wore a life jacket (they use it differently so that it doesn't at all interfere with the snorkeling experience)-would recommend this.
We visited San Pedro--reminded me of Key West a bit. Local artisans sold beautiful jewelry, beads. There is a fair amount of poverty--so be aware of belongings etc...
We felt safe at the resort. Fantastic vacation!

Room Tip: Our ground floor suite was adjacent to the eating area. Centrally located, which was nice--but if there's a big group eating it can be noisier (this happened only once--and all was quiet by 10 or so). Usually you could hear a pin drop :)
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We went to Belize for the scuba diving. During, we decided to get certified during the trip rather than before. This was an excellent decision. In the morning we would attend our certification dives, and the rest of the day was dedicated to enjoying the quiet, peaceful pace of island life while being pampered by the staff at Blue Reef Island Resort.

The spacious, fully equipped kitchen allowed us to cook a few meals and enjoy our own mixed cocktails. Or, if you are feeling lazy, have the staff whip up a very delicious meal or the bar concoct you any creation you desire.

The views from our room at Blue Reef were absolutely stunning. One picture posted to Facebook was the envy of all my friends. I would just sit and stare out at waves breaking on the 200 mile long coral reef, just 100 or so yards away. You can take a kayak out there, or walk along the beach. It's very quiet and peaceful.

The only possible downside was the need for daily water taxis. There isn't a good road from the city to the resort, so you are left with the water taxis. While jarring at first, it became pleasant as we had 60 or so minutes every day meeting very friendly locals and fellow travelers. However, it can get expensive with the 2x/daily rides for a couple. After a few days, however, we found out we could get a discounted week pass, which saved a bunch of money. I recommend this.

Thank you Miriam, Elaine, Albie, and Giovanni — you made our vacation wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dfelfoldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Even though we had to take three planes, 2 taxis and a boat to get to the Blue Reef Resort, once we arrived we were in instant relaxation mode and it was worth the trip. My husband and I travelled with our two children, aged 10 and 12. The rooms were lovely and spacious. Very clean (maid service daily) and we loved sitting on the balcony looking out at the ocean. It was awesome being able to grab a kayak, paddle 30 minutes out to the reef and snorkel right from our hotel. Miriam at the Blue Reef was great, she organized our excursions, one to Hol Chan for incredible snorkelling and swimming with the sharks and a trip to Belize to zip line and cave tube (pricey but worth it). The food at the resort was good, not a lot of variety but my kids are not picky eaters. They even made my son a grilled cheese everyday, even though it was not on the menu. You just need to ask and the staff will do their best to make it happen. We decided to go for the meals and drinks plan which made it a very relaxing vacation. Albi makes a fantastic margarita. And we enjoyed going to Capricorns one night for a special dinner. Try the conch ceviche. It was exciting to take the water taxis which seemed to come every hour. One day we went into San Pedro and enjoyed coconut ice cream. We knew before we went that the beach was not great for swimming. The kids still enjoyed playing in the sand everyday and lounging around...chasing the iguanas and crabs. There is a swimming pool, but the water was a little cold. We always felt very safe at the resort and in San Pedro. I would recommend you bring US cash to pay for things like water taxis, food in town and tips. We paid for most other things with credit cards. The weather was perfect and overall it was a vacation we will never forget. We made friends with the other guests during our stay which was a bonus. Special thanks to Miriam, Elaine (a wonderful cook), Albie, Giovanni and Big Mike.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We would like to share our experiences during our visit to Blue Reef Resort. The arrangements for side trips were awesome and can be made at the resort with Miriam. Fishing, Scuba Diving, Snorkling, Cave Tubing, Zip Lining, visiting the Mayan Ruins and Jungle Cruise are a few of the side trips you can experience. If you want to kick back, sit by the infinity pool and relax in a serene environment you can do so. Accommodations were wonderful, clean and full service kitchen for those that prefer to prepare their own meals. We had all of our meals served from the resort, why not, we were on vacation, full bar service is available as well. The services and amenities provided by the staff was excellent and was responsible for a very memorable vacation. Special thanks to: Elaine, Jose, Albie, Giovanni, Randish, Miriam, Aby, Aaron, Amir and Miguel,

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews